We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“cockroaches in our room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #134 of 333 Hotels in Orlando
Ottawa Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cockroaches in our room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We got to the hotel, everything looked really nice, got up to the 7th floor - and the place looked like crap. Get into the room - meh things looked okay - carpet was dirty from previous spills. Bathrooms where okay - they said they started renos...all I say was a new counter top, the paint was chipping all over, there was black mould in the shower grout, toilet didn't really flush like abother lady had complained about. Figured for 60$ it as just a place to sleep.... UNTIL we woke up to cockroaches in our room! We packed up in about 2 seconds went down to the hotel lobby explained that we wanted a full refund and that we would not be completing our stay due to cockroaches, the lady at the desk didn't even fight us *almost as if they KNOW they have them* Gave us our bill to explain that they couldn't do the return since we went through expedia, all I can say is we ended up having to spend our entire 3nights stay on one night at another hotel so our trip was cut short.... ignorant I must tell you!! Don't stay there unless you want to bring them home!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenryAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
I ceratinly apologize that you did not have a good experience while staying with us on your recent trip to Orlando. Like all hotels in Orlando, we have a nationally recognized pest control company that performs routine service of the interior and exterior of the property. When you reported the issue I had them go into your room and perform the service and take care of any issues. I also had our maintenance department repair the bathroom issues you mentioned.

We had completed the installation of our granite counter tops for both of our vanities two years ago and we are now in the process of replacing the bathroom floor tile. Again, I apologize for your experience and do hope that you will give us the opportunity of regaining your trust in our product in the future.

Sincerly,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    962
    454
    128
    75
See reviews for
1,106
624
98
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel during Allstar weekend Feb 24th - Feb 26th 2012, and I enjoyed my stay even thought I was barely in my room as I was out shopping, hanging out, and partying.



This is no fancy luxury 5 star hotel, but it is also not a dirty roach motel either. The hallways were a little worn down looking, but my room was clean. The room was a little on the small side but it was clean had a nice flat screen TV with basic cable, a mini fridge & freezer, a iron, and a comfy bed. I did not like that fact that they do not provide complementary breakfast. The hotel is in a great location right across the street from Wet and Wild, Universal Studios, and City Walk. The Outlets, Florida Mall, and Millelia Mall is only about 5 miles away. There are also a bunch of restaurants, fast foods places, gas stations, and 2 WalMarts by the hotel, so I did not have to travel far at all during my stay at the hotel. Even thought I did not use none of the hotel's accommodations, it does have a tennis court, pool, bar & restaurant.
If you are a upscale, fancy boojie person then you probally won't like this hotel, but if you are just looking for a inexpensive descent clean room then this is the place for you. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeMarcus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your comments are certainly appreciated and I will pass them on to our staff. You are right, we are not a 5 star property but we do pride ourselves in providing, clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations right in the heart of all that Central Florida has to offer.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Within walking distance to parks, however, we drove. Room was very clean housekeeping was great you only knew they were in your room because the bed was made and you had clean linens. Buffet was average (nothing but carbs could have used a bit more fresh fruit).
There were 2 restaurants and a Walgreens located in the same parking lot, everything was within a few steps. Front desk was very friendly when cheking in and out. We will be staying again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your commetns, I will ceratinly pass them on to our staff!

I am gald that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

i was very surprised at how nice the hotel was because when i checked in the lobby was very noisey so thought i wouldn't enjoy my room i couldn't hear anything in the room on the tv it tells you beware of pizza places that delievers to your room that's because they sell pizza there a no soda vending machines you have to go to there store, so expect to pay $3 dallors a bottle and if they are closed oh well. go to the walgreen's around the corner. i liked the room but when you come out it's another world the staff was very friendly i will stay there again the rooms has microwaves and fridges.

Room Tip: ask for first floor trust me
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daddyrich45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and that you will stay with us on your next trip to Orlando.

Just to let you know, we do have vending machines on each floor they are centrally located next to the "14" rooms on each floor. The price for a 20 oz soda is $2.50 which is that same as you would pay in Shades Deli which is located in the lobby.

Again, thanks for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had stayed here a few years ago when it was The Clarion and it was awful, the only thing which has changed is the name. The lobby is bright and clean but when you get onto the corridors it is dark and shabby and really needs re-painting and new carpet. The room was pretty basic but the bathroom had gaps in the floor tiling which meant it was constantly dirty. There was never any hot water for the shower, and when I told them at the front desk I was told I was showering 'at the wrong time of the day' (I did try at 4am but still no hot water and despite comp). The TV had been messed with and so 3 channels were the same, not that there was much choice anyway. The hotel was noisy, there was someone in the basketball court at 10.30pm constantly banging with a ball every night we were there (14 nights) and despite complaining to the front desk nothing was done about it. I also complained twice about a nasty sticky black patch on the carpet near the bed and nothing was done about that. Will not stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
I want to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our bathroom tile project that has been started will alleviate the issue you had with your bathroom. I will be honest and say that we ceratinly had an issue with hot water last month and we have replaced two boilers and added circuit setter valves on each floor which controls the returning flow of the hotel water and the problem seems to have been rectified.

I appreciate that fact that you have stayed with us previously and I certainly hope that you will give us the opportunity of regaining your trust in our product in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#108 of 333 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn International
#123 of 333 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Rosen Inn International
#115 of 333 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Address: 7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): $90 - $243
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks.Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel Florida
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing