We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good cottage, remote location, poor internet.”
other travellers have booked this property
Willow Cottage's beautifully converted  open plan living room (and the sofa bed)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Willow Cottage's beautifully converted  open plan living room (and the sofa bed)
Relax in the sun Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Willow Cottage's beautifully converted  open plan living room (and the sofa bed)
Relax in the sun
Enter a caption for your photo
Beautifully equipped kitchen with TV on the wall
Willow Cottage bath/shower room
Willow cottage from the courtyard
Willow Cottage from the front
Willow Cottage from the fields
Winter views from Willow Cottage
Springtime views from Willow cottage
Willow Cottage
Willow Cottage from the courtyard in winter
The electric jeep is a big hit with all the kids that fit
Play in the genuine Gypsy caravan
Endless days of play
There is never a bad time to have a bounce on the huge trampoline
Chill out and relax in the gardens and 9 acres of land
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plaxtol, Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
happytrav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good cottage, remote location, poor internet.”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was clean and in good condition. The location very remote - which was fine for us and good things for the kids to do in the grounds - such as gypsy caravan, tree house, trampoline, lots of swings etc. Also there was a nice welcome pack. The only issues we had was the water pressure was rubbish so a shower wasn't great, however the deal breaker for us was the internet was pretty much non existent. We appreciate due to the location there is nothing they can do about this, but for us it was a big issue. Overall if you are not bothered about the internet and want an idyllic remote location, you can't go wrong!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition of the cottage
Liked least: The poor internet and shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thank you for your positive comments about the location and all there is to do in the grounds.

Your comments about the Wi-Fi are however not representative of the norm. Normally, we have a good 4Mb/s download speed and we have several routers providing a network of Wi-Fi connections in and around all the cottages. The Wi-Fi was not available/poor for a number of days during your stay as the broadband provision to Hamptons Farmhouse was reduced. This was out of our control.

We completely understand, and recognise, the need and importance of good Wi-Fi connectivity and I can confirm that this is now back at normal levels after visits by BT OpenReach and working with the ISP.

I am sorry that during your stay the internet provision was low, but can confirm to other potential guests that we normally have a good Wi-Fi provision.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudsonLon...
london
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for us”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are now into our 4th week, 2 more to go. Willow Cottage for us was an excellent choice in waiting for our new home in Shoreham Kent to be completed. The cottage is comfortable, cleaned throughout and linen change once a week. During half term our grankids came to stay, 12 and 9 enjoyed the farm collecting eggs, feeding chickens, sheep and play areas immensley, using a boat on the pond, climbing the excellent tree houses.. Good walks, pubs, places of interest on your doorstep. Owners, Andy and Katie ( who is very Kool !!!) are helpful, friendly, on hand for any problem, or advice. We would have loved to have stayed even longer, but unfortunately for us all the cottages are booked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation of the farm, friendly welcome, just idyllic.
Liked least: The sofa bed was not comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeLon...
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Cosy, well-equipped cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We honestly can't say enough about how much we adored the cottage and our stay. The overall exterior and interior of the cottage are picturesque and instantly made us feel at home. When we arrived at the cottage we were very warmly greeted and spoilt with some very thoughtful token food and drink items.

The cottage itself is more well equipped then we could have imagined; we packed well, intending to have a peaceful and relaxing stay, yet we returned many of our own items to the car as everything we could have needed was already supplied. The grounds surrounding the cottage are stunning and also, well equipped for whatever mood you may be in. We spent many a night sitting on the swinging bench, overlooking the rolling views and watching the sunset with a glass of wine in our hand - how wonderful. We then spent some days relaxing in the garden, to the sounds of only the birds and nearby animals. We also had a few rounds of table tennis, which made for a fun stay. To top it all, each evening, after either cooking a home cooked meal or popping to a nearby pub for dinner, we slept as soundly as babies in the luxurious bedding, which certainly made it difficult to get up in the morning.

Even though the weather was very English during our stay, this did not matter one inch; we came for a peaceful stay, some time out away from the bustle of the city lights and traffic and that is exactly what we got.

We were incredibly sad to leave and will certainly be coming back at every opportunity. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience Andy and Kate; we couldn't have asked for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail, everything is thought of in the most careful and thoughtful way
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Willow Cottage is a Charming Conversion”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Willow Cottage in May 2014 for a week and had a much needed relaxing break.
We received a genuinely friendly welcome from our hosts Katie and Andrew who very obviously enjoy sharing their lovely property with their guests.
Willow Cottage is a charming conversion fully equipped with all and more to make for an enjoyable stay – even comfortable pillows – wonderful!! The welcome pack of provisions was so thoughtful with delicious treats.
It was a pleasure to return to the cottage after busy days visiting national trust properties and gardens – Kent has the best! To relax in the tranquil garden in the evening swas pure heaven.
Although just myself and my husband visited this time, we intend to return next year with our grand-daughter (if we manage to get booked!) as she will have the time of her life with all that’s on offer for children at Hamptons farmhouse.
Thank you again Katie and Andrew and we wish you and your delightful family a fabulous summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: child friendly
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalie122...
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to explore Kent, the garden of England”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is the first time that we have stayed in Hamptons Farmhouse but definitely not the last! My husband, 5 & 11 year-old sons and I stayed for 2 weeks at Willow Cottage and love every moment of it. The cottage is cozy, comportable and well-equipped in the wonderful grounds of the stunning view of the countryside. Our hosts Katie & Andy were so kind and helpful. My kids enjoyed playing tennis, zip-lining, running in the garden, exploring tree house etc. Fantastic place for kids really! My husband whose passion is road bike, had a wonderful time cycling up and down small hills around the neighbourhood everyday. Me, I loved taking a small walk in the garden, watching rabbits hopping and running in front of me. They were so lovely. Thank you very much Katie & Andy for your hospitality. We had such a great time staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and its surroundings
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing