We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky stop”
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 March 2018

On an afternoon trip to a garden centre we stopped, on the spur, at 'The Sun. ' Being on the geriatric end of the age spectrum we ordered from the Light Bite menu. Each made a different choice and the meals were freshly cooked and well-presented. They were generous helpings for light bites so, as we had our greedy eyes on the dessert menu, we failed to finish, which was no criticism of the first course. A memorable and worthwhile visit. We never got to the garden centre. Back home instead, maybe for a nap?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yorkryans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi,


I hope you find the garden centre next time. Coincidentally someone left their teeth behind on the same day as your visit, please feel free to return at your leisure to try them on.


In all seriousness, thank you for your kind words. They make our day and we'd love to have you back - with or without your teeth.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2018

.Mothering Sunday lunch. Myself and my 3 daughters , actually our 3rd mothering Sunday lunch here at The Sun. Sunday lunch is my favourite meal of the week, and this has to be the best Sunday lunch I have had in a long time. Restaurant was packed and was a bit of a wait for our courses but it was definitely worth it. We had the 3 course set menu and we chose some different options and none of us were disappointed, Brilliant.

Thank Gaynor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Called in on the off chance on a Tuesday Lunch time with Mother, Hubby & 2year old son
.

Lovely clean, warm & welcoming atmosphere.

Good menu on offer, Childs menu had good choices & lite bites too.

Husband had pie of the day that would have fed 3 people, Mother & I went for lite bite fish & chips, again, big portion sizes. Even the child’s meal would have fed an adult.

Lovely wine & real ale. Overall a happy visit & will be back

Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thanks Lorna - great to hear you had a good visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Visited on a week day lunchtime. The pub was quiet. Very inviting with a log fire. Friendly staff. Quick service. Delicious & plentiful food. Would visit again.

Thank kaytla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thanks very much! Glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon...........

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Sunday lunch 7/1/18
Food was fantastic, service excellent , ambience perfect .

We will be going back again

Thank westwalestravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thankyou so much for your concise and excellent review!! Look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Whitchurch, Shropshire
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 
Ellesmere, Shropshire
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 
Ellesmere, Shropshire
Hanmer, Wrexham County
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing