We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but Noisy if on lower floor facing parking lot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Ranked #37 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great, but Noisy if on lower floor facing parking lot”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel was great, location was fantastic. I was given a room on the 2nd floor 246 to be exact. It faced the back parking lot, lets just say as a light sleeper that was not wise. Patrons returning back to their rooms were loud out there in the parking lot. The room itself once things were quiet outside, was absolutely quiet. Very clean, nicely kept hotel and once again LOCATION was fantastic.

Beware of ordering from certain places to your room, as you are hit with tip before you give it, an on the go charge as they have to deliver to your room and yet another additional charge same as the tip..it wound up being about $10.00 all together. You are better off walking to the restaurants as they are right out the back door and back parking lot to International Drive.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the lower floors facing parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,819
    749
    234
    83
    55
See reviews for
1,502
541
65
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Anyone traveling to the Orlando area should not be surprised by the fact, that you are far from alone when visiting -But you have options. The Homewood Suites on International Drive, is an attractive, modern major branded hotel in the heart of tourist Orlando. That's also the problem! It's in the heart of tourist Orlando. Within three miles of this location, there are 90 other hotels/motels, along with over 200 food options (Microsoft Streets & Trips). Can you say congestion? Depending on time of day, there can be near-gridlock conditions at the first traffic light, on the way to Interstate 4 intersection. Unless you're walking, do yourself a favor, don't use International Drive at all, Instead go one block east to Universal Blvd., and enjoy the wide open spaces!

Now maybe you enjoy your neighbors and don't mind the crowds. That's cool, you are in Orlando after all right? On to the hotel.

This was our second stay at a Homewood Suites in six months, and it's a excellent property for your vacation. High on the list of positives is the two-room suite with a kitchen area. This can be very helpful for a family, or for an extended stay like ours (Five nights). The fridge and extra sink are great to have. While on the topic of sinks though, my pet peeve with Homewood is their insistence of placing the bathroom sink, not in the bathroom, but next to the bed! Just try brushing your teeth, three feet away from a sleeping partner, and not disturb them. This is such an annoyance to me, that we probably won't use this brand again in the future -Sorry. The living room of this hotel was a bit small, the couch old and very low to the floor, and the bathroom light buzzed loudly. We also asked for an extra suitcase rack upon our arrival. A week later, we're still waiting. If you decide to stay here, ask for a room on the outside of the building, not the inside facing the surrounded pool area. Insert screaming kid noises here. The parking lot can fill up at night, because of the surrounding restaurants. They have a security person to help keep non-guests away. Help. There is a Universal Studios/Seaworld desk in the lobby where you can get info, purchase discounted tickets, and even arrange transportation to those parks. The free breakfast is very nice. On our last night, while in the business office printing my departing flight's boarding passes, It was discovered the printer was out of paper. After calling the front desk, they said, I could come to them and get some paper. I Can? that's nice. Because of this hotel's horseshoe shape, and multiple exits, navigating the hallways can be a tiring exercise. Note to management: Install "This way to Lobby" and "This way to elevator" signs. You really need them!

In short, this is a fine hotel in the center of the action. But if don't like crowds look elsewhere. Because of the multiple area highways, ten miles way, is only ten minutes away. And a note about Orlando's highways. They are a mix of confusing criss-crossing toll and no-toll roads, some without toll takers! I'm from New Jersey, and I have never seen so many toll booths in my life! Have plenty of singles and quarters handy!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the outside of the building, not with the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the Homewood Suites on I drive over the last 4 years.
Yet again delivered what we expected. Good Hotel. Good room. Good Food. Great staff.

Room Tip: Don't get to close to the lifts or any air con units, there a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x10pjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Where to start, this hotel appeared run down from the hallways and reception area to the room itself. Our couch was completely worn out and I actually avoided sitting on it because I was afraid I would catch something. The baby crib they sent up was disgusting and definitely not fit to put a baby in, moldy mattress and general filth. The second one they sent up after I complained was only marginally better and the sink in the bathroom started pouring water out of the bottom when you turned it on. They did send a plumber to fix it but really this is not what you would expect from a Hilton establishment. Even the pool area was grim, seemed to be the place where all the smokers congregated so you certainly wouldn't be taking your children out there. We were so disappointed with this place that we checked out after 2 nights and went somewhere else. For 200 dollars per night this hotel should have been much better.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My family and I just got back from a five night stay at Homewood. From the moment we walked in the staff was welcoming very helpful. We had several questions about transportation to and from the Disey parks. They supplied us with all of the information we needed. Our room was super clean with extra blankets and pillows for our kids to sleep on the pull out couch. The kitchen had a large refrigerator with a microwave and small stove to cook when needed. The hotel supplied plates, cups and utensils. Breakfast each morning was great and a manager always greeted us when coming out of the elevator. They had everyhting form eggs, cereal, oatmeal and yogurt.
The location of this hotel was also perfect! We were able to walk to many different resturaunts, drug stores etc. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nrs312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Florida Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#18 of 338 in Orlando
4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center

Property: Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Address: 8745 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-9318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Family Hotel in Orlando
#30 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): $108 - $348
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/ Hotel Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Orlando Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites International Drive
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing