We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Consul”

Florida Grand Opera
Ranked #59 of 367 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florida Grand Opera, continuously producing opera since 1941, stands as one of the most established performing arts organizations in Florida.
Reviewed 23 May 2015

The Florida Grand Opera is one of Miami's best-kept secrets - but hopefully that will change!
Not too many people realize that the Florida Grand OPERA stages brilliant operas throughout the year, so visitors who want to soak in the sun during the day, can dine somewhere nearby at night and then enjoy the fabulous sets, voices and drama of the operas performed at the incredible Arsht Center. Tickets are reasonably priced - especially if you compare them to other major cities - and the parking is easy and inexpensive. There's valet service as well. I broke my ankle this winter and they went above and beyond to help me sit in a comfortable chair, put a cushion under my foot which was in a knee-high boot, and were terrific. What more can I say? The sets are imaginative and stylish, the orchestra is excellent and the talent superb.

1  Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamazzur, Public Relations Manager at Florida Grand Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you, Charlotte, for your very kind review. We are particularly thrilled that you enjoyed The Consul - we were very proud of that production. Hope your ankle makes a full and speedy recovery. Thanks again for your support, and we hope to see you back at the opera soon for our 75th Anniversary celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"arsht center"
in 8 reviews
"performing arts"
in 2 reviews
"performance"
in 17 reviews
"performers"
in 7 reviews
"costumes"
in 4 reviews
"moss"
in 3 reviews
"staging"
in 3 reviews
"company"
in 7 reviews
"scenes"
in 2 reviews
"valet"
in 2 reviews
"scenery"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

For the last eight years I have always enjoyed attending an opera with the Florida Grand Opera at the Arsht Center. Magnificent talent and always a pleasure to be there early to hear about the back story of the opera. Absolutely a must see! A joy!

1  Thank Yvette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamazzur, Public Relations Manager at Florida Grand Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you, Yvette, for your very kind review. We are so glad you enjoy our performances, and we hope to see you back at the opera soon for our 75th Anniversary celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

The operas best seating is in the first balcony, you have a panorama view of the theaters set & the its symphony. After the show, inside the Oprea house, the restaurant Book and Books, offers organic foods with seating inside and in the opera court yard.

3  Thank Kimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamazzur, Public Relations Manager at Florida Grand Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

Thank you for the kind words, and we are thrilled you had a nice evening! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Great place to visit when in town. I really enjoyed myself and will be back. The place is busy so worth getting a seat as early as you can. We were in a group of 12, and it wasn't possible for all of us to be seared in one row which was unfortunate.

2  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamazzur, Public Relations Manager at Florida Grand Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

Thank you so much for the high rating and for the kind words! We are sorry your group of 12 couldn't sit together. You are correct, we do tend to get very busy the week before a show. If you make sure to speak to our box office manager, Gary Herman, a few days before a show, he can work with you to help find the best arrangement possible!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2014

I've been attending Florida Grand Opera's productions as a subscriber. While I think they've always been very good, I feel they've really notched up their quality in the past 2 years so that they're truly world class. Madame Butterfly was spectacular-- which bodes well for Cosi Fan Tutte.
The venue (Arsht Center) is also great-- it's fun to make a dinner and opera evening out of it.

2  Thank Printer1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamazzur, Public Relations Manager at Florida Grand Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2014

On behalf of the entire FGO team, we thank you for the positive review and are grateful to have you as a subscriber. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed Madama Butterfly, and we appreciate your optimism for Così. It is already proving to be very exciting - we're modernizing our production and making some artistic decisions to make the plot more relevant!

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Florida Grand Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing