We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Mile O' Mud!

Always a great time watching these drivers, both men and women compete for the 4 race per year Bud... read more

Reviewed 19 June 2018
napelsgc
,
Naples, Florida
Great time

We went in March and had a great time. There is plenty of parking and plenty of seating--although... read more

Reviewed 15 March 2018
kspeaker
,
Richmond, Illinois
Read all 54 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Naples
from USD 74.99
More Info
from USD 55.00
More Info
from USD 43.46
More Info
from USD 40.28
More Info
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
33
15
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
15
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews starting line wide world of sports vip section general admission bucket list old florida naples area bleachers jeeps track announcer hat stadium fundraiser sippy sunscreen snowbirds
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Sorta on my bucket list, used to see this on the old ABC Wide World of Sports TV show back in the day. Finally got to go to the March race. The buggy races are only 3 times a year, November, January and March. Here's a couple of things to know that should help with your experience - parking is free but in a "bush hogged" field that is anything but smooth. Just watch your step from your vehicle to the small building that sells the tickets. Actually you get a wristband after paying your $20 admission. They do take credit cards. You need to know that the organization that runs the place is a non-profit and the race events are actually fund raisers for different causes in the Naples area. Usually these events allow you to bring in unopened bottled water, but not here. There is a bag check and you'll have to give up your bottle of water, so leave it in your vehicle. Once inside the facility you can purchase water and other beverages. The prices are reasonable for both food and water, but remember this is a fund raiser event. As far as the seating, its metal bleacher seats, several sets of them all along the start/finish line. The one section directly in front of the starting line has no steps, you'd have to step from bench to bench. The next and much larger section just to the right as you face the track does have 2 sets of stairs and more closely resembles what you'd expect at a high school football stadium. No cover over any of the seats except for the VIP section, but for general admission, bring your sunblock and wide beam hat for sun protection. Also if you have them, a stadium seat works great or a padded cushion or even a folded up beach towel will help. The advertising said races start at 1pm and end at 5pm. A long afternoon for sure on those metal benches. We arrived precisely at 1pm but could hear races going on, not sure of the actual start time as we found it odd that at 1:30pm they took an intermission which turned out to be closer to a half hour. Then it was one race after the other until the the final "feature" race about 4pm and that ended things. If you stay to the end, they brought all the class winners in their buggies over to the side in front of the bleachers and opened the gates so you could get up close to see the buggies and take pictures, talk to the drivers if you choose, so I thought that was nice at the end. And the othere big deal is for the Swamp Buggy Queen to jump in the muddy water with the feature winner driver. That makes the next days news paper. Also note that during the races they make an announcement that there is to be no video filming. There were signs to that effect as well, but we saw folks using their cell phones so hard to police that. I guess they try to keep proprietary control over copy write infringement, not sure.
Anyway, there were several classes of buggies, some were specially prepared jeeps, then other classes were these really specialty long cigar shaped vehicles, the true swamp buggies, only separated by the size of their engines. The track itself is a shallow (3' in most spots) lagoon if you want to call it that, just flooded with muddy water that is oval in shape with a split in the middle of the oval. There are 2 deeper holes called "sippy holes". After leaving the starting line, the course immediately takes a slight left turn to go across the infield area then a right all the way around to the start/finish line and then again for one more lap, that is a "race".
We did note that the majority of the crowd seemed to us to be "snowbirds" with just a minority of true blue collar locals.
Overall, we enjoyed the afternoon seeing some of the real "old Florida" that is still around. With the continued encroachment of nearby development, this facility might not be around for too many years. So, I suggest that if you're in the Naples area, go at least once to experience this before it goes extinct.

Thank rcholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FloridaSportsPark, Manager at Swamp Buggy Races, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to "The World Famous Swamp Buggy Races". We are Collier County's Oldest, Family Friendly tradition! We hope to see you back at our next race!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We were apprehensive about going because it was not our usual type of event to attend, but we ended up having a great time. It was fun! We had no idea what a swamp buggy was. We had a sandwich and a beer and an interesting day.

1  Thank lstanley809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We got on the road a bit late but got to the "track" after it was in progress. What a hoot! Had seen this on TV but in person, it was so much fun.

I had no idea there were so many variations on the swamp buggy. Today's events were the time trials, but the stands were pretty full. $10 each general admission wasn't too steep & the seating was right behind the starting line.

Loads of food, sun & people watching, not much shade.

1  Thank 00vette48306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Went to the races with my brother and sister-in-law last year, the first time any of us went. They had a ton of food and beverages on hand ( BBQ and cold beer). A lot of things for the kiddies to check on. The races were great watching the buggies trying to go around a track that had some deep pits where all that was above water were the drivers. The buggies were all types little jeeps up to huge home made vehicles. Check the weather if you go as there is not a whole lot of cover and it was really warm when we went, bring hats or something. We are planning to go again in couple of weeks, Jan. 28-29 2017

2  Thank buster1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Great Redneck Fun in Naples! If you ever want to see Florida like it used to be, go see the Swamp Buggies at least once, then get back into your 4x4 and head down to Everglades City for a beer and gator bites! Be a Florida Cracker for a day and skip 5th Avenue for a change.

3  Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews