We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s definitely gotten better!”

Disney's Animal Kingdom
Ranked #6 of 392 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "The largest of the 4 theme parks at Walt Disney World Resort, Disney's Animal Kingdom park is filled with attractions, adventures and entertainment that reflect Walt Disney's dedication to nature and conservation. The park leads the way in animal care, education and research—for an enchanting experience that blends learning with family fun.Home to more than 1,700 animals from 250 species and sprawling across 500 acres of lush landscape, Disney's Animal Kingdom park is the biggest animal-themed park in the world!Disney's Animal Kingdom park is divided into 7 areas:OasisDiscovery Island® areaCamp Minnie-MickeyAfricaRafiki's Planet Watch® areaAsiaDinoland, U.S.A.® areaEncounter rare and majestic animals—and get close enough to pet some of them! Exciting attractions await, along with live and wild entertainment like Broadway-style musical shows and parades that invite you to be part of the excitement.From the spectacular scenery of the African savanna—where you may spot zebras, elephants and hippos—to the high-altitude, roller coaster thrills of Expedition Everest® in Asia, global adventures abound at Disney's Animal Kingdom park.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I used to write this park off as a half day tops. With the addition of the Pandora themed area there is a ton more to do. It’s currently super busy so we didn’t get to get a fast pass for both of the new rides, so it might even be worth it to go here a second day. The river of lights show is amazing as well. Definitely do tuskerhouse for breakfast and get the tickets to the show if you can budget for it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank jruessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"safari ride"
in 2,239 reviews
"expedition everest"
in 2,536 reviews
"the lion king"
in 2,406 reviews
"tree of life"
in 1,379 reviews
"kali river rapids"
in 1,103 reviews
"tusker house"
in 452 reviews
"bugs life"
in 538 reviews
"african safari"
in 268 reviews
"dino land"
in 259 reviews
"yak and yeti"
in 251 reviews
"everest roller coaster"
in 232 reviews
"primeval whirl"
in 217 reviews
"bird show"
in 312 reviews
"fast pass"
in 1,480 reviews
"river journey"
in 232 reviews
"love animals"
in 314 reviews
"finding nemo"
in 483 reviews
Filter

1,956 - 1,960 of 31,039 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We came the week of Spring Break with kids ranging from 5 to 14. There is a wide variety of things to do for both the post kids and my youngest. As expected the park was very busy and the waits were so long that we couldn’t do much more than what we had fast passes for. All of my kids enjoyed The flight of the Avatar and I enjoyed the Navi River journey. Everything in the park was clean. We stayed in a Disney hotel and the bus transportation was great but often times the buses were very crowded.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank susanmQ2517XF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

There's a nice safari to see animals and you ride in a large jeep style vehicle which is fun because you are going through water and rough terrain. We were so close to the giraffes we could almost touch them!
There's other walking trails to see different animals also.
There's a large playground area called the bone yard that our kids (8 and 5) loved playing in. There's limited seating for the parents but many sat in the floor. There's also an adjoining dig site where the kids use buckets and shovels to "dig" out the fossils of a dinosaur. This is a giant dinosaur that is covered large grain sand. There isn't anything they dig out to keep.
There's not a whole lot of rides in the animal kingdom. The primeval whirl isn't an aggressive ride but the height restriction is 48 inches so my son couldn't ride and he got really upset. I questioned the tall restriction and the attendant said it was because of the type of safety bar that comes down over the head.

There is a ride just like the dumbo ride at magic kingdom only its dinosaurs. Then there's an indoor dinosaur ride that has animatronic dinosaurs that look real and it's really dark at certain points.
Then there's the new avatar ride at the new pandora land. The ride is very intense and the height restriction is fairly short and my son got a little scared. It's a virtue reality simulator ride but it's very real!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank michellemKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

this park just does not have enough attractions to support the crowds. we had a 9am fastpass for the new pandora attraction, the park opens at 8 so we had time to do the pandora boat ride first thing which is similiar to the pirates ride with the pandora theme. with the fast pass we went right on, but by the time we left the ride there was already a 2 hour wait which went up to 4 hours later on. this ride is similiar to soaring and is not worth that long a wait. so if you dont want to go on these new rides, go to the others in the park and you can get on several because everyone is in the pandora section. by the afternoon, if you dont have a fastpass you have at least an hour wait everywhere. so disney either needs to add to this park or limit the attendence more

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank blustig77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We stood in line in the hot sun for literally 3+ hours to get on the Avatar ride, which we’d heard was the best experience ever. Our party was selected, we were given the 3D glasses, we were in the video part of the ride. All of a sudden the screen goes blank. We’re told the building has to be evacuated because of a fire alarm. So everyone is ushered out and the ride is temporarily closed. We come back a few hours later after seeing that it has been reopened. We ask if we can receive a FastPass so that we won’t have to wait ANOTHER 3 hours! We’re told that there is nothing that they can do and we’d have to wait again. This is beyond ridiculous that they could not accommodate us when we were seconds from being on the ride! 6 hours of our day wasted on one ride! This is my first time at Disney and I am so disappointed! From what everyone told me beforehand, this was going to be the most magical experience ever. It has been the complete opposite! I do not get all the hype about Disney at all, and we will never bring our family back here!

Date of experience: April 2018
5  Thank keneshaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing