We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Floridian Express Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Floridian Express Hotel
Ranked #289 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here in March 2012, rooms are really nice, bathrooms are adequate, breakfast is continental, really handy for all amenities, being on International drive everywhere is easily accessable, staff are really friendly, free transportation to parks, handy for restaurants if wanting to eat out, but hotel has its own bar, there are free tea and coffee facilites in reception and free wi-fi, overall a very good stay would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    359
    373
    189
    315
See reviews for
566
359
69
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We got back yesterday and this hotel served us for what we wanted. We wanted somewhere central to International Drive to be able to access the theme parks each day, and shower/sleep at the hotel at night. This hotel has suffered harsh reviews and I think what you must understand is if you want 5* accommodation, you have to pay 5* prices. Don’t get me wrong, if I went on a beach holiday to Spain or somewhere, I would not be best pleased. There’s no entertainment programme and very little to do. But around you are the best theme parks in the world; I didn’t need to be entertained at my hotel. Shower was of good pressure and hot. Beds sheets were clean and comfortable. Clean towels each day too. The breakfast was continental. Which consisted of bagels, toast, cereal and pastries. But again, want 5* = pay 5*. Staffs were helpful and were not rude.
All I would say fairly negative was the free shuttle into Disney drops you off at Epcot, from there you have to make your own way. Which isn’t a problem as Disney offer a shuttle-to-all-area bus service. It’s just the hotel didn’t make that clear, and when we arrived at Epcot, we had to find our way from there. Like I said, not a problem, just a shock to not of been told.
One of the breakfast staff was extremely helpful. (Middle aged American/Caribbean lady) who happily went and got me a pastry even though breakfast had finished, chatty and friendly.
I cannot comment on the resort fee, we booked this hotel as a package on Expedia.com. And as far as I’m concerned a resort fee was included. I didn’t give a credit card at the desk and I had no need to 'check out'. I simply handed my key cards to the desk as we left. I do not know if we were supposed to pay a fee or not.
If you do stay here, go up the Drive to 'sweet Tomato's'. VERY nice restaurant. Thousands of salad items, 5 soups, 3 pasta, jacket pots and loads of cakes and ice cream
I would defiantly recommend this hotel to someone who wanted to stay in a prime location of International Drive, and didn’t require more than a bed/bath from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here April 2012. Great hotel excellent location you can walk to universal studios/island of adventure,wet and wild across the road. The Hotel lays on transport to sea world and aquatica. Free wifi in lobby is a boost the only thing that lets this hotel/motel down is the breakfast area is a little overcrowded at times and the two breakfast staff are rude and make comments about the holidaymakers behind their backs. Apart from this two staff the hotel is good value and would stay again hopefully next time they have breakfast staff that can cope when it gets busy.

Room Tip: some ground floors have a patio table overlooking the pool which helps if there is no seats at break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aross67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I have stayed for 13 days , friendly staff, great location. They charge $5 resort fee and $4 to $10 for every package they receive, free wifi only in the lobby but if you are willing to pay $8 per day you can use in the room, great value, I will definitily return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mito1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your review of the Metropolitan Express. We like to hear from our valued clients to see how we can improve and appreciate all comments both good and bad. It is only with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had what was overall a great holiday in and around Disney World but we had planned to stay for the full duration in Pop Century. 5 days in we realised the intensity of Disney was too much so looked for a cheap hotel on I-Drive for an escape. Metropolitan Express came up trumps on price and did a great job for us. We booked in for 2 nights initially but added a 3rd night. Basic accomodation but great value, and good location on I-Drive. Our time on I-Drive made us realise this was a place you could come back to once a year (whereas Disney alone is a once every 5 years experience IMO). Also big heads up for the Tiki bar and Pool area. Great relaxation, friendly staff and good value booze. Avoid if you want luxury but if you just want a good basic base then this place was ideal

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blairmores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Floridian Express Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your review of our Metropolitan Express! We do appreciate all reviews; especially our valued return clientele! With comments such as yours, our entire staff can feel confident they are accomplishing the goal of making the Metropolitan Express as special as we feel it is to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#247 of 336 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#203 of 336 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heart of I-Drive
#284 of 336 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Rosen Inn
#108 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Express Hotel

Property: Floridian Express Hotel
Address: 6323 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8213 (Formerly The Metropolitan Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Price range (per night): $66 - $190
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Floridian Express Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orlando Floridian Express Hotel is located on world renowned International Drive, offers 218 spacious guest rooms and is conveniently located at the entrance to Universal Orlando. Floridian Express International Drive is in the heart of Orlando, walking distance from Wet 'n Wild and SkyVenture Orlando. This family-friendly hotel is within close proximity of Pirate's Dinner Adventure and Titanic the Experience. We provide a high quality alternative for a wide range of travelers because we offer added amenities not found in many other hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Floridian Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando
Floridian Express Hotel Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing