We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Had a great 3 nights at the Surfcomber with my husband and daughter. Our luggage didn't arrive until 24 hours after we did and the front desk were excellent at providing us with overnight amenities and did as much as they could to help. It was a real relief to come up to our room and find AA had delivered our baggage- better late than never!. The rooms were beautifully designed and although not large there was enough room for the 3 of us. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds, breakfast and appetisers at Lantao, access to the beach and being just near enough to all South beach has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Deborah B-
Thank you for the great posting.
We hope you return again soon.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,934
    903
    286
    106
    70
See reviews for
736
1,114
136
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, onario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

Despite some issues with check in, we had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff is great and more than made up for the problems we encountered when we first arrived.
The location is perfect, right on the beach and walking distance to everything. Our room was spacious and very comfortable.
We've been vacationing in South Beach For the past decade, never staying at the same place twice, until now. We'd definitely return to this hotel because of the personal service we received during our stay. The staff made us feel like VIPs the entire time, and we loved it!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mayasmom2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
mayasmom2006 -
Thank you so much for the great posting.
Thank you also for the recommendation.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a very nice stay for a long weekend as a couple. Hotel is in a perfect location...walking distance to Lincoln Road, Espanola Way,etc. Right off the beach. It is a public beach, though, and I wasn't aware of this before the trip.....but it was not a problem at all. We rented chairs and an umbrella and they gave us chair covers. We just picked up towels from the pool area.

The pool and pool area were very nice and ice water was provided. The staff sometimes had a little bit of trouble keeping clean towels available, and it could be difficult to get a seat at the pool. The wine hour from 5:00 to 6:00 every evening was great!

The hotel was recently renovated and everything was brand new and clean. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Casey the bartender made some good recommendations about places to eat and visit. Also nice was to have a bike rental place right next door, what a beautiful view along the ocean walkway.

We only had lunch at the hotel restaurant one day...it was okay, not many choices. Just like any other restaurant you go to in South beach it adds 18% gratuity. With so many dining options just a short walk away, don't bother with the Lantao......go to Lincoln Road or Espanola Way or any other place. There is an awesome CVS a block away that is a combination liquor store, Hallmark store, grocery store. We got small items for breakfast since we aren't big breakfast people and the hotel's breakfast was expensive and not very good. I also asked for a Keurig for our room so I didn't have to go down to the lobby every morning for my coffee.

To sum it all up:
Location, location, location! Couldn't beat it!
Great staff
small room, wouldn't recommend for a family...but otherwise great.....didn't spend much time in the room.
great pool area, great beach, absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadv_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
tadv_member -
Thank you for the great posting.
Great tips.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights after travelling on the west coast of Florida. Very small frontage on the road, we almost drove past it. Large building site next door which seemed to swamp it. We pulled in to unload the car and check-in, then moved the car to one of the multistorey car parks nearby. We didn't plan on driving for the next few days.

Check in was quick and pleasant. Asked if we wanted a coffee machine in the room - yes please! Room on the 3rd floor overlooking the central courtyard - very small room. Too many cushions and footstools taking up valuable floor space. Pool area was attractive, but did fill up quickly. Ended up on the platform above the pool with the noisy building site just behind me. Staff friendly, did not eat in the hotel. Cocktail makers not great - the worst Cosmo I have ever ordered. Housekeeping did not clean the room till after 4pm most days - very annoying when you have been out all day. Coffee was never refilled for the machine. got fed up ringing roomservice for it! The most annoying thing was the noise from the room next door. We could hear the 'lads' during the day talking and laughing which was fine, but constant noise from 1.30 to 3.30am was out of order. We phoned reception, housekeeping and guest services to no avail - no one picked up the phone during this time. Mentioned it the next morning - apologies - but they could not understand why the phone was not answered!? Location for the beach and Lincoln Road shopping/eating was good, but a long walk down to the News Cafe and Tourist Info centre.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but after the quiet and sophistication of the West Coast, Miami Beach was brash, tacky, noisy, expensive to eat/drink - great people watching, but seems to have gone downhill since our last visit. Party/stag nights will love it - we won't be returning in a hurry!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenweed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
CathyGB -
Thank you for posting your experience with us.
We look forward to your return in the distant future.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

One of the most interesting places I have ever stayed at.

The hotel is in a very good condition. Rooms are clean, freshly painted, nicely decorated and have a good size. The location is one of the best in Miami. Direct beach access and only a few blocks away from everything that matters in Miami Beach.

Also the pool area is very nice. We booked a standard room and then got upgraded to a room with a balcony. Sooo nice. View of the beach, pool, ocean. Superb. So far all very good.

Then why only an average rating? Not because of the building site next door. It is still live but there is hardly any noise coming from thr construction.

The reason for the average rating is the efficiency of the staff. They are all very friendly and kind. And they are trying very hard. But it almost feels like the place opened up yesterday and eveybody is still finding his way around.

No matter if it is house keeping (room not cleaned at 1.30pm, called front desk, still nobody there at 2.30pm, went down to front desk sorry for the delay, will send them right now, finally room was cleaned at 3.30pm), most of the waiters in the breakfast restaurant or the pool staff (do you have an outdoor shower? I don't know, I just started here a week ago) they all seem overwhelmed. Maybe it is a lack of training or maybe the managers are just not spending enough time with their people but this place needs to improve it's service efficiency.

Do that and you have one of the nicest, best located hotels on Miami Beach. Hands down.

If i get a change to come back to miami in the near future i will stay here again. And hope to experience the change.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DutchAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
DutchAT -
Thank you for posting your experience with us.
I guarantee we exceed your expectations upon your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#32 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $270 - $661
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing