We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
383
153
52
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
153
52
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vacation club grotto pool tom brady activities staff marriott owners activity center ocean front planned activities two bedroom villa across the street onsite restaurant daily activities huge balcony under construction time share wrap around balcony new building
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

This was our first time at this resort and it will not be our last! Spacious rooms and restaurants/bars made it very easy for me to "put my brain on the shelf" for a week. They are beginning an expansion project which will interrupt the norm there until 2017 but still a nice place. Conveniently located in the downtown district .

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Thank you for your review, Jeff! We are glad to hear you had a great stay at Marriott's Crystal Shores and were able to get in some relaxation. We hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

This is the second time we stayed here. The first was with our daughter and her 2 children and they had a great time. This time we shared with one couple for 3 days and another for another 3 days. The results were the same. It is a wonderful facility on the beach. It was wonderful in spite of the construction which did put a premium on parking, particularly for a second car. The 2 bedroom suites are roomy and well equipped and with ample lighting for reading and 3 TVs. The fitness room had almost everything we wanted and the 9th floor room had a wrap around balcony enabling us to see the ocean as well as the pool. Lots of activities for adults as well as children.

Room tip: upper floors with a view of the ocean
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Thank you for visiting again, Mike! We appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor and hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

We were very pleased with the property. Our family of four loved our 2-bedroom unit. It was beautifully appointed and offered a side view of the ocean, though we weren't expecting to have any kind of view. The resort, though small, is very well maintained and faces a gorgeous stretch of beach. Staff was friendly and attentive. We ate many meals at Stilts and nearby restaurants, and enjoyed all of them. My kids (ages 10 and 11) enjoyed the ice cream novelties available at Stilts (it became a daily treat), the games surrounding the pools, and the water slide at the pool. We felt very comfortable letting them run around on their own.

The only negative I have is that the resort as well as other properties on Marco are overpriced. Yes, we traveled over spring break and are used to paying premiums for such travel and we don't deny ourselves any pleasures or activities while on vacation. However, there is a lack of resorts on the island so the few that are there seem to be artificially priced high. Other rentals at private buildings were similarly priced and offered far fewer amenities and very strict rules. In some ways I would say that Marco residents do not wish to make their island home a place for vacationing families. We went with a group of 12 families who all stayed along the same stretch of beach in different properties. We were disappointed on many occasions by the "lockdown" mentality of these properties. And they strictly enforced their petty rules. We found many of our friends' kids coming down to the Marriott because of their variety of amenities and activities, and more lax atmosphere.

We benefited from our friend's generosity in buying from them a week at their Marriott vacation club thus paying far less than the "going rate." I can't say that I would return to this property at the regular rate. Aside from the exorbitant air fares to fly to Ft. Myers over spring break (we've paid less to fly to Cabo over spring break!), the cost of the properties are a turn-off.

We enjoyed this trip and resort very much but would prefer to come back outside of peak season.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jones4Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Thank you for your review of Marriott's Crystal Shores! We are pleased your well-appointed villa spacious, with a lovely view of the ocean and it is great to hear you and your family frequented Stilts during your time at the resort. We look forward to having you for more poolside fun again at Crystal Shores!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

This was a family trip 4 adults and kids. The resort has many activities for children on a daily basis. The pool has a tunnel and the kids loved it! The beach is right in front of the resort with a short walk.
The staff were friendly at all times and were always asking what could they do for us. Definitely not your typical Marriott vacation club. Everyone here knows their business and ALWAYS knew our names.
The rooms are modernly decorated, a little small but well worth your points or $$$. The views from the balconies are spectacular!!
The beds were very comfortable and the hotel is very upscale.

Room tip: higher floors for even better views
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Thank you for your review, Michelle! We are pleased your overall stay, from the children's activities, to the beautiful view from your well-appointed villa, made for a lovely trip to the beach. We look forward to meeting your expectations again at Marriott's Crystal Shores!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We stayed at Marriott’s Crystal Shores from 6/28-7/5. We had a great first visit. The property is undergoing major construction. Our unit was on the 8th floor, gulf view (with a split bedroom layout), directly next to the construction site. We couldn’t hear the construction noise in the unit (and our master bedroom was right on that exterior wall), which was a relief. You could hear it on the balcony (which was huge with chairs and a table) and at the pool, but it didn’t interfere with our enjoyment. The villa was comfortable for the 5 of us (2 adults, 3 kids), and it had everything we needed – full kitchen, washer and dryer, DirecTV, free wifi, etc. The master bathroom shower was big and had two shower heads (one handheld) and body sprays. We found the air conditioning comfortable and able to keep up with the heat of the day.

This was our first stay at a MVC, and it offers a nice balance between just a pure condo rental and a resort. There weren’t full resort amenities, but there was an on-site restaurant, a small convenience shop and lots of activities. The kids enjoyed the night slide, night movie at the pool, ice cream eating contest, watermelon eating contest, spin art Frisbee, hula hoop contest, chocolate tasting, etc. They also got daily sweet treats from the activity center, which was open from 11-2. Everyone we encountered working there had a great attitude. We did not have any housekeeping during our stay, but we were able to exchange beach/pool towels at the front desk.

The location is great. We watched the fireworks from our balcony - you would also easily see them from the beach. We were there off-season, and the resort was comfortable. No need to race to get a chair by one of the pools. We enjoyed the two pools, but mainly stayed in the grotto pool with the slide (fun!). That pool ends up shaded by mid-late afternoon, which is a bit of a relief after all of the day in the hot sun. We also rented chairs at the beach for the week, and the ocean was calm, warm and not crowded. I would recommend sand shoes, because of the shells, for getting into the water – once you were in the water, it was soft sand. We rented a jet ski, but you could also go parasailing and dolphin cruising right from the beach. We went on a dolphin and shelling tour through another vendor we found on tripadvisor.

There were several restaurants to choose from across the street, along with ice cream and souvenir shops. There are nearby grocery and pharmacy stores. The main road is under construction, which was not a problem while we were there. The hotel has someone monitoring parking, to make sure it is used by guests and not people just accessing the beach.

I’m curious what the Crystal Shores will be like once the construction is completed. It looks like it will more than double in size.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank 9999stephs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Thank you for your review of Marriott's Crystal Shores! We are delighted your first stay at a Marriott Vacation Club Resort was great fun with the resort activities/contests and fireworks seen from your balcony on Fourth of July. We look forward to having you for another fun-filled visit to Marco Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews