We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Seth L
Appleton, Wisconsin

good room, great waterpark

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2020
We enjoyed our stay here very much. The on-site amenities are great. We spent a ton of time in the pool area. Early February invites some cooler days that require lots of sunshine to enjoy the pool, so the early morning and mid/late afternoons were not ideal, as the hotel itself blocks the sun from lots of spots in the waterpark area. The pool was nice and warm, and the hot tubs nice and hot, so we spent a lot of time in those. The kids waterpark area was not heated at all, which was a huge bummer. The water was incredibly cold, so my kids were not able to enjoy the main attraction for more than a few minutes at a time before they'd have to break and warm up in the heated pool. I cannot fathom why they wouldn't heat the water in that area. From what I understand, in peak weather times, the water is nice and warm, but definitely not when we visited. We had several 80 degree days, but that water was still far too cold.

The Oasis pool area was nice to enjoy because it was much closer to our room. I'm guessing the bar area there is open during peak season, but it was closed when we were there.

The workout room is very small and basic. Good enough for a workout, but not much to offer for variety, and I could see it being annoying to attempt to utilize if there were other people there when I was working out.

The room itself was great. It was clean, and just about all you'd need for a hotel room. Bunk beds were great for the kids. Not sure why, but the room was only cleaned on one of our three days there. No biggie, but it's always nice to come back to a room that's cleaned up with beds made, and that was only done on our first day.

The included breakfast was excellent! We also didn't know ahead of time that kids eat free in the restaurant at night, so that was another added bonus. We didn't want to have all of our meals there, so we only did that one night, but it was great to be able to have a less expensive dinner on-site.

Customer service was great. At check in the timeshare folks on the other side of the lobby try very hard to nail you down for a presentation for some free gifts. Sometimes I'm up for that, but not interested when I'm with my 4 kids--there's no way we'd be able to make it through a timeshare presentation with them there, even if they do have a little kids area. They were pushy, which I don't like. I just told them no a few times and walked away. We did interact with a few other guests who got some nice perks from sitting through the presentations (Sea World tickets), but she mentioned it took almost 4 hours from when she left to when she got back.

We'll definitely stay here again when we're in Orlando. Took a star off the rating because of the frigid kids waterpark area water--when you use that picture to entice folks, but don't heat the water, there's bound to be many many disappointed children (and parents) if they aren't visiting in the summer months.
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelMgmt1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Thank you for your positive review of Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites-Waterpark. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our many amenities and activities. It is wonderful to hear you were pleased with our Oasis pool and hot tub, though we are sorry the waterpark water was cold when you visited. Your feedback is valued and we apologize for the inconvenience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Orlando!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$214
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
2.4 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$529
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
2.8 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$431
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
13.8 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
A 10-acre lake with fountains is surrounded by a walkway that connects the Wyndham Grand Orlando Resort Bonnet Creek with surrounding Club Wyndham resorts and their pool amenities.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Wyndham
    AU$338
  • Booking.com
2.5 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$335
  • Skyscanner.com
6.6 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$468
  • Priceline
6.4 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$342
  • Skyscanner.com
6.7 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Transportation
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$357
  • Booking.com
5.2 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$764
  • travelup.com
8.5 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
    AU$199
  • travelup.com
11.4 km from Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Orlando
Reviews (3,135)
Filter reviews
3,135 results
Traveller rating
1,504
549
370
270
442
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,504
549
370
270
442
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lakeside cafe bunk beds laser maze lagoon pool waterpark area kids eat free water slides family vacation basketball court mini golf king suite spring break living area disney parks food court magic kingdom arcade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,361 - 1,366 of 3,135 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

Very accommodating! Donna Smith has been a pleasure and always there if we need anything. Great place, the kids are having fun! 2 pools, water slides, poolside games. Spacious rooms. Everyone is so friendly and asks if we need anything!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Hatkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelMgmt1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

We are over the moon to read about your stellar stay with us at the Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites-Waterpark, and I cannot wait to share your compliments with our impeccable staff, especially Donna! I am glad you had time to check out all of our fun amenities and activities poolside, and we hope you return so that we can impress you further in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

My family and I stayed at this property from Feb.7-Feb.12. We booked this hotel based on its proximity to the Disney parks and the water park for the kids. Typically, I’d start with the bright points to a stay even when its been a negative experience, however this stay was an embarrassment to the Holiday Inn brand and cannot start with anything other than the negatives, so people know what they're getting. As loyal IHG members for 10+ years were incredibly disappointment that this falls under the Holiday Inn name.

Negatives:
- Our first room, Room 1337 had no pillows for the pull out, no linens and had most definitely seen a better day overall as it was stained in multiple places. when we requested the bedding for the pull out it took over an hour to have someone bring some up to us. When they arrived with the linens, they had only provided a sheet, No blanket. The next day we left room service a tip and a note and were promptly provided a blanket (go figure).

-The linens for the bed in the main room were no better, black stains were visible on the pillowcases.

-We booked a room with a kitchen with the intentions of preparing breakfast and meals for our day, when checking in we had asked if the room had a toaster. We were told it did when it did not and again had to wait for one to be brought up to us.

- Last but not least, on our second night we began to notice bugs, upon a closer look we realized these were COCKROACHES. At this point I immediately went to the front desk to have our room changed as this is unacceptable and completely unhygienic. The front desk seemed to be very well prepared for this type of complaint which in itself is a bit unsettling. Akhail was once again good to deal with, he provided us with a room upgrade in a different building as I raised the point that if one room in the building is affected, they likely all are. We also received a very minimal credit to our bill of $50.00.

- We were moved to room 1423 which did not have a kitchen ( we agreed to this so long as we were provided a toaster) We were once again assured we'd have a toaster in our room since we were giving up a kitchen suite. After 2 hours of calling the front desk after being told one would be up within 10 minutes multiple times one finally arrived. The woman at the front desk (unfortunately we did not get her name) was incredibly rude and insisted we should have taken the toaster from room 1337 in the first place, to which we quickly reminded her we vacated that room and building due to the resort COCKROACH problem.

- On our second day in room 1423 we returned to lipstick on our bed sheets, black stained towels and no soap in the shower. When we brought this to the attention of the front desk we were simply responded to with "Ok".

-Finally in room related, we've been back home for 6 days and are yet to receive our copy of the bill that we asked for 3 times upon check out and kept getting the same answer of "Sorry it will be emailed to you".

- Poolside restaurant (Name is escaping me) has an ant issue to go along with the other pest control issues this resort seems to find itself in. We ate lunch here on our first day and didn't return as there were Ants on the til and countertop area. This is an enclosed building and not an outdoor vendor or Id let this go due to the nature of the area. However, this is unacceptable.

The positives:
-Waterpark was great, as were the entertainment staff for the kids. There was plenty of games and prizes throughout the day to keep the kids engaged.

-Akhail at the front desk at our time of check in was great (however the rest of the staff provided sub par service)

- The resort does include a Free shuttle to Disney, However they don't specify that they only drop at Epcot and you need to book tickets in advance to go in the AM if you chose to use the service, PM return does not require advance booking.

- We ate at the Lakeside restaurant during our stay. The restaurant itself looks very dated and tired the menu is also very slim. My wife is a vegetarian and didn't have many options other than humus and veggies or sides. The menu consists of mostly pub fare and a few "Entrees" including pasta and steak. However I'd pass on the steak. The food we did eat was okay and the kids did enjoy their meals and the ice cream at the end. Our server throughout our stay was great and made everyone feel at home. Thank you, Juan.

Overall Experience:
I would not recommend this property, the fact that any room has cockroaches says a lot about the manner in which they maintain the property. The customer service needs an overhaul with a few exceptions. Again I cant say enough that Holiday Inn really needs to look into the resort as it is operating at level that is embarrassing to its brand name. At this point I wouldn’t even accept a free stay here.

Room tip: Avoid room 1337
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DG0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelMgmt1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

We very much appreciate you taking the time to offer us a detailed review of your stay. I am thrilled the kids had so much fun at the waterpark, and that the poolside activities kept them greatly entertained! It is wonderful you could take advantage of our shuttle service to get to the nearby parks for even more excitement. I will happily convey your compliments to Akhail and Juan for their warmth and dedication as well as to the restaurant for the kids' wonderful meals. I will be sure to relay your input on the vegetarian options so that we can improve for the future. However, it is disheartening to learn of the difficulties you experienced during your trip. Clearly, we missed the mark, and for that, I sincerely apologize. This incident is certainly not reflective of our high standards, and we hope for the chance to offer you the five-star visit you deserve the next time you are in Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for the Orlando Miniature Show. Very clean hotel, very friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. There are lots of places to eat and visit in the area. Breakfast in Applebee's was not the best

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 1petworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelMgmt1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Thank you kindly for the raving review and recommendation. We were happy to have you here for the show, and the team is thrilled to know they offered you an experience worthy of five stars. Join us again at the Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites-Waterpark anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

Check in was amazing, Allen, at the front desk, was so helpful!! He explained everything and was so friendly!! Made our experience of checking in very positive! He explained where all of the amenities are located, where the food court and pools are located. Plus, where to park so that we were close to our room.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank vincentg2545
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelMgmt1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

We loved being able to provide you with a seamless check-in to start your trip off perfectly here at the Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites-Waterpark. I will be sure to thank the team for their five-star service, and we are thrilled you enjoyed all of our amenities and features! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

What this hotel has going for them:
Location, spacious suites, transportation to the parks, dinning on site. The best thing is the entertainment. Pools the kids love, games held by the pool, hot tubs, large checker boards on deck, basketball, mini golf, an arcade, a laser game, a 4D experience, and games at night. The kids absolutely loved it and they always had something to do!

Where they could improve:
The hotel is just kind of tired looking. There was a huge gap in our front door and part of the outside ceiling was being held up by a makeshift beam, that was kind of concerning to see. At check in you’re given a paper to keep on your dash. On the back of that paper there is a safety list including things such as to walk in pairs, and always keep your doors bolted. It made me question the safety of the area. After checking in, a guy grabbed us before leaving the lobby to try and do a timeshare pitch - harmless, just annoying. That was all we heard about it for the 2 nights we were there. It’s also very noisy. I was able to hear conversations from both next door and the floor above us as though they were in the same room as us.

Recommendations:
There is a pool area that doesn’t include the slide and it doesn’t have a lifeguard. That area seems quieter than being near the main activity area for the kids. Bring a fan to run as white noise in the room so you don’t hear everything else going on in the complex.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelMgmt1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites - Waterpark, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

I am excited to read how impressed you were with our bevy of activities for the kids and the fantastic amenities for all! We aim to keep everyone entertained at all times right on-site here at the Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites-Waterpark. However, I regret to read that there were some areas of concern. I will undoubtedly discuss this all further with management to make sure everything is perfect the next time you visit. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews