We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd.
Ranked #240 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Extended Stay America across from Universal Studios is a super value. It's clean and quiet and the staff treat you as old friends. I have stayed here several times with lengthy stays and was very comfortable. Easy to check in, easy to check out!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parrington43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 322 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

My experience in the past year covers two Extended Stay America Hotels and one thing I must say is; they are not all created equal. Not that any particular hotel is bad, just that there are differences.

The Extended Stay America at Universal Studios, and it really is within walking distance, is a distinct cut above my "other" experience.

First impression as I walked into the lobby was, small but very clean and welcoming. The staff were as courteous and helpful as in any premium hotel in the area. A hotel room is a hotel room, aside from the small but functional kitchenette, but the bed is comfortable and the suite is clean, although you do get the impression it's been a while since the last remodel.

Having stayed there for a couple of months now I've had a chance to get the feel of day to day operation, especially the housekeeping and front desk. Again, you would be hard pressed to find complaint with either since both are at the same level as you would find in all the other attraction hotels in the area (and there are a few).

This really is an interesting concept, blending itinerant traveler business with medium and long term occupancy and I must say, for the most part it works very well.

My one pet peeve, smoking, has on one or two occasions given me cause to think I need to relocate - either to another room or to another, non-smoking property. Despite the fact that some guests are staying in non-smoking rooms doesn't always stop them and there appears to be some room to room connection via the exhaust fans in the bathrooms. But, in their defense, that can happen in any hotel, at any time. Again, the staff are always eager to help in any way they can. Perhaps the separation of smoking/non-smoking rooms by floor, or some other clear boundary between them can be achieved. Maybe smoke detectors in the non-smoking rooms would be a deterrent.

But for all of that it's the price that really gets your attention, particularly if you're here for a medium to long term stay.

In the end it's all about value. You certainly don't have to sacrifice much for the difference in price and I would certainly recommend checking out this particular property.

There is even an upgraded version of this property very close by, Extended Stay Deluxe. I would like to check that out once my budget allows.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, request rooms as far away from smoking rooms as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob-Proctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This was a reasonably priced hotel. The only down was that they only had a room left that was queen bed and smoking. We wanted 2 beds and smoking. The room was clean otherwise. Nice location. Very nice staff. Easy check in and easy check out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel that is within walking distance of Universal Studios,this is your place.The hotel is showing it's age as far as the room furnishings and old analog TV's and old washing machines and dryers but it is kept clean and neat by the cleaning staff who did their jobs well.I made my reservations on the hotel's website because it was cheaper than the pricing that was coming up on the booking websites such as Booking.com,Travelocity and other sites.My wife I and stayed for 7 nights and it only cost us $433.00 which included a full room cleaning during the middle of the week.We were there during the busy holiday week of 12/26/2011 to 01/02/2012 but the hotel had plenty of parking spaces on all sides and we never had a problem finding a space even when we came back late in the evening.There are a lot of budget eating and dining locations nearby including the Golden Corral Buffet,a Burger King that was open 24 hours and a Wendy's that was open until 2 AM that was within walking distance of the hotel.You also have a few shopping malls nearby such as the Millenia Mall and the malls on International Drive but the traffic on International Drive can be horrible going to those malls. All in all it was a nice place to stay if you are looking for a clean and decent place to sleep after a day in Orlando and I would go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you like sunlight ask for a room in the back of the hotel and for some quiet stay on the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poconohall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here one night while visiting Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure. The price was right (under $50). The room was basic, large and clean. We didn't spend much time there, except to sleep. Which is unfortunate because my major complaint is the bed being so hard. We called a taxi ($5+ tip) to take us to City Walk at night (cheaper than parking/safer than driving!). This hotel does seem to sit farther back in a more "dimly lit" area. The women at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. We asked for a room away from the elevators and we got the farthest room possible. I'm sure you could spend a few bucks more and stay somewhere nicer, but we go what we needed (a place to call home for a night). This hotel allows smoking and you can smell it all over the hallways of the non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SicaAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Clarion Inn & Suites
#122 of 339 in Orlando
469 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#124 of 339 in Orlando
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd.

Address: 5620 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: $108 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended Stay America - Orlando-Universal Studios features 123 guest rooms with fully equipped kitchens, recliner, free wifi, and a guest laundry. The hotel is within a mile of Universal Studios, and conveniently close to the Orlando Convention Center, Sea World, and Disney parks. An I-Ride trolley stop is located at the entrance to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Orlando-Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Extended Stay Orlando
Orlando Extended Stay
Extended Stayamerica Orlando
Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd. Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing