We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,192)
Filter reviews
8,192 results
Traveller rating
4,990
2,001
734
312
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,990
2,001
734
312
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews savannah view jambo house animal kingdom kidani village savannah room night vision goggles african theme watching the animals savanna view room boma restaurant the bus zebra trail bunk beds booked a standard room quick service disney world cast members
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,398 - 2,403 of 8,192 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We were close by and thought we could walk around the lobby to get a feel for the resort. After getting a quick bite to eat at Mara, near the outdoor pools, we took the wrong door, took the wrong elevator, but discovered a balcony near the animals. We were thrilled to be so close, but felt bad that we were wandering near the hotel rooms. A cast member asked if we liked our stay and we apologized that we not where we were supposed to be and the person was so kind and said it wasn't a problem and we could stay to enjoy seeing the animals. Beautiful hotel, restaurant menus looked great, and greatly enjoyed the desserts from Mara.

Date of stay: February 2016
2  Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We arrived at the hotel for a convention. Check in was easy and staff were helpful. We asked to change our room for a king bed and they were able to accomodate us. The only problem with the room was the view. There was a roof extension jutting out obstructing the view of the courtyard unless I stood on a chair. Not a problem though because there are other areas to view animals and you can use night binoculars from one of the observation decks. The buffet restaurant was pricey but the food was excellent. The hotel also had a clean fresh smell from whatever they use to clean the carpets with. Room was clean and quiet. They have a drum activity for kids in the evening that was really cute. Overall, we had a very nice time.

Room tip: I would ask for a room facing the back part of the hotel where most of the animals are.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dweebieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We live in Jacksonville, FL and go to Orlando often with our kids for weekend trips.

We usually stay at Waldorf Astoria and Four Seasons, however we decided to stay in a Disney hotel this time to compare.

The Animal Kingdom Lodge is a nice hotel, especially if you have kids as they love the views of the Savanna from their room. If you go to this hotel is a must to get Savanna views as it is the main point of booking this hotel.

Overall this hotel, like most likely any other Disney property, is extremely overpriced compared with other luxury properties in Orlando. The rooms are outdated and extremely small. The views of the Savanna are great and again kids love seeing the animals.

The pool area is nice and the hotel grounds are beautiful. We though that the meal options for kids are not great, not many healthy options.

We did have dinner at the Jiko restaurant, which was pretty good, nothing extraordinary but it was good quality.

Buffet breakfast was fine, nothing extraordinary, more volume rather than quality or more refined items, but it was fine.

Overall the experience was good, kids loved the animals and views from rooms, however at a $500/night with Florida resident discount the hotel is extremely overpriced for what you get and there are many better options in Orlando.

If traveling as a couple with kids, the Waldorf Astoria is the best value for quality of service, rooms and food. Another great option with similar prices to the Animal Kingdom Lodge is the Four Seasons. If traveling with other couples the best option will be the new Magic Village Resort next to Animal Kingdom lodge as townhomes have 3-4 bedrooms and the grounds are beautiful, which is a great value if traveling with kids and other couples.

Room tip: Savanna view, other views not worth money paid
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Josepworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

The resort is on the pricey side, but if you and your family love animals it is well worth it. We stayed at the Jambo House and we fortunate to get a partial savanna view, although you could see everything. We woke up to giraffes feeding only a few hundred feet from our balcony every morning and on several occasions watched a donkey chase one around the savanna. Many other animals were also out and about throughout the day for our viewing pleasure. The facilities in general were beautiful and in good condition. Some of the vending/ice machines were touch and go but that disruption was quite minimal in the grand scheme of things. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful.

Room tip: Try to get a partial or full savanna view for the best experience
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

no one to greet you out front this trip, but checked in at the lobby desk and was brought upstairs to check in. Was offered a beer during check in which i appreciated. some light snacks were served during lunch time. during our snacking we recd a text message that our room was ready. Queen with a bunk overlooking arusha savanna-imcl giraffe and zebra. We dined at Brown Derby for dinner over at Hollywood Studios. We returned to the lounge for desserts. Next am was awaken prior to 6a from power washer outside cleaning the arusha rock area--so did not appreciate that noise which went on for a long while?? But 6a??? Enjoyed breakfast offerings in the lounge. many many activities at the resort--especially from the animal programs peeps including representatives from different african countries. Went back for dinner-ish and desserts: i guess someone abused the beer privileges since you have to ask one of the workers for a beer. I was impressed with some of the workers in the lounge--some very attentive to the guest's needs.

Room tip: i think worth it to get a room overlooking one of the savannas--where else can you have animals outside your room
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews