We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All about the glam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #171 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“All about the glam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My wife and children were there for just one night pre-cruise. My kid's mouths dropped on seeing the crowds, the beach, the decor. They thought they were in a movie set. If you've read other reviews you know that this is no luxury hotel: it's very modest. But it's got all this 1930's feel to it that makes it really fun to be there. The staff was friendly and helpful in every respect: beach towels, a place to keep bags before check-in, even umbrellas during a downpour. Rooms were fine and were a lot quieter than we expected. We were a little disconcerted to find a female guest passed out in the hallway early in the morning, but my kids thought it was funny and pinned a note to her that said "Get better friends!".
There's probably no better location on Miami Beach. We'll be back!

Room Tip: we had quieter rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BROC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review - we are pleased to hear staff was accomodating and that your family had a good time! I was concerned to read about the women passed out in the hallway, yet not surprised since you get a lot of that in South Beach - your kids have a very good humor, I could not stop laughing from reading the message they left her on the note!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    263
    247
    141
    171
See reviews for
148
384
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed here last July 2011. We stayed for 4 nights. 4 guys just there for a good time. The location is basically the only attraction to this hotel. Its right on the beach and near a lot of restaurants. But the customer service is terrible. The guy behind the desk seemed uninterested and half asleep. Theres no safe in your room either which was a big deal for us as we have passports and a lot of cash traveling from Ireland. So we had to use the safe behind reception each day which was annoying. There is no pool either although the beach is across the road. Theres a bar in the hotel but that is a complete rip off, however most things in miami are. The rooms are very small and basic. Probably wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmlynch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry that the Front Desk person you encountered seemed uninterested, please contact me at sales@thekenthotel.com and let me know the details of your stay, specifically which room you were in - I'm concerned about the safe situation since all of the rooms at the property should have an In-Room safe, and from your comments yours did not seem to have one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My friends and I booked two rooms there over this past weekend for an event that was happening on South Beach. We checked in on Thursday, and by Saturday there still hadn't been any housekeeping! We had to specifically request for someone to clean our rooms, which is unacceptable in itself. We also had to seek out housekeeping daily for clean towels and washcloths. We also experienced a WATERBUG infestation in one of the rooms. After much complaining, we were finally moved to a room across the hall (it was our last day not to mention). In order to be moved to the other room across the hall, we had to wait for the occupants there to leave. They requested and was granted late check-out, and still hadn't left by 12:30. We had to leave our bags with the front desk clerk, who was very helpful by the way, because they ( the occupants) were not adhering to any time constraints. On our last day, given all the trouble we'd encountered, plus a long night before, we requested a late check-out. I was told that I could not have a late check-out and that we needed to be gone by 11:00am! He said that people were waiting and he could not accommodate us. But we had to wait for the prior occupants because they had been accommodated. What was the difference? We were waiting on their room, but they were not rushed. And we should not have been either. Perhaps the most disturbing, was the behavior of the General Manager, Carrie Lage. On the only day that we received housekeeping, our event tickets were STOLEN from our room! When I bought this to the attention of the front desk clerk, he called the housekeeper who denied it obviously, and then the General Manager. The manager, Carrie Lage, informed the front desk that she would not refund our money for the tickets and also expressed her disbelief in our credibility! I could not make this up. I asked to speak with her via telephone since she was already speaking to the clerk. She said that she couldn't speak to me because she was busy!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So I asked when she would be returning so that I could discuss this with her in person, and I was told the next day from 9-5pm. (Oh, let's not forget to add that the police were called to the hotel and a police report was taken.) I left the hotel right before 1pm the following day, but before I did I requested to speak with Ms. Lage. I was told she was not there yet (I believe she was in the hotel now, due to what happens later). I was then told that she came in at 3pm and left at 5pm. She had not tried to address this serious matter that happened in her hotel at all. On our final day, at check-out, I tried to speak to her one last time. The front desk clerk that was on duty that day, went to get her to come out, and he said to me verbatim, "She's not gonna talk to you about the incident that happened the other day." I asked him to repeat it because I could not believe my ears. So I asked him if she specifically said that she had no intention of talking to a guest that may have had a crime happen to them, and he said, "Yes." No one could furnish me with any information for her boss. I am going to report this hotel to the Better Business Bureau, the Chamber of Commerce, and whomever else needs to be notified about the egregious behavior of this business, including but not limited to the Department of Justice. As as result of the unprofessionalism of this hotel, my friends and I had to pay a large amount at the door for the events that we planned to attend. There is NOTHING that could ever make me stay at this hotel ever again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Especially if you don't want your things taken or like WaterBugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffany j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I booked Colony Hotel through Expedia. I canceled the hotel 2 days before my stay and they did not want to reimburse me. The manager never called me back. My friends are going next weeks to Miami and I told my friends not to book this hotel because of very bad customer service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelli06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Michelli, this does not sound like you spoke to any employee of the hotel, I manage the Sales for the Colony Hotel and I'm usually the person whom is in charge of making this type of decision, if you called to cancel 2 days prior to your arrival then Expedia/Hotels.com does not even need to get permission from the hotel to cancel your reservation and refund you, they have a 24 hour cancellation policy with the hotel, you could have canceled the day before arrival and still should have received a refund - please contact me at sales@thekenthotel.com or 305-604-5068 extension 3010, I would like to contact Expedia/Hotels.com on your behalf so that we can have your reservation refunded as I'm sure the hotel has not charged Expedia/Hotels.com for your booking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed @ the Colony March 30th & 31st, 2 night pre cruise stay. Our 1st impression walking in was it was so clean. We were about 2 hours early checking in & Carlos was wonderful. He kept our luggage & suggested lunch. There were 6 of us, had 2 rooms & a lot of luggage. We took his suggestion & when we came back both rooms were ready. The rooms are small but we are cruisers so it did not bother us. We were in South Beach & new we would not be in the room much. We were there for the location & So Be experience,
The rooms were so clean. Housekeeping really keeps the hotel up well. There is so much to see in the area & we felt safe. We walked to South Point to see the ships leave, walked the beach & of course Ocean Drive!!
The hotel offers breakfast ($5.75 pp) but next to the hotel is Johnny Rockets. Johnny Rockets has a $1.99 special, they may not have the banner up but it was perfect for us. Just ask them. It even includes coffee or OJ (pancake, egg, sausauge or bacon with drink). Our 1st breakfast was $70 for 6 our second breakfast came to $14 after hearing about the special. Huge difference.
Be ready to pay for drinks. Be cautious of buy 1 get 1 free. I spent $25 for my Corona on Ocean Drive. Our $10 pp lunch became very expensive. If you forget anything there is a Walgreeens on 5th street. Less than a 5 minute walk.
We would stay here again, no doubt. Unfortunately there is no pool but you can not beat the value here. Talk to the staff @ check in get the inside scoop.

Room Tip: Johnny Rockets for breakfast next door. They open @ 9am & ask for the $1.99 special!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2peaches_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for the good review, very helpful tips on dining as well, I'm shocked to hear about your $25 Corona, please let us know in the future where it was purchased so everyone else can avoid it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#166 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 km away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#188 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#101 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
0.0 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#52 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $161 - $483
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach
The Colony Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing