We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off”
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #51 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
PHILADELPHIA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Upon checking in we were informed there would be a $25 charge per person for such items as beach bowels, umbrellas and WIFI. We experienced wind and rain during the entire stay so could not use the beach and the WIFI was not in service,
The room was all right re decoration but there were no lamps available for reading while in bed.
Never saw that before,
The location was the only positive thing about the Hotel Astor

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lta791, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Astor and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thanks as well for your comments regarding our location and rooms. The Hotel Astor has some of the largest rooms (and bathrooms) on South Beach. We are also constantly updating the furniture to improve the look and feel of each room. Our "Service/ Resort" fee is $15 per night, per room (not $25) and these fees are standard on South Beach. They cover free wifi, beach towels, beach chairs, etc... We apologize if you were not able to take full advantage of these services due to the weather or other issues. Thanks again for staying with us.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    328
    151
    85
    84
See reviews for
156
417
80
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I will resume: they gave me the worst room in the hotel. Shower didnt work, air conditioned with a lot of trouble, old scholl classic key room... In the middle of the trip they moved me to a very nice room, although very bright because has no shades, so I woke up very early everyday (vacations). But the worst part: no internet as I saw bere hand on the website. What a struggle, I coundt work as I need, etc...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielfontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lta791, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Astor. From reading your review it seems you were not satisfied with the room you were originally assigned and were then upgraded to a better room. There was also an issue with the WiFi and unfortunately that is something we cannot always control (we make every effort to solve the problem on our end but sometimes it's an area wide outage that only the service provider can repair). We apologize for any inconvenience and we will do our best to make sure these types of things don't happen again in the future.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we waited about 15 minutes for the valet to come take our car. When checking in (just before the check in time of 4:00 on a Friday during an event weekend) there was one person at the desk. I waited just about 20 minutes to check in. Once we got into the room it got worse!!! The shower was leaking. Mirror in bathroom was really dirty!!! There was an underwear sticker on the wall. The ice bucket looked like there was dirt in it. After going out for the night we go to bed. During the night the phone rings...front desk calling the wrong room. Then about 10 minutes later someone was banging on the door. Again it was the morons that work there coming to the wrong room. Next day other friends came (bachelorette party) & when they checked in the room they gave them had no A/C. They didn't want to refund the money & offered the sister hotel. Being it was a get together of course we all wanted to stay in the same hotel!!! Eventually after arguing with the jerk at the front gave them their money back. A couple days later a friend that had another room realized they charged her on 2 credits cards for 2 rooms. Again had to argue to get the correction. Trust me NEVER stay here!!!! Dirty & the worst service I have ever seen!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana8583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lta791, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Astor. As you can see from many other reviews here and in every other website, most people are very happy with our staff and many return guests even remember their names (most employees have worked here for over 6 years). They really do make every effort to help guests whenever possible and at times go above and beyond to resolve a problem. We try to take every guest review as constructive criticism that leads to overall improvement but I don't see how insults and derogatory language are in any way helpful to us or other readers.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Mediocrity is an overstatement. The small front desk with 1 employee caused a long wait. the rooms were lacking a lot of technology, INCLUDING light. Getting ready caused a problem as lamps were the only thing inthe bedroom/common space. Though spacious, it was poorly decorated and made it seem very cold. Beds were uncomfortable, and did not seem as clean as I would have liked. NO pool or outdoor area. The perk: a short walk to the beach. the service was friendly. Unlikely to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lta791, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Hotel Astor and we appreciate your feedback. We understand that we didn't meet your expectations and we're sorry you feel this way. The Hotel Astor is a boutique Art Deco hotel that prides itself on maintaining it's historical look and feel. We do provide guests with free WiFi, flat-screen televisions, electronic safes, and all the other amenities you would find in a hotel of our standard. We are constantly trying to update and improve the hotel and will continue to do so. Thanks again for staying with us and we appreciate your business.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Andres at the front desk made our stay top notch. As usual, its the little things. Hotel was clean and easy. Good location for eats, shopping, fun spots, beach. Good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lta791, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Luke,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Astor and we appreciate your feedback. Our staff is second to none and they always try to help guests with anything they need. We're happy to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel, staff, and location and we look forward to serving you again in the future.Thanks again for your business.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.7 km away
El Paseo Hotel
El Paseo Hotel
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
377 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#76 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,187 reviews
0.3 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#75 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,230 reviews
0.2 km away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#86 of 208 in Miami Beach
751 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Property: Hotel Astor
Address: 956 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $151 - $635
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic Art deco True Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Miami beach. Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. Famous and well known by the locals the Hotel Astor has been part of the community from the beginning and is also home to the Astor Social Club. The 42-room hotel has been completely redecorated in March 2016 bringing back the glamorous Miami Beach days of the 40's and 50's. Classic deco features mixed in with modern features colors and design. More simple but with a true soul unlike its flashier competitors. The expansive lobby has a terrazzo floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. The average size rooms 325SQFT and all the amenities and services of what is expected from a deluxe hotel. Ensuite bathrooms, laptop size room safes , minibar, top of the range linen and towels. The Terrace bar is another meeting point for the hotel. The location of the hotel is second to none , 2 blocks from the beach surrounded by shops , restaurants and miami beach famous nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Miami Beach
Astor Miami Beach
Hotel Astor Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing