We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant degustation menu, but lacked fine dining service.”
Review of Berowra Waters Inn

Berowra Waters Inn
Price range: AU$0 - AU$260
Cuisines: French, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 May 2021

Tonight we had a 3-way birthday celebration at Berowra Waters Inn with the twins, David & Diana, plus son/nephew Matt.

The ferry service to the restaurant was punctual. The atmosphere upon arrival was great with a beautiful burning log fire near our table.

The choice of an all Australian aperitif & wine list was well done and most welcoming.
The hand crafted 6 course degustation menu was divine with a superb combination of ingredients to savour.

However, the service for "fine dining" was not quite on point so I have dropped it from my previous visit of "Excellent" to "Very Good". That said, I still highly recommend it.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travelvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2021

As always, dining at Berowra Waters Inn is a special experience.
Fabulous location, staff, food and wine.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Susan-Sept2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

We ate here 18 months ago, arrived by seaplane and had a glorious experience with front row seating. We live in Melbourne and promised ourselves that as soon as it was COVID safe, we would return. When we arrived we were disappointed not to be seated at a window table, it rather at ‘the back of the bus’. There were only five tables left, two of which were window seats. We presumed that the vacant window tables had probably been especially requested. At first we were the only people seated in the back row, but then two Asian ladies arrived and were led to one of the other back row tables. They assertively requested that they be seated at a window table. The waiter tried to convince them that the restaurant had been architecturally designed so that the back row actually had a better view than the front row. (This was clearly not true). In any event, the ladies were given a front row seat. As the lunch progressed it became evident that our table was the absolutely worst in the restaurant. We were the only table situated a meter from the drink serving area and the kitchen serving area which meant that every single table being serviced had waiters and drink staff passing directly beside us. The remaining two back tables were spaced a good three metres from the serving area.

Having been sorely disappointed by all that didn’t mean that the entire experience was a disaster. We came for the food and the view. The view, despite not being as good as other diners were enjoying, was nonetheless lovely. The food was wonderful - most especially the starters of Kangaroo pastrami on Rye and Scallops, Nashi and Cucumber. The only real disappointment with the food was the wagyu beef which was hard to cut and harder to chew. The two desserts of Yogurt, melon and apple and Thooheys old and Malt, were an unexpected and delightful surprise. The service was very good. All in all, it was a lovely gastronomic experience that was only marred by the need for us to wonder the selection criteria that had us placed on the worst table. I posed this question to the sommelier, when he asked about our experience and he tried to suggest that seating was allocated based on the timing of the reservation. This was clearly not correct as we had booked five weeks in advance and we overheard another table congratulating themselves of getting in with only two weeks notice.

Date of visit: May 2021
3  Thank 177Maryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021

To my mind this is the most idyllic setting, only accessed by boat or seaplane, looking out over calm waters with a peaceful parade of various watercraft during a Friday long lunch. The arrival and departure of some guests by seaplane was an occasional added bonus.

The main event though was the glorious food, clever combinations of stunning flavours with absolutely no disappointments. I could not fault the friendly and efficient staff, adding to the relaxed ambience.

We just loved it.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

Floor are so slippery that my partner had a fall and hurt her collar bone and the team was so cold about it. A waiter was concerned and that's about it.

Food was good and the meals were spaced well during the journey.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 741leenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victoria Z, Owner at Berowra Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Hi Leena,
I am so sorry to hear that your partner slipped on the floor and hurt her collar bone this weekend.
And I am also very sorry to hear about the level of attention given to you after the incident.
We pride ourselves on good customer experience and this is a cornerstone of our business.
Collectively we shall have a meeting with all the employees that worked on the weekend as this is not acceptable. Thank you so much for your patronage and we hope to welcome you to the Inn again. Would you mind emailing us directly: reservations@berowrawatersinn.com and we can go through some finer points. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berowra Waters Inn also viewed

 
Berowra Waters, Hornsby
 

Been to Berowra Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.