We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gloria Estefan needs to spend a night in her hotel!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cardozo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardozo Hotel
Ranked #140 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gloria Estefan needs to spend a night in her hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right on Ocean Drive. Although there is nothing wrong with the hotel, there is nothing right with it, except the staff who area always pleasant and friendly.

The rooms are clean and comfortable but lack any drawers or storage. This is fine if you are just overnighting, but not if you are vacationing for a week or so. The rooms have wooden floors, which look great, but... The reason that most hotels don't use wooden floors is that they are noisy, and here you can hear every footstep of the people in the room above! $5.50 for a bottle of bottled water left as a courtesy is just a rip off, not courteous at all. Although there is a mini bar in the room and a deposit taken at check in, it remained locked.

The bathrooms are tiny, which isn't a problem, except there's nowhere to put anything. Form over function... Looks ok but doesn't work.

Although there is free wi-fi, there's no business centre making it difficult if you need to print airline boarding passes or require a computer.

The staff check in and house keeping work station should not be set within the guest rooms on the second floor it needs to be back of house to minimise the early morning disruption to guest sleep at 7.30am!

Having said all of the above, I would consider staying here again, but, this hotel, with a little remodelling could be a real "boutique hotel" and a diamond destination on Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRGB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    125
    69
    36
    28
See reviews for
42
132
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Cardozo is an old Art Deco hotel with a mostly original facade. Unfortunately, it has a row of umbrellas and canvas covering the first floor and restaurant, like many of the other hotels on Ocean drive. The room was OK, spacious but no luxury. Sea view was good, including Ocean Drive, the park and the beach. The restaurant played loud music saturday night until 3 in the morning, no sleep until then. The other nights was reasonably quiet from 1, except for a noisy AC. (Don't know why they play the heavy music, nobody in the restaurant seemed to enjoy it, and nobody could have a conversation.) The restaurant seemed to be undrestaffed; if there were more than a few customers, the service went missing. The hotel staff were friendly, but after confirming on the telephone that they would store some baggage while we were on a cruise, they changed their mind when we came to deliver it, so we had to bring it all to sea.

Room Tip: Sea view is good, but lots of noise from the restaurant. If you want to sleep at night, choose a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egil190492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We arrived late and dropped our bags quickly in order to get a bite not really paying much attention to the room. It was only later we realised that we were in a rather shabby tired room with the tiniest of bathrooms. The worst was to come when we tried to sleep which was impossible due to the air conditioning machinery directly outside our window. This not only serviced our apartment but you would imagine from the noise the whole of south beach. The following morning after barely sleeping we were woken by cockroaches crawling over us in our bed. We found more in the bathroom. We complained and moved to a renovated and quiet room which was nice but still with a tiny bathroom which was still a bit shabby and with paint peeling. If you like grey eggs I really recommend the Cardozo for breakfast - yuk! Not the most expensive hotel on south beach but certainly not the cheapest by far so I expected more and seriously doubt if Gloria Estefan would have been best pleased had she been awoken by roaches crawling over her.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

good helpfull reception,clean modern room,nice bathroom with condiments.great location

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livelifelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Feels a bit out of fashion and in the whole hotel there is a funny smell which they try to mask with incents. Very nice staff! No swimmingpool, no gym and the restaurant is very clear they do not have anything to do with the hotel in the same building...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasHalldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#87 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Hotel Ocean
#151 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
The Tides South Beach
#72 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardozo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardozo Hotel

Property: Cardozo Hotel
Address: 1300 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $389 - $527
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardozo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Ocean Drive, the hotel offers a variety of magnificent deluxe suites, superior ocean view suites, and standard room accommodations. Set in the heart of South Beach, you are within walking distance of the best restaurants, lounges, and nightclubs Miami Beach has to offer. The Cardozo Hotel offers the finest in service, location, and comfort in one of the most exciting and trend-setting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cardozo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardozo Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Cardozo Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing