We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South beach ground zero, with the BEST beach club K17!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #38 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
“South beach ground zero, with the BEST beach club K17!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The surfcomber is well managed, the rooms and decor are what you would expect from a cutting edge South Beach hotel. Our favorite, the K17 beach club, out of all the competing "beach clubs" this is by far the best, from their food to the chair/bed options to the staff, really enjoyed the beach relaxation. Perfect for our vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms facing in towards the courtyard/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hn_P10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
J0hn_P10 -
Thank you for the great posting.
Thank you also for mentioning you enjoyed our beach club experience.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    893
    279
    104
    66
See reviews for
723
1,095
133
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed at hotel for 2 nights this week and had an amazing stay. I was looking to stay in South Beach and chose this hotel because they are part of the Kimpton Hotels brand and I love staying with them. From the moment I checked in the service was so nice and personal. Jessica at the front desk was so pleasant and friendly upon arrival and Brian from the bell staff was always there to help throughout my stay. While traveling, I always appreciate it when the staff makes you feel comfortable and at home. The Surfcomber staff is excellent.
The hotel was just redone prior to becoming a Kimpton property and looks great. It is really neat and clean and rooms were spotless. The night before I arrived, the annual pool party ended and when I walked in to the hotel, you would not know that 2000 people were there the night before.
Pool area is very relaxing and there is direct beach access as well. Location at 17th and Collins is great.
Overall it was a great stay and I plan to stay there again. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWS_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
BWS_NJ -
Thank you for the great posting and thank you also for the recommendation.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed at the Surfcomber during a big event, and I was amazed at how calm the personal stayed and how well they were able to take care of us. The General Manager really has created a great working environment and is in control of all aspects. All staff from maintenance to front desk personal has been going over and beyond to provide great service. this used to the a double tree hotel and while it was nice it was time for some changes. Kimpton Hotels took that to the next level. Amazing how a carpet and color changes makes it look so much more inviting. The beds feel amazing and provide heavenly sleep. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Rene W-
Well, thank you very much.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were on our honeymoon when we visited Surfcomber. We were there from 23rd of march 2012 to 24th of march. Our room was small compared to hotels in other cities but very good and had everything which we could need. The small yet beautiful room had all the new furnishing and fittings. The swimming pool in the hotel was awesome. RIght at south beach , it is best thing for your buck. George there Bellman was also very nice to us. He wore a red jacket in morning i remember. Wished us Good bye when we were leaving. :-) I hope he reads this and remembers me. We were the couple from India on our honemoon and left in a limousine to Fort lauderdale to catch our cruise. There concierge was also very helpful, i forgot his name, he told us about a nightclub magic something and gave us a complimentary passes. Told us about a great indian restaurant GURU, for which we sure love him and also booked our Limousine taxi from Airport shuttle to Port everglades in fort lauderdale. Thank you surfcomber.

Room Tip: Take a room facing Beach road or take a room facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keshav_chopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Keshav_chopra -
Congratulations & thank you for the amazing posting.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
SM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly. Our overall stay was enjoyable and the location could not have been better. As like many of the hotels in the area, back part of the building led straight to the beach. Pool parties are not active at this hotel as it's quiet, peaceful area, however that is not a problem as you can find pool parties anywhere. The design of the hotel is alright, the pool area looks a bit outdated. Unfortunately there is another hotel being built right beside it so all you hear at the pool are construction noises. Room service was excellent as they were fast. I found it kind of weird that the housekeepers never replaced our used glasses with clean ones, but since it was a repeated thing, I assume they were not required to. Oh and another thing I really appreciated was that you would never hear any outside noise from inside your hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
mmmllll-
Thank you for taking a few moments to post your experience with us.
Thank you for all the positive comments and for denoting the opportunities; we will remedy.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#28 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $276 - $744
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Wotif.com so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing