We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Captivated by Mermaid Pool House”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Really Private Pool and Private Shower Behind These Palms
Private outside shower
New Italian Leather Sleeper Sofa/Loveseat
Fully Equipped Entertainment Center
Comfortable Seating for Six Guests
Sparkling clean pool!
Kitchen and dining
Kitchen & Dining
Dining room looking to front door.
Seating outside dining room
Master bedroom w LCD TV & i-Pod docking speaker
Lanai from master b to pool
Lanai from pool to master bedroom
Guest bedroom
Guest bedroom w LCD TV and i-Pod dockinfg speakers
Guest Bath
Llarge beach cart is easy to roll with these tires
Captiva entrance at Blind Pass Bridge Village center 2.5 miles past
Beach Path, a two minute walk from the Mermaid
Captiva's 'crowded' beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Captiva Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
BJ N
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Captivated by Mermaid Pool House”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here a week before the big storm was to hit the Island and local area.
Right from the very start we found the process of selecting and booking this property very easy and straight forward. All my wife's 1001 questions were answered and some that she hadn't thought of. The details of rental are very straight forward and receiving those prior to start of holiday only added to the excitement of travel.
We did the Disney thing for two weeks prior to arrival for the kids and the week in the Mermaid house was adult relaxation time.
Orlando to Tampa and then towards Sarasota provided a couple of days of miserable rain and one of the longest thunder storms my kids have ever seen, but the drive onto Captiva soon put those thoughts behind us. As soon as the boys saw the pool they were in it within minutes. The ambiance of the property made everyone feel at home straight away no matter how tired they thought they were, it was soon forgotten.
I must say that being British and limited on holiday times it was a shame we were there in the storm season when things really quieten down. However, although the activities on Island were at the whim of the latest hurricane, the house really made up for it. Its location to nearest restaurant is perfect, the shop is less than 5 minutes and the local bars are near enough to stagger home but not to close to hear.
The beach was a short walk and sea very warm compared to the English Channel surrounding our home Island. Every day saw us venture to the beach, watch the dolphins offshore or hope to see some turtles hatching from one of the protected areas. The wife really liked to worry about the dive bombing Pelicans, but they are no real bother and actually it is comforting to know that the wildlife like the dolphins, manatees, pelicans, turtles and tortoises are left to enjoy their habitats. To have this on the doorstep of Mermaid House really made our stay into an adventure. After sights like those it was even more appreciated when we returned "home" to the relaxing and comfortable Mermaid House. Our two young boys would stay in the pool until wrinkly, and for once as a family we spent time in the same room relaxing. Worries seem to drift away here, and just a week can seem like a lot longer. Amenities in the house are really good, everything we could want was there for us to use. The sound system allowing either pool, lounge or both was a great idea. It allowed us adults to enjoy a leisurely swim in the pool or the quiet area while the boys were utilizing the wifi elsewhere listening to the latest white noise.
All in all we really enjoyed the hospitality of the Mermaid Pool House and in hind sight wish we had done more weeks there, even when the weather dampened the spirits the house lifted them, such is the home like feeling of the property. In our opinion the owner has got it right with what is offered and at a price which is very good value. We would certainly recommend this property to anyone, and thank you for letting us enjoy your house in such a wonderful setting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
We really thank our wonderful guests from the Channel Islands, UK for their visit with us and their most comprehensive and informative review! We truly hope they can return in the future for the longer stay they wished for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baborel
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best Relaxing Place To Stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

PERFECT!!!!!!! The house was cozy and warm. Relaxing and refreshing!!! We enjoyed our time by the pool everyday and cooked meals in the evening. Walking to the beach was nice and close to the house. We enjoyed riding the bikes provided. The sunsets were beautiful. The house had everything we needed to cook, wash and relax. We had a great time Kayaking and sight seeing. Shopping in Sanibel was also enjoyable. The property was clean and well maintained.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
It was great have these first time guests for a 2 week stay. We do hope to have them return, and thank them for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr K
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best vacation rental experience ever”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Best vacation rental experience ever from the minute we walked in the door at the mermaid house we knew we were in for a week of perfection. The house has everything you need to relax and enjoy the wonderful island of Captiva. Stepping out the French doors into the pool finding an oasis of quiet and privacy. The kitchen is well appointed and had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. So many little extras including Internet access a full music system with a wonderful selection of music. Appreciate all of the attention to detail that the owner has provided for this charming welcoming rental. Highly recommend and hope to return some day

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLN59715
Bozeman, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Our FAVORITE place!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My sister and I have a lovely tradition of vacationing in Florida with my now 86-yr-old mother, 83-yr-old aunt and my cousin. This year was our 8th trip, after missing a couple of years for various health reasons.

We've tried three different condos and one other vacation home with pool and after our third visit staying at the Mermaid House I can confirm that it is BY FAR our favorite! It is clean, lovely, unpretentious, and so very comfortable for us. You can tell this place is cared for with love, and we've seen some improvements over the years. The landscaping is lush and beautiful, making the pool and grounds quite private. This year it was a little cool the first two days but the heated pool and various sunny outdoor seating areas made it very pleasant to be outside. Larry is never intrusive but is always attentive to our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doymo
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“The Mermaid House is a Wonderful Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at the Mermaid House with my parents. We all loved it! It is all on one level which makes it easy. The house presents as very large. There is so much space to spread out. The indoor and outdoor furnishings are very comfortable. It's almost hard to decide where to relax. I'd say the lanai with it's heated pool was a favorite spot. There was plenty of sun and shade with all the tropical vegetation around the home. It's also very quiet. The home is well-appointed with everything you'd need. The owner is very nice and provides a cooler, beach chairs/towels, a pull cart and bicycles. The Mermaid House is a short walk to the beach which is gorgeous. We went every night to watch the sunset. Captiva Village is also just a short walk to enjoy the restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay at the Mermaid House when we return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing