We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Seas Hotel
Ranked #102 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
NYC
1 review
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

South Seas Hotel was beyond expectations and made our Miami experience so memorable. A great location, nice room, breakfast included, parking available, a terrific pool, right on the beach, reasonably priced - what could be better?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    593
    312
    138
    94
See reviews for
432
443
70
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Nice hotel, wasn't anything close to the Ocean Point Suites we stayed at in Key Largo but it did the job. Nice pool. Nice breakfast. Restaurant/bar on the property called "Pilikia by the Pool" has the best, I repeat, the best Mahi Mahi on the planet. $21. Chef Mark Fisher really knows his fish. That was worth the stay. Room was nice but kinda blah. Everything white washed. Has safe in room but not big enough for a laptop. IF YOU RENT A CAR, PREPARE TO PAY THIRTY BUCKS A NIGHT TO USE THEIR VALET PARKING, THERE IS NO OTHER PLACE TO PARK BUT IN PARKING GARAGES THAT ARE 2 BLOCKS AWAY. Right on the beach but they charge you to use the umbrella ($10) and chairs ($5) each. Water at the beach is awesome to swim in. Clear water, very little debris. Staff running around everywhere at hotel. A/C in room worked great. Can't rent movies on demand in the room. Has tiki bar at pool and hammocks on the property. Mostly hotels on this main street. There is a shopping and eating district within walking distance. Overall it was nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Nice continental breakfast, great pool, somewhat disappointed to shell out $30 for an umbrella and two chairs on the beach, which is right behind the pool after crossing the boardwalk.
Staff are helpful, bathroom is not very clean, room is small but good enough for sleeping, wish the beds were queen size as I am fairly tall.
Price is not cheap but what can you say, it's South Beach, you know you have to empty out your piggy bank.

Room Tip: Try to get room way from the street but not even numbers as those rooms face onto the trash bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hot_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I booked a room for me, my wife and my 10 year old daughter. It cost somewhere north of $300 and for that we got a room that you couldn't swing a dead cat in with a panoramic view of a wall; two "Queen" beds - (for midget queens) and a grade school buffet breakfast complete with paper plates and plastic cutlery.
But wait. That's not all. In order to save myself the 'hassle' and potential damage to my car from parking on the street (right around the corner) it was recommended that I avail myself of the 'valet' parking (for a mere $28/night) Well, being a cautious fellow I handed my keys over to their driver. But wait! Where's my iphone? Oh, I left it in the drink holder - but that's ok - it's in good hands, going to the garage with the hotel's trusty employee...I'll just get it in the morning...right?
You guessed it - car returned in the morning without iPhone. When challenged the friendly carpark man gestured to a sign on the valet podium stating "you're screwed"...well, in other words...to the effect that they are not responsible for items left in car. Strange. I thought that was the point. As an added kick in the butt, the hotel was then quite adamant that the valet service has no relation to the hotel. I guess I just assumed that it was part of the hotel as they have a podium on the front porch of the building and address you as soon as you step up to the doors. Silly of me. Now of course I can't prove that my phone was in the car - and I can't prove that the valet took it ... (that's my legal disclaimer)
After the fact they sent me a customer satisfaction survey. I filled it out - with my complaints - rather unemotionally in my opinion...and they didn't respond. Nada.
Do I recommend the South Seas Hotel? Too bad you can't give 'no' star.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tondalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Thank you for your solitation. My experience at the South Seas Hotel was not at all pleasent. To begin, the rooms and hallways had a very bad odor, like smelly feet. The toilet in my room, number 212, had to be plunged at least three (3) times, the television had to be fixed by maintenence because of fuzziness, and the rooms were very small and not very modern or attractive at all. The lighting in the Hallways is also darker than better hotels, I assume to hide the dirty carpeting. On our third day at South Seas, we requested more clean towels and one of them came with a hair on it. The pictures in the advertisement are very misleading; These photos show rooms with ample space. The toilet in my bathroom was so close to the door I kept hitting my knee on it. I regret not asking to see the room I was to stay in in advance because there is no way I would have chosen to stay there. This hotel is more like a Motel 6 with very attractive lobbies. One time I chose to take the stairs instead of the elevator and there was a dead roach approximately two (2) inches long lying on it's back there to greet me. Within the first 20 minutes of my arrival I called the front desk and requested a refund, If I am going to spend nearly $200 to stay in a hotel, I would happily pay the money to stay somewhere where my patronage is reciprocated. I will NEVER stay at the South Seas hotel again, and I will be sure to advise others to do the same.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before acceping it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thetravelerin212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#86 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#38 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,299 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#128 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Sagamore
#76 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Property: South Seas Hotel
Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $233 - $501
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas
South Seas Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing