We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
49
32
17
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
32
17
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetjohn's passpublic parkinggreat layoutbalcony viewfamily vacationnice condowasher and dryersliding doorbath unitslow elevatorbubba gumpsbusy roadliving areagulf blvdwe've stayedheated pool
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I am booked here for a week. Infact I am still here and want to put a review before I forget all the horrible experiences we have encountered this week.

I booked thru Johns Pass Condos which are onsite next door at Sandy Shores. (much nicer FYI). They were wonderful when it came to customer service.

Upon checking in, at first glance the condo was ok. Then upon inspection, there is heavy black mold in the bathroom. I am in unit 110.

Then upon further inpection, we walked out on the balcony and realized we were on top of a parking lot, not on the beach as all of the trick photography showed. Every condo we have stayed out, we always open our doors to hear the waves, and look out and enjoy all of it. Staring at the parking lot is a big eye sore and makes me mad with the false advertisement on the photos.

Now lets discuss the lovely crowd who have been here all week.

A massive family is here and have literally stuck large beach outdoor tents at the POOL. They literally put tents up to hold ALL of the picnic tables for the WHOLE week so that NOONE else can use them. Oh, they also booked one condo and had about 40 people here for the past 4 dys blaring very bad music, grinding each other on the pool and taking it over so that noone who is staying here can actually enjoy it.

They have splashed everyone out of the pool and the real beautiful kicker is, they are all gang members. They are all sporting their lovely Latin King tattoos and discussing in front of everyone at the pool that noone can mess with them.

Well apparently they are correct because security nor the staff here have said a thing.

I have ran into SO many people here who are so bummed out that noone has done anything.

We told the office when we had to go in there to discuss the fact their security idiot broke off the whole windshied wiper to put a nastygram on our window when we infact had a hanging tag in clear view AS WELL as a handicap sticker.

The police have been here for the past 3 days due to things these people are doing and yet they are still here. What gives??!!

Then today we woke up to go down to Indian Rocks and Redington to go look at condos for next year.

We have stayed here for years for the 4th and made a lot of family memories. NEVER AGAIN!

We did find a wonderful place tho for next year on a more quiet non gang beach.

If you want to enjoy the pool, not stare at trashy people all day and actually enjoy yourself... I say stay away!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lechillura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We were a group of 8 women, mostly nurses, who were anxious to spend some time at the beach. This condo was perfect for us! We were in 107, and usually used the stairs, so I cant really comment about the elevators. The unit though, was just the right size. Clean enough, spacious, and perfect view! Only dilemma everyday was.. the pool or beach?? And with Johns Pass across the road, it was perfect for the shop-a-holics who needed to shop! The ladies in the office were a pleasure to deal with by email/ phone, and in person. We really had nothing to complain about.. well... 5 days just wasnt long enough!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hi5noon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

If first impressions are lasting ones, Beach Place condo's may sink your hopes. It's the 1979 elevator ride that's 99% of the guests experience out the gate, and it's slow, old, a little dirty and often smells of ..... interesting stuff. Fortunately (for us anyhow), the condo was much much better. I think it was #405. It was spacious, clean and had almost no sign of previous tenants. TV's in all the rooms worked well. I have to mention that it had a nice flat screen in the living room. I only mention it because friends on a first floor room above the pool had an old big box type tv. The weeks stay in our condo overlooked the bridge with an angle view of the Gulf. Being city folk, the street noise was not at all bothersome to us. Nor were the bridge and auto lights at night, as evenings and nights out on the balcony were quite special. One clear advantage of Beach Place's location is that Johns Pass Village is just a walk across the street. One clear dis-advantage is that Johns Pass Village is just a walk across the street. If there were a great little (locals type) place to eat in John's Pass, it would be an advantage, but there are only tourist trap eatery's, good for a day or two's expensive but marginal meals out. There is about 20 overpriced ice cream shops, but not one breakfast joint ! So if you are looking for a good breakfast, you pretty much need to go inland. Doe Doe's on Tyrone Blvd is good. Le' Croissant up on Gulf Blvd is good, Frog Pond serves a huge and good (but pricey) breakfast also on St Pete beach, Caddy's on Sunset is unique because you can eat your eggs with your feet in the sand right on the beach. All of my breakfast suggestions are about a ten minute drive away.
If seclusion is what you are looking for Beach Place is not for you. There's a lot of action all around, people fishing, families with screamin wet kids, local beach goers parking in the municipal lot next door and a lot of traffic. So, if you want a peaceful getaway, set out for Sanibel Island, it's totally boring and quiet there, with some nice boring sea shell hunting.
The cost for us shook out to about $200/per night plus an exorbitant cleaning fee. But, it was nice.

Room Tip: Parking is tight and guests may need to park next door and feed the meters lot's of quarters. Beach side is nice for sunsets, but we liked the view of the bridge. Elevator sucks. Access code for entry got to be a pain. Write the code in marker on your hand if you go out drinking or you may spend the night sleeping by the pool. A/c worked great in out room, our friends room A/c was terrible.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kidritalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your experiences at Beach Place. SunHost is the onsite management company for Beach Place Rentals and also manages the property. We appreciate your nice comments about unit 405 and your stay. You seemed to find many of the good eateries in the area and be sure to check our website for more suggestions and other things to do in Madeira and surrounding towns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Was expensive , the views were beautiful,the condo was spacious but not very clean, mold in bathrooms,lots of sand on laundry room floor,also the sheets had holes and the walls were quite dirty,also the carpet had lots of stains,all was reported and the staff came to check it out. We did get different sheets. Location was great with all the shops and restaurants across the street at Johns Pass Village,so will we come again ,I think so, but will get a different unit!! Maybe they will get a better cleaning crew!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your experiences at Beach Place. SunHost is the onsite management company for Beach Place Rentals and also manages the property. We see from the unit number that you did not rent your unit from the onsite management office, rather from an offsite owner or company. Please take a moment to visit the Sunhost website and read up on the reviews of our staff, units, cleaning etc. We hope you will give Beach Place another chance and utilize the onsite staff for your future vacation rental needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Beach Place condos at John's Pass Condos is thee place to stay. The units are spacious and each one has a great view. Very convieniently located to John's Pass Village, so once you arrive, there is no need to drive. The Beach is on one side of the building and John's Pass Village on the other. John's Pass offers 150 unique shops and restaurants. The owner Gary, is a true hands on owner. Tell him Suzie sent you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelicaSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews