We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #20 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

very kid friendly and the food is great
the rooftop pool is the best ever.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodManNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    506
    113
    52
    23
See reviews for
142
916
99
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

A really good hotel, at 2 minutes from Ocean Drive. Friendly staff, good service, wonderful pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudeLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We were made welcome as soon as we arrived and informed that we had been upgraded to a suite, staff were helpful and happy to help. The suite was in another part of the hotel on Ocean which was a concern as it was right across from a major club, however with the windows closed the only thing we really heard was the bin lorries in the morning.

Room was very comfortable and big with lots of little other things that made the stay comfortable, rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels galore. Free wifi and free beach chairs and towels is a major plus as these can be quite expensive if you are going to the beach every day. Location couldn't be better as it is right in the middle of everything going on on the drive.

If we are to return we would definitely stay here again and pray that we get an upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveliingD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brämhult, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed one week at the hotel and had a great time. The room was with a view over the ocean. Beautiful view.
We had a well designed and nice room. Always clean.
We spend quite a lot of time at the pool at the roof of the hotel. Breakfast , lunch or a drink, well served.
Monica, John and the other guys did a great job with making our visit nice.
We can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I spent two days down in South Beach before heading to visit family for the Thanksgiving holidays. We really enjoyed our time at The Hotel. We had signed up for Gold membership before arriving, and while there was no room to upgrade, we had an upper unit room that faced out onto Collins. The standard rooms are small, but the bathroom featured funky tile and a huge shower. We took our breakfasts up on the pool deck and on Saturday morning, enjoyed 11AM yoga with Massimo under the partial canopy (he provides yoga mats! just wear some sunscreen and maybe a pair of shades). Each day, your room rate includes two beach chairs and towels out on at 8th/Ocean; this was a treat. We didn't have to lug extra cash (minus a small tip) or fight for space.

The staff couldn't have been friendlier, and I'd return. The only thing I'd do differently is stay in a larger room, maybe in the Ocean building, where the rooms are larger.

Room Tip: Sign up for gold membership ahead of time. The larger rooms are over on Ocean, but they're more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#19 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
The Angler's Hotel
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#14 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $233 - $588
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing