We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
National Hotel Miami Beach
Ranked #39 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Best thing about this hotel is the location, it is right in the middle of the lively part of Collins Ave (very close to the lively Lincoln Rd), and is literally on the beach. There is an exit at the rear of the hotel pool through which guests can access the beach. The hotel also has loungers on the beach for use by guests (although there was a charge if wanting to use the umbrellas).

We got a 2 double-bed room - the rooms are a little on the small side and note the beds are doubles not queens, so only suitable for 2 guests, which I believe is noted on most booking websites that the rate is for 2 guests.

WiFi is free in the hotel which is a big plus. The hotel has valet service for a fee, although we found that there is a very decent amount of street parking on 17th Street which is right by the hotel. If flying in there is really no need to have a car; there are a number of car rental locations around on South Beach if wanting to rent a car later on.

Overall this hotel is very good value given the excellent location.

Room Tip: If opting for a ocean-view room, ask for a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CityLiving90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 774 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2015

I recently stayed at the National Hotel in South Beach Miami and at first glance was looking forward to staying at this location simply because it was the host hotel for the AquaGirl event I was taking a part of. Upon check in, there was a bit of confusion with the initial reservation and request for adjoining rooms that my sister placed back in February. While we were allowed to check in early to one of the rooms, the lack of customer service that proceeded the remaining of our stay tainted the whole experience. Between the person who initially placed the reservation having the entire stay charged to their card by the second of the six days we were there to a male security guard keying himself into my sister's room while her and another female guest were sleeping at 7:30am demanding their bill be paid off, the whole experience left a very sour taste in all of our mouths to say the least.

Ana at the front desk seemed to be the only competent person we came across.

It is a shame that all these series of unfortunate events occurred as I was so looking forward to a wonderful stay given this is my sixth time visiting South Beach in the past five years.

I can speak very candidly about the lack of customer service and sense of empathy due to the fact that I am currently working in the customer service industry for well over 15 years currently employed by a Fortune 500 company for the past 9 years.

In the future, I will recommend all my family and friends not to stay at this location and to source out neighboring hotels with better customer service reviews.

I hope that this message reaches the appropriate channels that can effect positive change for the sake of your business and those customers that dare take the chance of staying at this establishment in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel. The hotel was originally built in the 1930s so it had so much charm and character. We were upgraded to an ocean view and our view was amazing. The room was clean and we loved how it was decorated. Only downfall was the bathroom was small but that was expected since it's an older hotel and it really didn't bother us. The hotel lobby smelled so good and the lounge area was a great place to have a drink. The service from the front desk and bellboys were great! If you want a hotel with some charm and great service, this place is perfect.

Stayed: May 2015
2  Thank Lucia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

I travelled here as part of a large group in December 2012 and while there were renovations going on in some rooms, we were lucky to get a newly renovated room with no noise so we were delighted! It is located almost on the beach and is well placed to explore South Beach, as well as being just a short walk home after I'm sure the renovations are finished at this stage so I would highly recommend this hotel. One negative thing about the hotel was the fact that breakfast cost $25 per person.. very steep if you are staying more than a few days!

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duff2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

I was here for a girls weekend and got a great deal through expedia. When I booked the room I forgot to add a second person, so management would not honor the 2nd persons free breakfast, a bit bummed about that. Also when you book on Expedia the resort fee , which varies from place to place, is not included so it was an extra $19/day The room was a decent size, the beds comfortable and even though the bathroom was tiny, it was updated and functional. Small fridge for your beverages hidden in the desk. No coffee maker in the room. No not disturb sign so at 9am the staff is knocking on your door to clean. A little bit of a delay getting up and down the elevator. The pool area is beautiful and the bar fun. We were served by Miquel from Puerto Rico and had amazing service. Beware- the drinks are very expensive close to $20 a cocktail after they add everything on! The beach chairs are free as long as you have only 2 people, over 2 and they charge $13, our friend never came out and we could not get the money back. The breakfast buffet goes until 11:00am and has everything you could want, plentiful. Nathan was our server for 2 days and was a highlight of the hotel. Front desk personal could use some refining. All in all a good place to stay, just be ready for the South Beach add ons! The pool could be a little noisy mainly because of the music next door at the Delano, also both nights we were there we had to leave the pool area at 5pm because the area had been reserved for a wedding, would have been nice to hang out there a little longer.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,527 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,557 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#26 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,689 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Miami Beach

Address: 1677 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $258 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in South Beach's celebrated Art Deco neighborhood, our oceanfront resort evokes cinematic elegance, boasting 116 newly designed city and direct ocean view guestrooms in our Historic Tower, and 36 luxurious cabanas and suites, skirted alongside native tropical palm trees and the city's longest infinity-edge pool. Fully restored in 2014, the hotel was recognized by "Historic Hotels of America" for maintaining its architectural authenticity while bringing subtle and sophisticated elements of contemporary design for the discerning traveler. The National Hotel's Tamara Bistro, among other unique onsite venues, offers old Gatsby glamour with New World fusion cuisine. We invite you to visit Miami Beach's 30s and 40s classic era of grace, elegance and style at the National Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your National Hotel Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Miami Beach
National Hotel Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing