We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel deserves more credit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Five Hotel
Ranked #108 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hotel deserves more credit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I have always used Trip Advisor to look at hotels I will be staying in, but never leave any feeback...until now!!!
This hotel does not deserve the criticism that some people have given it.
Let me start from the beginning. We arrived in the early evening and was very happy to see a clean entrance and beauitful lobby with a very helpful member of staff on the front desk who explained everything to us and was very polite and friendly.
On to the bedroom and it was lovely and clean with aircon (yes was a little noisey, but once my head hits the pillow, I hear nothing). What else could I ask for? Room was spacious with a massive bed that could of fitted a family in, spotlessly clean with a lovely glass fronted shower in the bathroom and TV and Ipod docker at the end of the bed. Maids tidied the room everyday and we couldn't of been more happier.
Location was IMMENSE. Could not have been in a better place. Two minutes stroll onto the beach front, right next to Walgreens the supermarket that sold everything and I mean everything and best of all on Ocean Drive where all the bars and restaurants are. Just around the corner was Collins Street with all the 'posh' shops and Washington Avenue with more shops, fast food joints, restaurants and nighclubs. Nikki Beach was 5 streets away and Miami airport was 20 minutes away. Bus stop just around the corner where you could get the Local Sobe Bus for 25cents or the normal Miami buses for $2 that take you from South Miami to North Miami or Downtown Miami.
Honestly the only complaint I could have was that the hotel doesn't have a swimming pool, but how can I complain when I knew that before I went and also being on the beach, does it matter?!
Breakfast did make me chuckle as yes it is only jam on toast and a drink, but I see a lot of people enjoying tucking into it in a nice little restaurant along with myself. I can't comment on the evening meals as I did not eat in there!
Seriously, I got this hotel for a great week rate with my girlfriend and we were very happy with the whole holiday.
If anybody would like to know more or see pictures, then please contact me and I will be happy to help
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    291
    212
    96
    72
See reviews for
153
362
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Staff was very polite and pleasant, but all other things was terrible. For that price they are charging - too far to good. I didnt like that room wasnt clean enough and it did smell. Main reason im writting is the restaurant.. After all day walking i just wanted to go to room and maybe order some food, drinks or at least come down into it, but restaurant is close. At night time its was a little busy,but for me it was more like dinning room, just people screaming and talking loud, but in day time its closed.. I was dissapointed a little. At least it good location and incredible staff. But i wouldnt come back again. Keep searching guys, there are better places where to spend holidays.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Spent 4 days here. Arrived late and checked in quickly, The staff were fantastic and let us know what we needed. We had to go through the restaraunt to get to our rooms which was a major turn off as the place was busy and we had a lot of bags. The rooms were spacious with big beds and the toilet was fine, but the rooms really did smell. The decor was ok. Got bitten by a few mosquitos at night. The hotel was clean though.
The location is fantastic right next to beach and the strip full of bars and restraunts.Big road works outside so the bus which picked us up couldn't get around so we nearly missed it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caffattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Oh dear, where to start....

The brouchure list this as a boutique hotel. It's not, it's just small. Small doesn't mean boutique, which to me implies some sense of individuality, quirkiness etc.

The rooms smell very strongly of disinfectant if you have the air con (and in Miami in September you need it, it's very humid). So given the disinfectant smell (which implies cleanliness) imagine how we laughed at the irony of seeing a cockroach on the bed. We didn't laugh of course.

I complained to the guy at the front desk who offered a change of room or complimentary parking ($25 a night). We took the change of room unsurprisingly and were comforted that we got a room in a different buildling (the hotel is split over 2 adjacent buildings) but really I'd have expected both a new room and free parking. I couldn't be bothered to argue though as we were thankfuly staying just the one night.

What else - it claims to have free wifi but didn't, and the continental breakfast (which was included - rare for US hotels) may as well not have been: a choice of cornflakes, cheerios or white toast, some some quarters of apple and orange which looked like they'd been sitting there too long. And the orange juice was either watered down and or just the very cheap stuff.

On the plus side, you are minutes from Miami Beach, but there must be dozens of hotels that can say the same.

For what it's worth, the 2 staff we met were very nice, but that's not saying much, is it?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicdave76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

If your just looking for a bed and a place to shower this is ur place. Other than that they advertise for a continental breakfast but it's ONLY toast. You have to pay for your juice and anything additional u want on the menu. Second, the rooms are divided into two buildings, so if u need ice you have to go to the main office in another building to get it. Don't expect your room cleaned and if cleaned its not till after 3/4 it gets done.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brwnsugalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#97 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.1 km away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#72 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.1 km away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.4 km away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#179 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Five Hotel

Property: Ocean Five Hotel
Address: 436 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $191 - $387
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Five Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent Miami Beach location on Ocean Drive, in the Art Deco District, we are steps away from South Beach shopping, gourmet dining, a chic nightlife, and miles of golden Atlantic sand beaches. At the same time, here is the surprisingly tranquil area of well-known Ocean Drive, SoFi - South of Fifth. Within our Art Deco setting (origin, 1936) we welcome guests seeking an unpretentious, uncomplicated boutique hotel with attentive service. An Authentic Experience... the Essence of South Beach!Italian travertine marble floors,modern decor. Friendly and professional staff is ready to please our guests, We offer complimentary continental breakfast and WiFi Internet. Conveniently located just 20 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and 15 minutes from the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 5 Hotel
Ocean Five Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean Five
Ocean Five Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing