We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Loved staying here for a conference. It was large and close to many places to walk to outside the hotel. Right on the waterfront. The only thing I had a LOT of trouble with was cell phone reception. I have Verizon and my phone kept searching for signal so much it went dead every day by 6 pm though fully charged each night. Ate at the restaurant there and got excellent service from Alex the waiter the first night. The second night, we went back and got another waiter and were IGNORED for a long time. I asked a question and it took the guy 10 minutes to answer a question about the fresh catch. We had an 18% automatic gratuity despite it only being 3 people with individual checks and it was one of the worst services I'd ever received. Restaurant less than 1/4 full, so it wasn't due to being overworked. I did NOT eat dinner there the 3rd and final night. Beautiful hotel. The bathrooms were very nice with granite and granite shower stalls. Rain shower heads. 4 star quality rooms with nice work station desks. Nice linens. I liked it except for the infuriating cell phone problem - EVEN in the rooms! Besides the parking fee mentioned otherwise, it is $15/day to use the meager workout room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyannaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,711
    1,553
    428
    179
    105
See reviews for
1,410
1,734
259
1,540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nothing to complain about for this hotel. Friendly staff, great rooms with great view. We used priority points to stay one night pre-cruise because others were staying here also. I understood why with its closeness to the port, shopping, dining, etc. We will stay again when we are doing a pre-cruise stay. Only drawback was paying for parking and internet but most high end resorts charge for those items that should be free.

Room Tip: Overlook Biscayne Bay and view the cruise ships
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRB33785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear IRB33785,

Thank you for the great review. We love receiving comments like yours. Indeed, we are the ideal hotel for cruise travelers as we are in close proximity to the Port of Miami. There are many top attractions nearby as well. At the moment, we do charge fees for parking and internet, but thank you for your comments as we use them to improve future guests' experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next cruise trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiller Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Last week stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel - Miami and just had an excellent experience. The room was comfortable, the Priorty Club lounge had a wonderful breakfast and in the Happy Hour in the evenings had a party atmosphere. All-in-all I would tell anyone headed to Miami to give it try; you won't be disappointed.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Chris C,

Thank you for the excellent review! We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We are also glad that you were able to experience all of the amenities of our Club InterContinental Lounge. It is a great escape with a fantastic view and delicious food. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope that you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here on November 4, 2011 right before a cruise for one night. We booked it through Last Minute Travel and got a decent rate. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we tried to check in. Granted, it was early - 2pm. They claimed not to allow early check ins, but a friend had checked in early just minutes earlier. Of course they have early check ins....for a price. This then started the upsell that continued throughout our stay. They asked if we wanted to upgrade to a bay view for $20. I asked if that would get us into a room now. Of course it would! So, we took it. We figured we had already saved about $60 by booking through another site and we were super tired from traveling. We were also offered an upsell on some other frequent traveler thing, which we declined.

We got to the room, which was quite nice at first glance and was well-appointed with furnishings, a mini bar (which we did not partake in), toiletries, etc. Nice big bathroom. Great view and worth the money.

We rented a car right from the lobby to go to an event in Boca Raton. That was super convenient, but the hours are very limited. Be prepared to pay $35 per night to park. Yikes.

We went out for the evening, came back, went right to sleep. We woke up to our cruise ship in view. That, and a very close look at the dust and peeling wall paper, scuffed walls in the room. The sunlight showed the wear and tear on the room. All of these things could be fixed in a couple of hours, but it was clear that the attention to detail was completely lacking.

We got Starbucks for breakfast, also in the lobby and very convenient.

Upon checking out using the service on the television, another person's account popped up on OUR screen. What was completely strange was that it was the account of a friend who was on another floor! She had been in the room about a hour prior to our checking out. Very very odd. We mentioned this at the front desk. They did not seemed surprised. Would it be possible that the key cards have a chip in them of some sort? It was way too much of a convenience.

So, all and all, a pleasant stay, but not one that I was very impressed with.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaf1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
264 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at this downtown Miami hotel for one night. We were offered an upgraded room for an additional $9 upon check-in, which we accepted. We stayed in room #2506 and the view was incredible. We lived in Miami and are used to the scenery, but this was something special. The room overlooked Biscayne Bay and we could see all the way out to the Atlantic; it was just beautiful. The room appeared to be recently renovated, but the plumbing was a problem. I really liked the shower head, but the water didn't drain well in the tub, so when you shower, you're standing in ankle-deep water. It doesn't make you feel very clean when you get out. After flushing the toilet, the tank kept running, but stopped after I jiggled the handle. I didn't report the issues to hotel because we were only there one night. The minibar wasn't restocked before our arrival. My husband took a Pellegrino and water out, but the water was half full, so he put it back. Since the fridge has a sensor, we were still charged for it. After explaining the situation to the front desk, they quickly took off both items, which was nice. Although the valet was expensive ($36/day), they were quick and friendly. All in all, it was a good hotel. It's centrally located, clean and the staff was customer service oriented.

Room Tip: Take the upgraded room if offered. Ask for a room with a view of Biscayne Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
#6 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price range (per night): $219 - $500
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
InterContinental Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing