We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
96
77
28
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
77
28
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool lincoln road breakfast ends free breakfast well equipped kitchen kids loved the pool breakfast staff awesome rooftop sofa bed south beach within walking distance nice hotel morning breakfast yogurt close to shops room price the breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

I recently stayed at this hotel with family for two nights. Upon arrival, we left the car in the valet parking which was fine. It was rather expensive, however, we accepted that because of location and paid for it. You can take the car out as many times as you like 24 hours a day which is a nice touch. Mobile check-in facilities for this hotel on Marriott's was a nice touch, it made checking in easier and a similar experience to what we have recently had at Hilton and other brands. Something to check out if you are looking to stay with Marriott.
The room we booked was a family room with two queen beds and had a patio connected onto it. We we excited about having a patio and paid extra to have this functionality as the trip to Miami was to celebrate an important birthday. We were extremely disappointed when we went to our room on the second floor (room 218). The patio was not levelled properly meaning when there was even a hint of rain, a massive puddle would be right outside the patio door, making it impossible to go outside without rain water being walked in. This also attracted ants to the patio, making it impossible to enjoy the patio as we wished we could. There is also extensive construction work making it very hard for you to sleep past 6am, and they have a direct view into the hotel rooms and patio, again, making the patio unusable for most of the day until they go home. If we had known this before, we probably wouldn't have stayed it and would've saved our money by going elsewhere.
Location of the hotel is pretty good, it is in walking distance to Lincoln Road and the mall that is there. It also has restaurants such as; Pizza Hut, Dunkin' Donuts and more within a 10 minute walk so if you want something different from what the hotel offers, there is good options available.
Ammenties such as; WiFi and swimming pool were good. WiFi was very fast, and faster than what I have had used in Hiltons and other hotel brands in the US. There is no need to buy the faster broadband as most people will be fine with what the normal internet offers. The swimming pool on the roof was quite good, it opens at sunrise and closes at sunset which means that there is no specific opening hours as it changes throughout the year. Breakfast was very average, definitely not the best we have had at hotels in Florida or the US, however, it did the job and most people could find something they like.
The staff were friendly, however, some only speak Spanish and not English which I did not find helpful in an English speaking country. I would've expected in a major hotel chain to have at least all staff that spoke English.
Definitely would not recommend this hotel for the price, especially not the patio rooms. You could do a lot better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 218 if you are getting a patio room - patio not level and will cause havoc plus there is a lot of construction work
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robjohnson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Robjohnson123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable experience. From your recent feedback, we were disappointed to learn that our hotel fell short of those expectations. We would like to take this time to apologize for the noise disturbance caused by the renovations taking place at our hotel. We would also like to apologize for the issues you encountered with your room. Your comments have been noted and we will get together with the appropriate team to address these issues as soon as possible. Thank you so much for being our guest. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance to better serve you the next time your travels bring you to our area. Safe Travels!

Warmest Regards,
Doris Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

major construction projects in the area. we couldnt sleep in the room after 6:30 in the morning. So if people want to get up at 6 in the morning then this hotel is okay. Service at reception is not good.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gudlaugur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Gudlaugur G,

We were disappointed to see your feedback and hope you will accept our apologies for any problems that occurred. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. We value your business, and the next time you are here, we will more than make up for the shortcomings of this visit. We do hope you will consider staying with us again whenever your travels bring you this way.

Warmest Regards,
Doris Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel if nothing comes up. We were a group in 5 rooms, 3 rooms were booked through hotels.com and were so called "Suite with city view". On the pictures on Hotels.com the rooms were with a small terrace. Upon arrival we realised we were not getting any balconies or terrace at all, instead we got the view you can see in the photos. The constructions started early in the morning so if you want to get up at 6 in the morning, this is the right place. The entire staff was lovely until we had to speak to the manager on shift, she had no interest in helping us or doing anything at all for us.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Mobile747243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your recent visit to the area and for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the service you received, the inconvenience caused by construction, and your disappointment with your room. We were disappointed to read we did not live up to our typical standards, and as a result your stay was anything less than exceptional. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering excellent service and accommodations.

Warmest Regards,
Doris Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

The hotel is located near the end of Lincoln Road Mall, so you will reach the beach at the other end of this pedestrian shopping road and probably spend a lot of money in some of the shops a long the way. We stayed at Residence Inn Miami Beach South Beach for two nights before a cruise, and it's a fairly new hotel, so the rooms are large and nice, and there is also a very nice pool on the rooftop, where you will have a magnificent view. The breakfast is OK, according to American standards, but far from a Hilton breakfast. You will also find many nice restaurants nearby and my favorite was The Yardhouse, where you can also choose from more than 100 beers on tap.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bass63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Bass63,

Thank you for being our guest at Residence Inn Miami Beach South Beach. We are delighted to know our location was perfect for your needs and that you were impressed with our top-notch service and facilities. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Doris Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

It almost unbelievable that after a few months after this recently opened new hotel, the facilities are so neglected and so dirty. We needed to stay there for a few days and the room that was assigned was in a really poor hygienic condition as shown in the pictures. We asked to be moved to another one but as the change was not so improving we decided to remain with all our belongings in the same room. It is sad to see how new brand facilities are not well kept as I say approximately less than a year of its inauguration.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Solcito63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Solcito63

We would like to offer you our sincerest apologies for our hotel not living up to your expectations during your stay. We do not take cleanliness issues lightly, and we will be addressing this with our head of housekeeping. We have checks and balances in place to double inspect every suite before a guest checks in, or returns back to their suite. We are redoubling our efforts to make sure we adhere to these procedures. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future to provide you with a much better stay.

Warmest Regards,
Doris Diaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews