We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveller rating
643
286
78
29
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
286
78
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstall paulhgvc south beachgreat locationfront porchhot tub on the roofone bedroom unithgvc propertytime shareart decowithin walking distancesmall gymfull kitchendirectly across the streetpeople watchvalet parkingfew blocksliving room
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

It was 10 years ago I was here last on a boys trip with my high school buddies. It was called HGVC at South Beach back then. Returned with my wife and teen daughter for a family vacation. It hasn’t changed much, still a quaint Art Deco boutique hotel with tons of charm. You really can’t beat the location here. Across from the beach and right on Ocean Drive. We had quite a bit of luggage and only thing I wish they had was a bellman. We had just driven down from Orlando staying at another HGVC property and the bell service there was amazing. They let us park in the front for a while as we unloaded our luggage and checked in. We parked at the public parking lot on 13th while staying here. Valet is like $45/day so we opted to pay $20/day just a block away. Our room wasn’t ready right away but was ready within 45 minutes. We got a one bedroom suite at the McAlpin building next door to Ocean Plaza where you check in. Just remember if you’re used to HGVC properties, this is an older 1920s Art Deco boutique hotel that doesn’t have a pool or other amenities like bigger HGVC properties. We used the rooftop deck jacuzzi quite a bit. Nice view from there and awesome to relax with the jets after a swim at the beach right across the street. Everyone here is friendly and take good care of you. Definitely will be staying here next time we visit South Beach.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGrandVacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so much for visiting us again, we appreciate your review. I am sorry the bellman was not available when you arrived, we have limited staff on days when we do not have many check ins. However, please feel free to ask for assistance, there is always a staff member available to assist with luggage. I am happy to hear you had another great stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Eva Borsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

This Hilton was an awesome place to stay, prime location right on Ocean Avenue (Art Deco building) with excellent service by all staff members anything and everything you need was provided, the only thing this location doesn’t have is a pool but the ocean is right across the street so no problem! We were able to buy wine or beer on premises and we were right there with all the restaurants and clubs! We’ve stayed here several times and it doesn’t get better for a south beach vacation! We celebrated my daughters 26th birthday here and she loved it! You can’t go wrong staying here, service & staff was at the top of their game!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This was a great hotel! The rooms were comfy & felt like home! The location was just a walk away from the beach, restaurants & pretty much everything! Staff was helpful with any places you were looking to find around. Loved it & would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank martharamirez002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Ocean drive and the surrounding area has everything, beach, food, drink, shopping, night life, etc. The McAlpin location is perfect on Ocean Dr. Not a better place IMO in SoBe. The property is wonderful, clean, and well secure. The staff is AWESOME. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank 489darlenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We are owners who decided to travel here for a week from May 28 - June 3, 2018. Check in was smooth and the staff were great. The rooms were smaller than the usual suites, but it is an art deco room and building so it was a cool change. The street noise was minimal but you did get some in the morning when garbage trucks did their pickup outside, and when someone decided to crank up their bass while touring ocean drive at night. The beach and ocean are on the other side of a greenspace/park area, with plenty of pathway systems for cycling, running, or just walking . Restaurants are everywhere and within walking distance you get a large variety to choose from. We felt safe here with card access to everything in the building, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews