We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Watch out for dishonest business practices!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #116 of 333 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watch out for dishonest business practices!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed here with my three kids and my mom over Christmas 2011. The room was nice and clean, there was plenty of space for everyone (we had the kids suite), and the pool was nice size. I was also happy with the price of our room. Outside of that, I was shocked that Holiday Inn would engage in some VERY dishonest business practices. Firstly, one of the main draws of this hotel is that "kids eat free." Since I have three kids, this was a great deal. Unfortunately, this benefit is serviced via the on-sight Applebee's. There is no continental breakfast or anything. If you want to eat, you have to wait in line at the restaurant...and, I do mean WAIT in line. Everytime we tried to go, the wait was well over an hour. Now, if this was because the restaurant was full of happily served customers, that would be one thing, but it wasn't. Night after night, they were short-staffed and the restaurant stayed basically empty. There were generally 3-5 hostess at the front telling people the restaurant was full while no more than 10 tables were being served. On top of that, when customers looked incredulously around the restaurant at all the empty tables, the army of hostesses responded rudely! So, we didn't end up eating there after the first night we tried, and we were basically swindled out of the "kids eat free" deal. On top of that, when we arrived, we were approached by a Holiday Inn concierge who said he could get us a deal on park tickets. I was looking for this and so eagerly responded. I was told we would be touring a new Holiday Inn property and then would receive deeply discounted tickets. I HATE timeshare presentations and I would never have agreed to one had I know what it was. I was duped by the Holiday Inn brand, which I generally trust. The bottom line: it was a HIGH pressure time share repsentation. They even drove us AWAY from our car so that we were at their mercy to get out of there. We ended up spending well over three hours and totally shot a FULL day that we could have been at the parks. Overall, I would not recommend this property unless you are totally aware of and can avoid these dishonest practices. Advertising a "kids eat free" plan and then basically making sure your customers can't use it is extremely underhanded. This experience really diminished my opinion of the whole Holiday Inn franchise.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am pleased you liked our room accommodations. I am sorry your stay was negatively affected by the incident at the Applebee's Restaurant and the timeshare presentation. We will follow up with the hotel to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    605
    238
    80
    57
See reviews for
857
286
48
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is an older building that has been upgraded with the latest round of renovations by Holiday Inn. Think big AC units under the windows, not central air. We booked a KidsSuite with a king bed. Plenty of space for everyone. Clean room in comparison to most Disney area hotels. These rooms get abused. Dining is at the connected Applebees restaurant. Nothing spectacular but adequate. The breakfast buffett is comparable to what you find at a Holiday Inn Express or Staybridge Suites, but they charge you $12 for it. The resort fee per room should be eliminated. There is nothing provided that goes above and beyond a normal Orlando hotel. The pool area is simply that...a pool. No extra features or water slides. There is a schedule of activities, but again, nothing more than any other hotel provides in this area. Housekeeping was OK. Towels were refreshed, but new soap, etc. was not. The kids beds were "short-sheeted." The top sheet was not tucked in, only placed under the comforter to make it look done. They may also want to begin bending over when cleaning a room. We found several empty water bottles stuffed on the back of the bathroom shelves. The worst part of the stay? Check-in. Friday evening of a holiday weekend. Two staff at the front desk; three families in line. 25 minutes wait!!! When I arrived at the counter, I expressed my discontent with the wait. Why have minimal staff when there is a known number of expected arrivals? Don't forget the unlimited number of people that do not wait in line that interrupt the check-in process "for a quick question." And why not call in more help when you see so many people waiting? There were at least 10 people behind me. The lobby was full. It was especially disappointing being a Platinum PC member, seeing the priority check-in sign, but no one there to check you in. The response? "Yeah, it gets that way on the weekends. Thank you for being a PC member." In conclusion, if you need a decent room that is close to Disney, this is a good spot. Do you want a true resort with all of its amenities that come with a full blown vacation? Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Top floor away from the lobby. They appear to book a lot of groups, especially schools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capt_paco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear capt_paco,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Platinum Member and for staying with us. I am pleased you liked our hotel location as well as your room accommodations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced at check in. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Loved it
We stayed 4 night on Memorial weekend and absolutely a very nice clean classy hotel to stay at, let me put it this way, changed my impression about Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Its on route 535, just off the interstate - but long lines for that turnoff, even at 11pm when we arrived. When you leave the hotel property, you can only go north on 535 - no left turn. So if you want to gross the road to the Chick Fil-A or go to the nearby Starbucksm you either have to take your life in your hands to walk across four lanes of busy traffic, or take a half mile detaour, then do a risky U-turn to come back on the other side of the road.

Hotel itself - very average. Elevator was not working so we had to talk up 5 floors several times a day.

30 minute wait to check in - at 11:00pm on a Friday night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dibi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear dibi99,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. I am pleased you liked the room accommodations your received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry for any difficulty you experienced getting to our hotel as well as the problems with the elevator. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We frequent Disney about once a month and are always looking to check out new places to stay. We usually travel with all 5 kids for 2-3 days but this trip was just me & my husband for the weekend so we wanted a inexpensive but clean place since we spend most of our time out. Check in was very easy and overall the hotel was very clean & updated. Our room was in the older (outside) portion but it was very quite and we actually had a nice view of Downtown Disney and Epcot from our room. The kitchenette area was a VERY small as was the bathroom, but everything was neat & clean. We had booked our stay through a bidding site and were not aware there was a resort fee til we checked in, but it does cover your parking & free WIFI. Also there is an Applebees right on site as well as a small store and the Walmart is right down the road. There are several good food choices within walking distance, Chick fil A & wendys right across the street & Lonestar steakhouse right next door. Overall a great location & room for the price we paid.

Room Tip: 6th floor gives a great view, but the rooms from 685-698 are outside and much older than the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DisneyAddicts7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
B Resort & Spa
B Resort & Spa
#119 of 333 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Hampton Inn Orlando/Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Address: 13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821-6228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Orlando
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#90 Business Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#115 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): $134 - $290
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Holiday Inn Resort(R) Lake Buena Vista, you are so close to the entrance to Walt Disney World(R) Resort, you can almost feel the Magic! This official Disney Good Neighbor hotel is fresh from a multi-million dollar makeover, making it perfect for your visit to the Walt Disney World(R) area. Take advantage of scheduled shuttles to the Disney parks, Sea World(R), Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Orlando Premium Outlets shopping and the Orange County Convention Center! After a busy day, come back to spacious, generously-appointed accommodations. Choose King or Queen-size bedding with 37" HDTV televisions, high-speed Internet, refrigerator, microwave, granite top vanities and upgraded bath amenities. Families love our KidSuites, a room-within-a-room that lets kids enjoy their own space within their parents room. Relax at the expansive, tropically-landscaped outdoor sundeck with plenty of lounge chairs, oversize heated pool, Splash Pad and two whirlpool spas! There is plenty to do onsite including outdoor pool tables, giant checkers and chess, ping pong, fitness center and an arcade/game room. PLUS - a Daily Scheduled Activities and Movies program for kids and adults! Enjoy great dining at Applebees(R) located onsite, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pinkys Market Place and Gift Shop is in the hotel lobby. Free high speed internet access helps you stay connected, and on-site meeting rooms are available for special events. Explore the Lake Buena Vista and Downtown Disney area's plentiful dining, shopping, nightly entertainment and picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Sunspree Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing