We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #87 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Staff, Great Location”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I took my 88 year old mom here. We were as welcome as the "party animals". We couldn't walk out the hotel w/out someone helping my mom, with her cane, down the stairs. Every where we went on the grounds, they treated here like their mom.

One man, in particular, actually called her "mommy". It was Robert on the roof top pool. He reserved the only rooftop bed that was higher than the rest so it was easier for my mom to get in and out of it. He re-arranged the umbrella every hour or so, so that her face could be in the shade. He brought her water, helped her in and out of the bed, and in and out of the pool. He was beyond friendly and helpful. Robert may be the best "service person" I've ever met in a hotel.

The lap pool in the other building was fantastic. The beach club (1 1/2 blocks away) was great. Even there, you couldn't beat the service. The beach club had a golf cart. They picked up my mom and me, in the golf cart from the beach, and took us to the street. For an 88 year old woman with a cane, that was a HUGE help!

The sushi at Kung Fu Sushi was as fresh as could be. I've had sushi everywhere, including Japan, and you can't beat what they have there.

The wait staff at Maxine's was amazing.

Our room (we had the El Grande Suite) was great. The art deco furnishings were just what we wanted in south beach. In fact, the furnishings in every building (there are 3 of them), were art-deco-perfect.

EVERYTHING about this place was just terrific. I'm 57, and if I can have a great time with my 88 year old mom, well, EVERYONE is welcome here. Partying, or not, you will feel like family.

And, you are a very short walk from Lincoln Mall, a great pedestrian mall FILLED with shops and restaurants, and great people watching.

We booked this hotel at virtually the last minute. But we couldn't have been happier. 5 STARS!!!

Room Tip: We were in a room right under the roof top pool. One nite they had a private party which was a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mshulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,707
    1,323
    660
    356
    529
See reviews for
502
1,423
368
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Robert at the pool was the best. Always provided good service. Made our trip special. Friendly, attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Wow what can I say, we were walked over to The Catalina hotel after a mistake done by my travel agent, I have read comments about htis hotel before so i was a bit skeptical at first.. but we gave it a shot! and it was such a lovely experience. Tha bamboo garden at Maxines was everything I needed and more! so secluded and clean! Elvin pool atendant was so great with us! so informative!! he was so attentive to us i felt as if i was in a 5 star hotel! Our room was a bit dark but when calling customer service, Jose was a fresh of breath air! This individual put the icing on the cake for us! His voice and attention to detail was by far the best I have ever heard in my years of visiting hotels! He was so kind, informative, and pleasant! if you need anything while your stay there please ask for him he will make sure you get whatever you need to make your stay happy. This has ben my favorite stay at South Beach Fl. EVER! stay stay stay!!!!!

Room Tip: Maxine building has the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Great location, clean room, friendly staff, only stayed 1 night and didn't get to use the facilities but really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: we were in 103 right next to the bar, the noise did not bother us but if you'd prefer ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashmeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinarelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your positive feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy all of the wonderful amenities that we have to offer. Perhaps next time you come you will have some more time to enjoy yourself with our amenities. We hope to see you soon!

Have an amazing evening!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We spent a night here and had a great time. Room was clean, neat, and quiet. Hallways were a little dingy. Great location- walked to the strip and walked a block to the beach. Good restaurant right on premises and tasty bagels. We'd go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinarelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Good Afternoon Sallie,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your positive feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read. I am extremely happy to hear that you had a great time while staying with us! We are working on improving our hallways and adding a bit more lighting to them so they are brighter. The bagels that we have down stairs are so yummy! I get them all the time! :) We can't wait to see you again!

Have an amazing day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#75 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,181 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Croydon
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,840 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,347 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $137 - $475
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing