We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to this gem year after year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Return to this gem year after year”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My nine year old daughter and I have been coming to this resort for over 6 years. Every year, the hotel invests in the property and there have been upgrades to this 1940's gem every year. This year, big beach towels and fresh paint on the exterior of the buildings were the surprise improvements. For those wishing a family vacation without programs for children--and that's one of the things I like about this place, come to 'Tween Waters. The dining room is great, the pool and beach superb, and staff are always friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PilgrimsJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    690
    251
    102
    69
See reviews for
971
1,142
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is a very nice property with both incredible sunrises and sunsets -- the island is that small and the hotel and facilities literally go "coast to coast." While sunsets are more spectucular (you'll probably be asleep when the sun rises), there is the issue of a road which separates the beach and the hotel. The traffic moves slowly and is not noisy, but it does distract a bit if you want to watch from your hotel balcony. Food, spa, facilities and service are all excellent. Highly recommended as a complete island getaway while remaining in the US. Lots of good restaurants and bicycling opportunities.

Room Tip: Short term go with sunset -- they are spectacular. Longterm, go with sunrise. The view is more pur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed for one week at start of 4 week vacation.We required somewhere to completely unwind first before moving on & Tween Waters delivered just that.Reception on arrrival was cordial & friendly & we were in our cosy room overlooking the Gulf ( Great sunsets ! ) quickly.
The beach was quiet & great for early morning walks before breakfast Although there were cooked breakfasts every day we did not take this as the breakfast buffet was ample with plenty of fresh fruit cereals etc.
We dined in the Crows Nest Pub a couple of times which had entertainment - a singer - & on another occasion a renowned crab racing night which was hilarious ! Oh & not forgetting a well stocked bar
We also indulged in fine dining in the Old Captiva House which was excellent & not exhorbitant. On another night the management invited us for an early evening cocktail poolside,where it was pleasant to meet other guests.
Other than that we also catered for ourselves on the balcony & if we felt like staying in there was a good selection of movies onTV on a pay per view basis
We also went kayaking from the resort & this was great fun.
We were aware that some guests returned to Tween Waters time after time which is not surprising as the resort is well placed on Captiva with nice rooms friendly helpful staff good food - in other words all the ingredients for a relaxing holiday.
We would certainly stay again too.

Room Tip: Pick Sea Grape rooms for Gulfside views & great sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterXaghraGozoMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel is situated in central Captiva which is about 15 miles to the mainland via Sanibel - there are speed restrictions on the road and so that journey can take about 30 mins.
The Hotel is in a superb location between with the sea with great beach just across the road and the sound behind. (Manitees regularly seen close to shore in the sound)
The Reception Staff, and in fact all staff, are very helpful and friendly.
The Rooms are clean and well furnished containing two comfortable twin beds, old style TV, table, fridge, Coffee making, pictures, etc. Bathroom is relatively small, but fine although ours was showing some signs of wear / age. Our Room faced the sea with a screened balcony containing chairs and table. In Room safe also provided. The room had a nice comfortable feel.
Although there was Wi Fi access in the rooms the strength of the signal was poor and not really usable.
There is a large pleasant swimming pool with bar - plus slightly irritating music !!!. Kayak rental available for use in the sound and also bicycle rental available.
The Hotel provide either cabanas or seats / umbrellas on the beach at a cost of $15 or $20 respectively which seems a bit pricey particularly since they were not that good quality. A superb beach and great for swimming or fishing. (Dolphins regularly seen)
A good quality / choice continental breakfast is provided between 7.30 - 11.00. Cooked options are available to residents for an extra $5.95.
There are two Restaurants as part of the Hotel - Old Captiva (up market quality style) and The Crows Nest (Pub style). Both are good and reliable.
This was our second visit to Tween Waters and we will probably return again. One downside is that it takes some time to get back to the mainland, but this must be balanced against the location - Captiva is a bit less busy than Sanibel.
A very good hotel perhaps falling just short of excellent in my view.

Room Tip: I would choose an upper level room with better views so long as you are ok with carrying luggage up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

A charming island resort that has everything you need in close proximity. Beautiful beach that feels private. Fun pool that is always buzzing with activity. Harbor has lots of activities. We love kayaking pine island sound, renting bikes to ride around captiva and the fishin charters. The continental breakfast is perfect--I dream about the warm, homemade coffee cakes. The grounds are loaded with palm trees and flowers and have a great island feel--you might as well be on a private island in the Bahamas! The location can't be beat, so close to great restaurants on captiva and sanibel. So many room and cottage options. Some could use some updating but most are great. We don't like the new towel policy. We were so stressed out about losing one. Food in crows nest is not the best and the crab races guy is crabby and kind of mean. It's kind of funny, but sometimes it takes the fun out of it. Overall, we lOve Tween more than anyplace else. Our best family memories are at tween waters and on captiva!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J9800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
J9800,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your 6th visit with us and that “you love Tween more than anyplace else”. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and others. Over the past year we have made numerous improvements to our landscaping, pool area (all new pool furniture), and rooms (new ac units and furniture). Many of our improvements to our rooms are still ongoing as we continue the gut remodel of our 1 bedroom suites in the Mangrove Building (we have completed about ½ with plans to finish by the end of summer) and bathroom and ac updates in our water view guestrooms. We invite you to friend us on Facebook where we post all the goings on at our resort. Our new luxury towel program started this January and while the program is not perfect it does offer many advantages and has been met with overwhelming approval by our guests. This new program provides our guest with complimentary use of a much larger and more luxurious beach towel that can be exchanged for a dry and clean towel at any time. And, because guests return or take their towels back to their room the efficiency and appearance of our lounge chairs and pool area is greatly improved. I am sure you remember from your previous trips how many small white pool towels were left on lounge chairs and around the pool that we couldn’t pick up until the end of the day as we were not sure if guests were still using them. Towels left on lounge chairs gave the appearance of an occupied chair often frustrating those looking for places to relax by the pool. Please keep in mind that this is a voluntary program that guests can choose to participate in. You are more than welcome to bring your own towels. We do appreciate your comments and this is a new program for us. Please feel free to contact me directly at dougbabcock22@gmail.com to offer any additional comments and/or suggestions. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your 7th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
16.3 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
17.7 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.6 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
13.4 km away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
17.1 km away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price range (per night): $247 - $483
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Otel, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing