We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful retreat location by the North Atlantic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Motion Retreat

The Motion Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Motion Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Motion Retreat
Iceberg season
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Grates Cove, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonathan...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful retreat location by the North Atlantic”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent five days of our honeymoon at The Motion, and couldn't have been happier! The home was immaculate, very spacious for two people, and well set-up with towels, kitchen tools, etc. We saw humpback and minke whales every single day from the comfort of the living room! The ocean was entrancing and always changing; we also really enjoyed watching the gulls dive into the water. We had excellent side trips to Bay de Verde, Job's Cove (twice, to see the capelin rolling on the beach!), Northern Bay Sands, Red Head Cove, and more. Bonnie was an incredible host and everyone we met in the area was so friendly and helpful. We are excited to return and would strongly recommend staying at the Motion to anyone else!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick P
Deer Lake, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in small town Newfoundland”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! Loved our brief but wonderful stay at this hidden treasure. Very clean and comfortable accommodations, relaxing and restful, can't say enough. Where can one sit from the comfort of your living room and watch icebergs and whales while sipping your morning coffee. Definitely on the return list only longer stay. Caretaker was very welcoming and helpful and there to meet us as arranged. The only thing that could make this even better would be a larger window for viewing the magnificent landscape, other than that, simple perfection.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M
2 reviews
“Iceberg at Lands End”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

From start to finish we enjoyed our stay in this Grates Cove gem. When we arrived an iceberg greeted us and stayed for six days departing when we did.

We watched the local fisherman tend his lobster pots and monitored the fishing boats come and go. We hiked the nearby cliff lookouts and used Motion Retreat as a base of operations for our exploration of the scenic towns on north side of Conception Bay and more beached icebergs.

Motion Retreat is beautifully appointed, with a deck and large windows which invite the eye to return again and again to the sea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Patrick, Thank You for the lovely way that you described your visit and the landscape. We enjoyed having you stay. Safe and happy travels to you.
Juanita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smlear
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home!”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My husband & I spent July 1st weekend at the Motion Retreat cottage. Even though the weather didn't co-operate with our plans, the cottage & breathtaking view certainly made up for it! The cottage windows face the Atlantic Ocean where we watched whales, Ganets & other seabirds for hours without tiring of the view. We went to the nearby communities of Red Head Cove, Bay de Verde & Old Perlican. We did the walking trails which also offered great views of Baccalieu Island & the community. We were also fortunate enough to see several icebergs. The Grates Cove Studio & Cafe is also a must for lunch or supper or you can buy fresh seafood from the local fishermen & prepare yourself. I would definately recommend the Motion Retreat for a weekend or summer vacation! Thank you, Bonnie & Juanita!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIP S
GUELPH
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Scenic Cottage”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage is spacious and comfortable with a spectacular view. We kept an infant in a Pack 'N Play, which we did have to keep in the bedroom in order to have it adequately dark and quiet for naps. The open-concept main area was convenient for keeping an eye on the crawling baby. The cottage had everything we needed except a resident whale!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing