We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary South Beach
Ranked #152 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I have to say .....I was most impressed by the very friendly and personable staff. I stay there twice a year and am treated very well. Its nice yo go back and always see the same friendly and recognizable faces ! They have nice size rooms and location is great for the convention center :)
My favorite staff members .... Juan and Augusto! Look for them ;)
Have fun

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omartorell, General Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for the positive feedback and kudos to our staff. Indeed, the majority of our staff has been with us for many years, making us less of a hotel and more of a home. Make sure you reach out to us directly for your next stay.

Warm regards,
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 539 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed for four days right after Easter. Had a pretty good stay overall. The hotel is located very close to the beach, and Lincoln Rd. on a quieter side street. It definitely had a quieter crowd staying there, which was what we were looking for. We arrived very early because of an early morning flight into Ft. Lauderdale and the front desk checked us in at about 11am which was nice. We asked for a 2nd floor room, but ended up on the first (probably due to the early check in, which was an ok trade off).

The rooms are very big for South Beach. Fully stocked wine/beverage fridge fit a lot of stuff nicely with a little rearranging. Room was clean and comfortable. There were some little things that like no hangers, a mini ironing board, and no access to ice without calling to the front desk which were inconvenient.

The first floor rooms was pretty dark, even in daytime. If we returned I'd want to make sure of having a second floor which got more sunlight. The air conditioning in the room certainly worked, maybe even too well. At times the room was very damp, which seemed to be due to the AC. The shower/toilet area was a little wacky. There was no partition/curtain dividing the shower from the toilet. It was a cool looking design, but the problem was when you actually showered, water got EVERYWHERE.

Over The Sanctuary is a good hotel to stay at if you are a couple looking for a good quiet place to stay in normally crazy South Beach. We didn't try the restaurant, but it smelled damn good. Maybe next time.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor. More sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback from your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. We have constantly been upgrading our hotel facilities to improve our guest experience. I apologize if this interfered with your stay. I am gald that you were able to take advantage of our prime location in south beach and we look forward to having you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Checked in for a 2 night stay March 2012 and was nicely surprised. Valet is across the street but they brought all of our bags in immediately. My miniature pinscher Ms. Moneypenny also felt right at home. Spacious rooms with modern living area and kitchen made it easy to enjoy an in room martini. Mp escaped into the dining room one night but everyone was very understanding. Lol fantastic restaurant by the way right in hotel. At least 5 different types of ceviche. Beds were comfy. Bathtub very deep took a while to fill but really enjoyed it after some hard shopping. Nice quiet street felt safe for walking Mp at any time. Great location, just few minutes to everything we wanted. Continental breakfast was included, good selection! Also came few min late to breakfast one day and lovely staff person made me a tray to take to our room! Bar delivered drinks and snacks to rooftop pool for happy hour no problem. That day we had it all to ourselves. Love this place! Will return in future. Thank you Sanctuary!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback from your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. We appreciate all feedback so we can continue to improve our guest's experiences. I am glad our staff was accommodating and that you were able to take advantage of our prime location in south beach. We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My initial reaction to this hotel was positive. Yes, it is a little quirky that you enter through the restaurant, but the location is great (close to Delano, Shore Club, etc) and on a quiet street. While the entrance to the hotel area is a little dark and a tad grungy (a trend that continues throughout), the room itself is quite large. I liked that it one large flat screen TV (though no HD programming) and other smaller TV in the bedroom. The living area also included a fairly functions mini kitchen where we were able to keep our drinks cold.

What you will quickly notice upon inspecting the rooms (and property throughout) is that this hotel is not just dated but tired - - clearly in need of TLC. The grout in the bathrooms are moldy, the windows are covered in paint spatter, the TP holder was hanging on for dear life and the list goes on.

A few things that really moved this hotel form "Questionable" to "Avoid" were:

- Our hotel room was skipped by room service. Upon check-out, the Ast. Manager suggested that maybe we had told them not to clear or had put the DND signup. Total BS.
- The pillow was over stuffed and hard, too much so for me to sleep on and I actually just slept with my head on the mattress. My request for a replacement was never addressed, not even a phone call to let me know there were no other options.
- Service: While one Ast. GM really did try to help, was apologetic and did try to compensate us for our problems, our experience with the rest of the statf was anything but helpful / friendly.
- When checking out, another couple came down to complain of a "massive leak" (it was a rainstorm). The Ast. GM immediately offered to discount one of their nights, as they had done with us. It became clear that this hotel's M.O. is to provide a discount when things go wrong (which I can assume is frequent) as opposed to just dealing with the root problems.

Overall: This hotel could be a fantastic destination hotel with some TLC and staff training/replacements. But, under the current circumstances, I suggest avoiding this one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrentLooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omartorell, General Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you Brent for your recent review of Sanctuary South Beach. We apologies for some of the issues you had concerning your request and your room, I have brought of these issues with the corresponding departments in order to avoid this again. As for the leak, this was an isolated incident, though this has now been fixed and will no longer effect operations. I hope you will join us again in the future; in fact, we would love to extend a preferred rate as a repeat guest. Please contact me directly at omartorell@meninhotels.com.

Regards,
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We got a suit for just over 120/night, which was good, the room was clean and lots of space. It was handy to have a small kitchen and sitting area. The shower was clean and everything worked. It was somewhat strange the set up of the hotel, all the doors to the hall way are glass so it doesn't feel as private as I would have liked and too many people staying there left their blinds open yuck. The resturant looked nice although we didn't eat there. The roof top pool is not really welcoming as they offer pool side dinning, so didn't really want to jump into the pool while a table of 8 was enjoying their meal. The location was nice and although there is a lot of construction going on around the hotel it was quite and we felt safe. I would stay and recommand to friends, but warn them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easto_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nassau Suite Hotel
Nassau Suite Hotel
#118 of 212 in Miami Beach
579 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#111 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,585 reviews
City Center
Greenview Hotel
Greenview Hotel
#163 of 212 in Miami Beach
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#35 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,637 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary South Beach

Address: 1745 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7508
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $312 - $1,368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Hotel is in an ideal South Beach setting for those who want to be away from it all but in the middle of it all. Our four star boutique hotel is located steps away from Collins Avenue, the Fillmore at Jackie Gleason Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, New World Symphony, Washington Ave., And Ocean Drive. Whether your trip is business or leisure our knowledgeable staffs will guide your South Beach experience and make sure that exceptional service is unlike any other Miami Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Sanctuary South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing