We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Ranked #140 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I came back from The Congress Hotel June of 2011. I never wrote a review, but I will now. What an incredible location in South Beach! It is located right next to the Cleavlander, and across the street from the beach on Ocean Drive, you couldn't ask for a more prime location than that. There is a 12.50 resort fee but there is value in it. You receive breakfast and lounge chairs on the beach. Room was ready when I checked in at 6PM. The hallways looked very old and that kind of scared me while i was walking up to my room. The room was very nice though, just as I expected it to look from pictures online. My view was the building next to me and the walkway to the front desk area. Breakfast was really good every morning (service not so good. Took at least 20 minutes for someone to take our order)

Tip: Daniel is an awesome bellboy/handy man- Pretty much made our stay wonderful.
Also, Jr. Suites are only king bedding. Be aware that you cant get two beds at this hotel in one room.

Cons: French balcony (very very small balcony) our door was broken during our stay. We closed it, and when we came back to the room, the door just pushed open. nothing was taken from the room, and Daniel promptly came up and fixed the problem

If your sliding door is open at night, it can be very noisy but don't forget you are in South Beach where all the parties are!

Overall thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Congress. I would definitely recommend this hotel and definitely return to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Suites at Congress Ocean Drive, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you so much the wonderfull 4 & 5 star review and for staying with us.

We are so grateful for your feedback, please note that the Congress Hotel offers now up to 15 double double bed rooms. We thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Feel free to contact me direclty for your next trip!

Best regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    381
    196
    147
    134
See reviews for
175
500
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

So as other customers complained, we arrived at 12 noon, official check - in time 4, I had already requested that if it is possible please check us in early. I even saw several guests checking out. But after our 3 night stay we discovered that this was all dude to the staff being insufficient , either there is no proper head count and they should work on hiring more people.
We decided to check out the pool and the beach, there is no place to change so we were sent to the toilet on the rooftop near the pool. Filthy toilet, i almost cried, as the toilet wasnt even flushed, and there was no service member at the roof top bar. The only good thing about the bar is their friendly bartender who did her best to be helpful and gave us tips about the area. Besides that the front desk lady was extremely rude, unpolite and unprofessional.
I have stayed at hotels all over the world and they focus on superior customer service, this hotel is only thriving because of its fabulous location and nothing else.
they made us wait for 4 hours of what seemed like an eternity to prepare our room , and it was almost a hundred degrees outside, the least they couldve done wouldve been to call and inform us that they are working on our room, infac at one point when i went up at the front desk, she completely ignored me
The breakfast coupons are such a scam , u can only order a limited menu which is pretty much a serving of scrambled eggs OR pancakes OR an omelet with a piece of toast and coffee
The staff at the beach and the bellman were helpful and nice
apart from that getting towels at the front desk again was a mission. One time we had to wait to ask for a towel for 20 minutes, because the female at the front desk was busy talking about her manisure with a guest, and then obviously my husband gave it to her that how unprofessional are you you have a guest standing here , waiting for a towel while u completely ignore him. Front desk peple need to get their act straight.
Please expect the place to be noisy, its a good party environment so if you want a quieter place, this is definately not the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Suites at Congress Ocean Drive, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your recent experience at The Congress Hotel. We are deeply sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent visit to our hotel.

We pride ourselves at The Congress Hotel South Beach in offering bespoke service at the highest standards. Please allow us the opportunity of discussing your comments further so that we can examine the issues which you have noted. We hope that you will reach out to us directly. Our email address is cbono@congresshotelsouthbeach.com

Best regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed with two other guests at the Congress Hotel for the SoBe Food and Wine Festival. I saw some of the other reviews commenting about the service, but we had a really great experience. I thought the room was clean and well provisioned and the view was amazing. When we asked for some additional wine glasses they were promptly delivered. There was a bellhop that was always attentive and would welcome us every time we returned. Given the attitude at some other hotels I thought it was really refreshing.

On 13th street you're really in the absolute middle of the beach and you're no more than a 3-5 block walk away from most restaurants/clubs so there's going to be activity until late... especially on Friday/Saturday. Why would you want to stay on Ocean if you don't enjoy that? The nightlife was lively outside until late, but once the balcony door is shut it was quiet in the room.

I'll definitely be returning the Congress!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel is horrible starting from the rude front desk service personnel and ending on filthy rooms and lobby area. The hotel needs some major renovations and new cleaning staff as everything around is very, very dirty. There are numbers of cigarettes buds on the grounds, EVERYWHERE, even though it is suppose to be a smoke free hotel. Everyone in the swimming pool area is smoking leaving the leftover cigarets on the floor...we arrived at the hotel at 9 am in the morning and were assured that our room will be ready in few hours... We came back to the front desk at 3 pm after not receiving any call from the front desk personnel and a very rude young lady at the desk told us that we are not going to get the room before 4 pm, as stated in the hotel check in policy... Other hotels try very best to accommodate their guests, but this one clearly does not care!!! Do yourself a favor and stay at a hotel that will treat you the way you are suppose p be treated!! Waste of money! Disappointed!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edycias22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Having lived in South Beach for a few years, I love to find a hotel that is right in the heart of everything when I return for pleasure and The Congress Hotel is it. We had one of their premiere apartments with two balconies and views that were great. South Beach is a lively, vivacious place so know that going in. This is a great place to watch people and to be seen. I can't tell you how many times people waved to me when I sat on the balcony.

I am used to South Beach being loud but in all honesty, I was shocked about how quiet our apartment was, even though we had three sliding glass doors and were right below the pool which is on the roof! After partying til the wee hours in the morning, I was able to sleep like a baby. The kitchenettes were very useful, although the snack items were way overpriced, but hey, it's a hotel. The bed was very comfy. One suggestion I do have for the pool area is get a few more lunge chairs. There is quite a view up there!

Our apartment had a clean, modern look to it and wifi access was easy. It is within walking distance to just about everything. If you want an apartment that is cool and in the heart of it all, then I suggest The Congress.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting one of the apartments that are right on Ocean Drive. They are very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank New2Rehoboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,749 reviews
0.1 km away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,297 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#77 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,440 reviews
0.3 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
547 reviews
0.3 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Congress Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Congress Ocean Drive

Property: Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Congress Hotel South Beach/The Strand)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $160 - $537
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites at Congress Ocean Drive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suites at Congress Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach
Suites At Congress Ocean Drive Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing