We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location an more”
Review of Chart House

Chart House
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 506 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 40 - USD 60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Haven
Description: Chart House is a fine dining restaurant serving seafood & steak and famous for their spectacular views. For more than 50 years, Chart House has redefined the ideal dining experience. With 27 waterfront and showcase locations ranging from the historic to the unforgettable, Chart House restaurants specialize in dazzling views, unique cuisine and exceptional service. From fresh fish specialties to slow-roasted prime rib, the renowned chefs of Chart House have tailored a menu that adds a unique touch to local flavors. And the Chart House happy hour is a guest favorite, where guest favor our signature cocktails and delicious bites you are sure to enjoy. Our original Hot Chocolate Lava Cake is the perfect end to a memorable dining experience at Chart House. Chart House offers the ideal setting for your next event. We would be happy to assist you with all the details of your special occasion.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had been to the Chart House in Alexandria so were familiar with the restaurant ambience and menu. The location in Melbourne is equally pleasing with great views. The food and service both exceeded our expectations - the calamari and tuna appetisers were spot on and everyone (a party of 8) seemed pretty satisfied with all the their other choices. Service was with a smile and some great recommendations.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

Coming form South Africa i wasn't prepared for a couple things;
1) Sitting at my table with views of dolphin and manatees (manatees are extremely rare on the African east coast
2)the abundance in bird life (also easily viewed from our table)
3) the size fo American portions!

We visited Chart House 2 nights in a row as the experience was that good. Service was excellent, wine list was great (although we had to ask for help going through it- and the suggestions were spot on).

The first night I had oysters to start and the coconut shrimp for mains. Oysters are oysters but the coconut shrimp had great dipping sauces.

The second night had a MOUNTAIN of Kim Chi Calamari, which was amazing and i could easily only have had that as a meal, but I had already ordered the shrimp again and was certainly well fed on leaving.

If i ever need to come back to Melbourne I will certainly be back. Thank you!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MattieMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Lovely spot on the river for a meal. Seven of us went for the early bird where you get a choice of several meal options plus a free trip to the excellent salad bar. All meals were priced less than $25.00. I love fish and chips and ordered them. Wrong! I ate the first small piece which was heavily battered and barely cooked. The second piece (there were three) was so raw I could not cut it with my knife! Didn't even try the third piece.
Friends brought it to the attention of another server and shortly there after my server came and offered another choice which was cooked but not very tasty. There were no complaints from any of my companions, which I found to be true on other visits to the Chart House.
We ordered the apple/cherry crisp and asked for extra ice cream as we were sharing. It was GREAT, much better than my meal.
We like the Chart House and I have to say the poor meal I got this time is NOT typical of other meals we have had. We will go back.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robare526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner and great views of the Indian River lagoon. I enjoyed lobster bisque with a generous portion of lobster in the bowl. My wife enjoyed the generous salad bar including sliced and diced beets. My stuffed lobster entree was tasty and accompanied by a large baked potato and asparagus. My wife enjoyed a generous fish and chips entree. Service was top flight.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ChuckR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We try to avoid corporate restaurants and search for local gems which we usually find. We also like to try upscale spots when on holidays so on the evening of March 19, 2018 we tried the Melbourne FL Chart House even though it is against our normal game plan.
Service was fine. Had a table with a nice view of the inland waterway. Wine was priced ok, however the entrees and salad were priced at a point that you would expect something really good. Well this part of the dining experience was just ok. Expectations meet in every way? .....sort of I guess...well?.....not really too excited and maybe a bit disappointed......sort of Ho-Hum!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chart House also viewed

Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Indialantic, Brevard County
 
Indialantic, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Malabar, Brevard County
 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing