We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, helpful staff, but kind of a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #168 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
montreal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“friendly, helpful staff, but kind of a dump”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

wasdumps as there for work. guess I should find a new job. lol.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenFromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    848
    388
    139
    126
See reviews for
952
524
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had a nice 3 night stay at this hotel. I read a log of reviews, most of them are spot on. This hotel is nice, clean, some spots appear a little rundown but I think that is likely because it is used a lot. Rooms were nice, staff was nice, pool was nice. Nice walk to Universal but if young kids or not real active, just drive your car.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thraps
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My family stayed here for 4 nights in March and booked a deluxe suite.
Not much deluxe about the suite as handles we're missing from the drawers and hardly any lighting worked - overall a few dollars spent on sorting out the suite would have made it so much nicer .
That said the location is the nearest to Universal and a 20min walk if you wish.
I asked a female on the desk whom I now understand to be a Manager several questions during my stay and found her to be very unhelpful almost to the point where I felt an intrusion into her day.
Thankfully the staff do not follow her poor example and the lady who sold us park tickets had the patience of a saint with us changing our minds and and askIng questions continually. Make sure you go to the desk on the right when booking your park tickets that is unless you don't mind being dragged into a sales meeting in exchange to cheaper tickets.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We changed our original booking with another hotel following several bad reviews on that hotel.
We paid an extra 400 pounds for 12 nights ito change from two double rooms to what was called a suite ( 1 bedroom with another lving room with kitcen facilitiies and what was discribed as a separate area with a pull out bed to sleep two.

Unfortunately this was not quite what we got. There was a very nice bedroom and bathroom with separate dressing room but the living area had a very small galley type kitchen with a table with two chairs and then the pull out settee and a chair.

This really was not worth the extra sum.
These suites are not really for 4 people and the hotel does not cater for 4 as we had to ask several times for enough towels for us all and mugs and plates.

The postion is very good and the hotel was clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue5923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel and had a good experience with our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry the room you received fell below your expectations. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27746729
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is great in that we arrived about 9:30 am and were able to check into a suite immediately, unlike other places that may not have a room available until after 2:00 pm. The very affordable room had a kitchenette which was nice to store leftovers or chill beverages. The location is right outside the entrance to Universal's grounds, but you do have to walk about a mile to get into the ticketing area. At night, we were tired from walking and were able to take a taxi for about $6-8. You have to make reservations to get a space on the shuttle bus. There are some other hotels in the immediate area as well, like a Hyatt.

One thing that was kind of gross was that when my husband looked under the sofa cushions, there appeared to be dried food or vomit on top of the roll out bed. Other than this, this is a good place for families.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#115 of 337 in Orlando
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): $120 - $237
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing