We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hip cool place to stay in South Beach .........”
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #44 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here right aroud Christmas holiday before departing to Barbados (we had an early flight out of Miami airport) . The hotel is very hip and modern, the decor is awesome. The lighting system is sophisticated but we had no problem using it , I actually really liked it !! Everything is immaculate and clean. The bar is well stocked and so it is the bathroom with nice amenities. The shower and bathroom both had plenty of privacy and we thought the shower was sexy !
The room is a tad on the small side but all art deco hotels tend to be like that in South Beach .
Tudor restaurant is to die for and so if the rooftop bar /deck/pool. When you take into consideration the location/pool/staff/food this is one of the best and hippest places to stay in south beach :) !! Everyone is super nice and make you feel so welcome. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWADLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Perfect! Thank you so much for your great review and recommendation! We love the fact that you both took full advantage of all the hotel has to offer, and got to really relax and enjoy yourselves up on our beautiful rooftop lounge and pool! We also agree with you 100% about our restaurant, Tudor House - the food is seriously amazing!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dream, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,385 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the Dream House for two nights prior to a cruise. The hotel is perfectly situated on Collins Avenue, a block away from the hot action of South Beach. The Art Deco building has been refurbished to offer modern amenities, including funky lighting in the guest rooms. In fact the lighting was hard for us to get used to given we are in our fifties and have less than perfect vision.

The room was not big but a decent size with sufficient room to move around comfortably. The weirdest part of the room set-up was the completely transparent sliding glass doors on the WC and the shower. It is kind of odd to be in the bathroom with no privacy whatsoever. The least the hotel could do is frost the doors.

That said, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooftop pool and bar areas are a delightful feature though squeezed into a compact space, as with several other neighboring hotels. There is no restaurant in the hotel but the staff refer most people to the affiliated Tudor Hotel next door.

This is definitely a hotel for singles and couples not families. The room we stayed in would not have accommodated a third person and there is definitely no room for a rollaway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for your review and nice comments about our friendly staff! We apologize for the misunderstanding about our restaurant - Tudor House is definitely our restaurant, and we are extremely proud to host Chef Geoffrey Zakarian and his amazing menu creations!

Thank you for choosing Dream, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very special and nice hotel in the art deco district of Miami. Modern, big room with two comfortable double beds. Very advanced lightning. Nice rooftop pool with bar, and restaurant with award winning chef. Very nice staff, no problem with late check out. The hotel is very close to South beach and also includes two sunbeds on the beach. Lots of restaurant around the hotel, and shopping. Next time, we will stay longer. Must also say that this hotel is gay-friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bod_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Awesome! Thank you so much for your great review and recommendation! All of us here at Dream had an excellent time taking care of you and your family, and we are so happy that you got to enjoy all the the hotel has to offer. We are so happy that you had a relaxing time, and all of us can't wait to welcome you back soon. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at Dreams South Beach for 10 nights recently. It was a great hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially Thomas on the Concierge desk and the blonde pool lady.

The hotel was very clean at all times and our room was a perfect size. Having read reviews prior to visiting the hotel, I wasn't keen on the see-through toilet and shower doors. However, as not many people point out - there are white doors which can easily be closed to separate the bedroom from the bathroom area. And there is a lock on the main door to ensure the cleaners cannot enter the room whilst you are in there.

The bed was very comfortable and there is a large flat screen TV, with lots of channels to choose from.

The pool area is amazing - although the water was always extremely cold! It would have been nice to have had slightly warmer water to make you want to get in more.

The only room for improvement I would comment on, was the lift going up to the pool. We were often waiting for this for quite a while.

Overall we had a great stay at Dreams and would definitely recommend it - 10 nights was not enough!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your great review! We are so proud that our superstars Thomas and Oksanna were able to make sure you both had an awesome stay. Providing outstanding service is something they take very seriously. Great job on choosing the coolest hotel in South Beach, and we look forward to many return visits in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a review of the front desk hotel staff and their elevator only- 7 of us attempted to use the lobby elevator to go to the High Bar on the roof on 3/28/12. The elevator got stuck mid floor and the staff was ill-equipped to handle such an emergency. The 2 front desk employees conversed with us through the elevator shaft and told us they were calling "the engineers" and that this had never happened before. They did not call the police or offer any other assistance. We were trapped in there for over a half hour. One woman in our group had lost her husband in 9/11 and had a full blown panic attack. Another, in our party, a fireman- was able to eventually pull the door open to reveal the dislodged elevator innards. He was then able to pry open the door of the lobby elevator doors. Without any assistance of staff, despite our personal fireman's directives to them to get something to keep the doors open- we all jumped down the 3 foot drop to safety. The dumbfounded staff stood there as we exited the building- no apologies, nothing. When asked to speak to a manager, they said there was none. The fire department arrived because we had called but left without taking any reports. Pretty crazy and scary.

Room Tip: do not use the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank 57alisonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear alibee 1,

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the unfortunate incident with the elevator. Situations like these can be highly stressing in any circumstance, and I am sorry that we were found lacking in our responsiveness to you and the other individuals with you. This is not consistent with the high level of service we pride ourselves on here at Dream, and further training will be given to all our staff so that they are fully prepared.

Although I cannot go back and erase what happened, I would like to inform you that we have contacted the company that services our elevators to ensure that this does not happen again.

I look forward to an opportunity to speak with you about your experience directly, and I hope that you will allow me to make amends as to help restore your faith in us. I may be contacted directly at johnwalbridge@dreamsouthbeach.com, or 304-673-4747.

Again, my most sincere apologies, and I look forward to speaking with you. Take care!

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,606 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,914 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,461 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,810 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $250 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, C.O Bigelow bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Dream South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing