We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failed to deliver”
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #87 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I travel to South Beach every year for spring break. We have stayed at the Ritz, Delano, Setai, and others. Last year we stayed at the Sagamore. While it is not as over-the-top as the others, the rooms were larger and the location just as nice. Price is comparable.

This year, we decided to go back to the Sagamore. We called and booked the same room as last year, garden view with balcony. We received confirmation and thought we were all set. That changed when we checked in and the garden view room looked out on the brick wall of the hotel next door. There was no balcony. They had given the room that we reserved to other guests.

They did move us to a room that looked out on the construction site immediately next door. The wake up call of pounding hammers at 8:00 a.m. each day was a feature we could have done without. In total, it was very disappointing. My guess is that someone had the room on the construction side of the building and was moved to our room. When i went to the front desk to try to change the room the two people in front of me in line were also complaining about the construction and trying to move.

The employees are very nice and were appropriately apologetic. I don't think we will be visiting the Sagamore again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkgillsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Pkgillsp,


We appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback after your stay here with us this past March. We apologize for the issues that you had while you were here as it obviously affected your stay here negatively.

Unfortunately the construction that is happening next door to us is something that is out of our control however we are doing our best to try and manage the situation so that its effect on our overall guest experiences is minimal. I apologize if there was a confusion with the room type as it seems you did not receive the room type you had expected.

We hope that you will in fact give Sagamore another oppurtunity to prove to you that we are one of the finer hotels in the area and let us WOW you with our great service. Please feel free to contact me directly should you want to return to Sagamore.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
James@sagamorehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 968 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Sagamore is a great place! It is everything you want from a South Beach vacation: great location, beautiful beach, spacious pool with pool attendant Gregory who keeps pool area in great shape, extremely nice person. We particularly enjoyed meeting bartender Mickey from Serbia. His service was exceptional, he truly made our lunch pleasant, he is making perfect strawberry mojitos, friendly, engaging, and nice person. We will be more than happy to stay at this property again in future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Catherine S,

Thanks for sharing your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore. We are happy to be able to provide you with such a great stay. It sounds like a few of our team members stood out to you and they are just part of what makes our property so special.

I will be sure to pass along your great praise to Mickey and Gregory and we look forward to seeing you again at Sagamore!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband & I toured Florida for three weeks & decided to spend a few days in Miami, as we usually head straight for the Keys. I always wanted to visit South Beach and get a feel for the area. We arrived at the Sagamore in the evening, without a reservation and booked for two nights. Enough time to do a little shopping along Lincoln Road & check out the restaurants along Ocean Drive - all within walking distance. The Sagamore is very artsy and the lobby is quite appealing to the eye. Our room was 511, an oceanview suite with a king bed. The suite is very large with a separate living area that has a sectional couch large enough for eight people, a wetbar, fridge, coffee maker, microwave and large flat screen TV on the mirrored wall. The balcony is a good size & has a bistro table with two chairs and a nice view of the ocean. The bedroom was very adequate & also had a large flat screen TV. We took advantage of the beach, as the Hotel has a hut on the beach directly behind their building. The staff setup an umbrella if you wish, provide a lounge chair with a cushion & towels & offer drink service. This is an extra cost & if I'm not mistaken it was $12 daily. The pool & bar area was great, very friendly bar staff and they make fantastic martinis. We never ate at the Hotel, so I can't provide any comments in the food area. The staff were all very friendly, room was cleaned adequately, valet parking guys also very helpful. We had no complaints & would stay at the Sagamore again. Just a small note: the room quote for the night doesn't include city/county tax, state tax, Parking (which is $37/daily). Our room quote was $356/night & after adding all the extra charges the room was actually was $440/daily. I wasn't bothered by this, but simply wanted you to be aware for budgeting purposes.

Room Tip: Room 511 - One Bedroom Oceanview Suite had a great view of the ocean & a nice balcony to sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropical_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Tropical_Holidays,

We greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback after your recent stay here. We are delighted that you had such a terrific stay and happy that you picked Sagamore after arriving with no immediate plans or reservations.

Sagamore truly is one of the hidden gems of South Beach and our location could not be better. It is evident that you took full advantage of our beachfront ameneites, as there is no better way to spend the day in South Beach than on one of our beach lounge chairs perhaps with a cool frozen mojito.

We hope that you will continue to choose Sagamore when traveling to Miami and will be awaiting your next stay with us.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here just one night before heading to Naples and loved it!! The rooms were HUGE!! HUGE! The hotel's decor is awesome and so unique. Be sure to check out the stairwells, they are covered in art work. The pool was perfect, with nice lounge chairs and it sits right on the beach!! You are also within walking distance of everything on South Beach!! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msuhoops04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Tropical_Holidays,

We greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback after your recent stay here. We are delighted that you had such a terrific stay and happy that you picked Sagamore after arriving with no immediate plans or reservations.

Sagamore truly is one of the hidden gems of South Beach and our location could not be better. It is evident that you took full advantage of our beachfront ameneites, as there is no better way to spend the day in South Beach than on one of our beach lounge chairs perhaps with a cool frozen mojito.

We hope that you will continue to choose Sagamore when traveling to Miami and will be awaiting your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The staff are poor, the hotel is large, our room was noisy and we had the pleasure of a cockroach for company, nice. The balony furnishings are ver rusty. The hotel charged more for internet and beach chairs. I would recommend you stay a few blocks from the beach, it is far too noisy

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yermanonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Yermanonthemove,

I would like to take the oppurtunity to apologize for any issues that you may have encountered during your recent stay here with us. The experience you had is certainly not a normal experience here and it seems we definetly fell short of your expectations.

The hotel is also currently in the process of updating several areas and furnishings of the property including the balcony furniture. I can assure you that if you do choose to return to the property your experience will be a proper one and perhaps you will have a chance to see exactly what makes the Sagamore so special.

I would like the oppotunity to speak with you directly to discuss the issues that you had here. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convienence so that we can discuss in detail. I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you.


Best Regards,
James D'agostino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,367 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#45 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,493 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#26 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,635 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Miami Beach

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $269 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach, Florida
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing