We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Fishermen's Paradise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fishermen's Paradise
Grouper living / sleeping Grouper kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Fishermen's Paradise
Grouper living / sleeping
Grouper kitchen
Grouper dining
Grouper bathroom
Matlacha front
Laundry
Matlacha backyard
Matlacha front II
Boats dock
our Pontoon boat for rent for our guests
guests when driving out with the boat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matlacha, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lisa S
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little cottage in a nice spot.”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The location is between the Cape and Pine Island, in a little nest of quiet, small old-Florida type cottages and efficiencies. Easy stroll to shops/bars and restaurants in Matlacha's (pronounced Mat-la-shay) town area. Martina offers a good-sized pontoon boat, plus there were some kayaks and SUPs around the side of the house for rent. Back deck/dock area was clean. There were fishing and beach items to use in the laundry area,

The Grouper Room is one of four efficiency units, this one faces the street. Caretaker's communication was good, though we didn't need any assistance from her. It was very small but fine for two people to rest and clean up. Not fancy by any means, but very typical for this area. Room was clean and had all we needed.

One caveat, ceiling was very low (7' maybe?) so anyone over 6' might feel a little claustrophobic. Ceiling fan was not used for this reason.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you felt comfortable in the apartment. Unfortunately, we can not change the height of the rooms, except to offer people a more suitable apartment. It is still nice to hear that you have felt comfortable there. You are always welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R
1 review
“Very Peaceful”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a lovely time, all of our needs were met and we are looking forward to visiting again. We enjoyed the kayaks and the nearby shops in Matlacha and the weather was perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Hello Tina! Thank you so much for your review regarding our Fishermen´s Paradise in Matlacha. We are looking forward to welcome you as guest soon again. Your Florida4you-team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fishing vacation”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The vacation rental appeared to be ideal for our fishing vacation online however when we arrived the pictures and the unit we stayed in was not the same. And when we arrived we arrived to a severely hot room. When contacting the manger of the rental Charity was extremely helpful. But, when we contacted the owner by email she was very rude on email saying the room was fine and not hot even after the manager and the maintenance man Philip assured her that it was. I requested the owner call me so we could fix the issue with the air conditioner. And told her we did not come in vacation to fish all day and come back to a hot room. Although Charity and Phillip were great we however will not ever be staying at any of this owners rentals in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
First of all, we want to thank you for your honest words. We really want to apologize if the choice of words in the email sounds rude to you. But, however, there are a few things we need to clarify. We can´t understand why you stated that the room you stayed in was not the same as on the pictures! You booked the "Grouper Room", the smallest unit of the Fishermen´s Paradise, and you stayed in this room. We offered you to move to one of the other, bigger units but you didn´t accept to pay more for an upgrade. Furthermore, the AC works fine at the Grouper. This is also what our staff told us when they checked the unit. None of our past guests ever complained of the AC. But, of course, it is difficult for an AC to cool a room when guests leave the door permanently open. We are sorry to hear, that you didn´t enjoy your stay at our rental as planned, but, in the end, it was not up to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi O
Hutchinson, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 9 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Without a doubt best place for your money! Charity was so great to work with and Marco and Martina are wonderful! Marco even gave us some fresh caught fish! We were originally booked in the Grouper, which is adorable, but we're able to upgrade to the Snook. The room was clean and we'll kept, comfy bed also. I am already planning a trip back! Matlacha welcomes you like a local, friendly poeple, great shops and amazing food. I recommend you canoe the mangroves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for your thorough response! We are grateful for your positive evaluation and it was a pleasure to meet you! We are really looking forward to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilylouis...
DeLand, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband and I had a great stay! The area was really great, enjoyed being in walking distance to a few restaurants. Bed was comfortable, room clean. Right on the water, and the sunsets were nice. The only two negatives I have about the property was the blinds did not block much light at night, so the street lights had our room pretty bright; and the ceiling is LOW, making the ceiling fan a little dangerous. At five-eleven, my head cleared it, though I had a run in with my hand changing clothes.

Property also provided two kayaks and a canoe for guest use, which was a great bonus! We had planned to possibly rent kayaks to explore the area, but were able to save using the ones at the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
We are grateful for your review as your suggestions are very important to us, because one of the central aims of our proposals is to guarantee the satisfaction of our guests today but also in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing