We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it ! ”
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #73 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

First time stay, lovely decor and extremely friendly staff (especially front desk receptionist Cristina!) I loved her,
She was so informative and helpful. Includes: complementary breakfast buffet everyday. Yoga mats, beach towel and bag, cable tv, modern bathrooms, small yet cozy pools and bar inside. Ocean drive and beach just two short blocks away. The pool is open till midnight for a little after hours fun. They provide robes and extra towels. Shops and restaurants are all in the neighborhood. I recommend this hotel to everyone, family friendly also romantic for couples. Will be visiting again next year!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MniWiconi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla S, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear MniWiconi13,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and yours to the sun and sand of South Beach and to elegance of Hotel Astor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything that we offer here at Hotel Astor even down to our staff, Cristine is a gem and we are happy she left a lasting impression on you! Please come see us again when your travels bring you back our way.

Sunny Regards,

Kayla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2017

I was a first time visitor to South beach and so pleased I found this lovely little hotel online. The location and presentation of the room were great but what made it for me was how lovely the staff were especially the barman in the hotel bar where you get 2 free drink tokens upon arrival.

When I come back to Miami I will definitely be coming back to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vernon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla S, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Greetings Vernon B,

It was a pleasure to welcome you, and we thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re elated that you enjoyed our luxurious guest rooms and that our Hotel Astor colleagues made sure your time was memorable. Once more, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to hosting you again.

All the best,

Kayla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We arrived at around 10am and although we couldn't check in until 3pm, the reception staff were happy to take our bags so that we could hit the beach. They also did this the day we checked out too which was massively appreciated and really helped! You also get a free drinks token upon arrival.

Rooms are bright, airy and very clean (even when your window faces a wall like ours did). Very long corridors seemed a little eery at first but thats what you get with a historical building like this. Bathrooms are modern, clean and filled with soaps, lotions and plenty of towels.

One FANTASTIC addition - they provide a tote bag with beach towels and yoga mats so you are good to go asap! We took these to a 7am beach yoga session which was free of charge and only a 10-15 minute walk away. Real highlight of our two day trip to Miami.

The location is just two blocks from the beach (a 5-7 minute walk) and right near all of the famous art deco buildings and nightlife but also just far enough away from the nightlife that it doesn't disturb you when you finally want to go to sleep.

I didn't use the little pool but it looked nice and clean. I read a lot of reviews complaining that the two, free to hire, bikes were never available but they were visible at the front of the building the entire time we stayed.

Breakfast was good. Not a massive selection but there was waffle irons, toast, bagels, cheese, ham, fruit, cereal etc. along with a good selection of juices, teas and coffees.

Only downside to this hotel was that both nights we returned and wanted to grab a drink but the bar staff had wandered off and took 20-30 minutes to return, if at all! Really small thing but it was disappointing. We will definitely be returning to explore Miami some more and very likely to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebeca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla S, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Rebeca L,

Greetings from South Beach. It was a pleasure to host you on your recent visit and we hope to see you again one day soon. We appreciate your kind review, especially your comments regarding all the amenities we offer here at Hotel Astor. We are thrilled you felt comfortable in our guest rooms and we appreciate your added compliments regarding breakfast. Once more, it was a joy to serve as your home-base while in Miami and we invite you to come join us again soon.

Sunny Regards,

Kayla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

as soonest you get in into the hotel, is like go back to the 50´s beatifull desing. near to the beach; to the collins ave and the lincoln rd; the room perfcet size; it really like me! the employ excelent.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank roquearg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla S, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Greetings roquearg2017,

We wish you could return tomorrow! Thank you for the wonderful review, it was a delight to provide you with such a memorable South Beach experience. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Warm Regards,

Kayla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I usually stays at Hotel Astor because of the amazing service, convenience and the cleanliness of the room. This time I am deeply disappointed with the level of service. My room isn't ready until 4pm. The Cable TV isn't working and front desk not very friendly or shows she cared. The wifi isn't working and I had to connect to other rooms Wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuei1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla S, Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Kuei1982,

It was a pleasure to welcome you Hotel Astor and a delight to know you are a repeat guest. I am deeply sadden that your return was not at the level of service that Hotel Astor strides for. We apologize that we were not able to fix your issues prior to departing and to learn that your room was not ready until 4 pm. Once more, it was a pleasure to welcome you to South Beach and should you ever return, we’d be happy to welcome you again and to make sure that your experience is above and beyond.

Warm Regards,

Kayla S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,418 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#68 of 214 in Miami Beach
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Paseo Hotel
#24 of 214 in Miami Beach
464 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#61 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,602 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#99 of 214 in Miami Beach
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: 956 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $184 - $2,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic Art deco True Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Miami beach. Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. Famous and well known by the locals the Hotel Astor has been part of the community from the beginning and is also home to the Astor Social Club. The 42-room hotel has been completely redecorated in March 2016 bringing back the glamorous Miami Beach days of the 40's and 50's. Classic deco features mixed in with modern features colors and design. More simple but with a true soul unlike its flashier competitors. The expansive lobby has a terrazzo floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. The average size rooms 325SQFT and all the amenities and services of what is expected from a deluxe hotel. Ensuite bathrooms, laptop size room safes , minibar, top of the range linen and towels. The Terrace bar is another meeting point for the hotel. The location of the hotel is second to none , 2 blocks from the beach surrounded by shops , restaurants and miami beach famous nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Miami Beach
Astor Miami Beach
Hotel Astor Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing