We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Ranked #22 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I was not sure what to expect from this hotel as it was my first time in Miami Beach. I had booked a city view room online at Marriott.com. When I checked in I was asked if I would like an ocean front room. I asked what the difference in price was and the front desk clerk said "No difference, complimentary upgrade" That started our stay off on a nice note. They also were passing out cocktail samples in the lobby. Bonus #2! Our room was very nice. Not especially large but big enough. The best part was the direct ocean view. Beautiful. Every staff member we encountered, save for one grumpy housekeeper, was very pleasant and helpful. Two mirror image outdoor pools with steps down to the beach. Nice patio for relaxing. Starbucks on property for morning coffee. Had poolside lunch that was good. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    693
    206
    85
    59
See reviews for
543
840
81
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I am a seasoned traveller and usually travel for pleasure 3 times a year with my family group (5 of us)...We were staying at the Marriott South Beach Post-Cruise for one night and did not realize that a triathalon was being held the next morning. I had a large car hired from a limo company (Transmiami Limos) and pick up was scehduled for 8 a.m. at the hotel. At 7:45 a.m. my driver called to say he had been stopped at Collins Ave. and 5th St. (The Marriott South Beach was about 5-6 blocks away). The driver could not get to us due to the street closure for the triathalon and we had too much luggage to walk the 5-6 blocks with. Al, The manager of the Marriott South Beach got his PERSONAL car and one of the Bellman volunteered his services, and they loaded our luggage in one car and my family in the other and then drove us the 5 1/2 blocks to the closed street and explained to the police our plight and the police understood and helped us get across the street to the waiting limo. The limo backed up and turned around (no small feat) and we made it to a 10:45 a.m. departure. I can't express my gratitude enough to all those mentioned here, but to The Marriott South Beach...You are AMAZING! Thank You. You have done the Marriott chain proud and I will stay with you and other Marriott hotels again because of your Unequalled service to my family! Incidentally all staff were friendly and very helpful, the restaurant food was very good, the location on the beach and proximty to South Beach and Linclon Rd shopping was super convenient, the pools were clean and well maintained and the rooms were clean and comfortable...Thanks again! You have given me a vacation story that I will enjoy sharing for a long time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

stayed at this hotel just last week and found it to be very good, albeit expensive its cheaper than most sea view south beach resorts, the pool area is fantastic along with the fitness centre and buisness area.

Room Tip: request a spacious balcony not a smaller one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmanic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had my Bose headphones (valued over $300) stolen right out of my locked room. Obviously stolen from hotel cleaning staff. Marriott management and Claims Center denied any liability because an in-room safe is offered. It was extremely difficult dealing with them. An after-the-fact research on internet shows this is common at Marriott hotels. I will NEVER stay at another Marriott again.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank tomandeffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Very nice hotel. Most if not all rooms have balconies. Short walk to busy areas like 7th St or short cab to areas higher up on the beach. As long as you're okay with not being in the heart of the action its a great hotel with great service. Very well run.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,993 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,481 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,505 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Stanton South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stanton South Beach

Property: Marriott Stanton South Beach
Address: 161 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7212
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $311 - $650
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Stanton South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Marriott, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Stanton South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Miami Beach
Miami Beach Marriott
Marriott Hotel South Beach
South Beach Marriott
Marriott Stanton South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing