We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, with a great rooftop pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #20 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, with a great rooftop pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

So this was my first time to Miami Beach. My partner has been there a few times, and she wanted me to have an awesome experience. Therefore she took the time and booked us a room at The Hotel. It was money well-spent.
First, perfect location. Right on Collins Drive with an annex on Ocean. You are literally in the heart of everything, and right next to the News Cafe, a Miami staple. Second, it has good overall amenities. The hotel restaurant and bar were a little quiet, but the staff was super friendly and helpful. It also has a sizable gym and rooftop pool with an amazing view. The room was a good size, with a very comfortable bed and an awesome shower. It also has private beach access with complementary chairs. Would definitely consider staying here next time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    507
    113
    52
    23
See reviews for
142
916
99
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Webster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We only stayed one night, but we were very impressed with our room. It was very large, modern, and clean. The only complaint would be that we were in the rear building (which is closest to the beach) and on the top floor (3rd). There was some kind of air conditioning equipment nearby that created a lot of noise. Ask for a room that is not on the 3rd floor.
Do not eat at the News Cafe, which is at the entrance, but not affiliated with the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to be placed in the rear building (Ocean Ave.), do not accept a room on the 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmandile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Hotel of South Beach was amazing! Great room, location, and staff. The rooftop pool was a perfect amenity!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Anglers a year ago, but decided to try The Hotel this year. Based on two nights in each place, The Hotel has a better location, bigger rooms, a better pool and the Anglers has better service. The valet system at TH needs work. It took 30 minutes one time and 25 minutes another time to get our car. If you weren't careful, it could cause you to miss your plane. The room was great, the pool was great, the beach chairs were wonderful. I would stay again, but think about finding a ramp for my car instead of using the valet service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakapuna
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I liked the location of this hotel, the roof top pool, and the open shower was cool. What I did not like was the loud toilet, paper thin walls, ikea type furniture, dirty carpet, frosted window (can't see out), slow elevator, and every time the person above us walked it was so loud it sounded like they were going to come through the floor. The place is not bad but I would not recommend with all the other options.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fakapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#31 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#19 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 206 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#34 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $234 - $592
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing