We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to sit outside on a beautiful evening but the food we had was not good and overpriced considering the portion size.”

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The staff was nice and friendly. The food was disappointing. The portions were very small. My husband's blackened salmon was black but not spicy. My baked scallops were small, dry and had black rings around them -I have never seen this before. The crab crust was very fishy smelling and tasting. The friends we were with were not pleased with their meals either. It was a beautiful night and we sat under the trees but we won't be returning for a meal anytime soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Beverly,
I am sorry that you did not have the positive meal experience that we strive for at Mar Vista. I will make sure to address your concerns with our culinary team. I do hope that you come back to give us another try so that you can have a better experience.
Anthony Cucci, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2018

We ate two lunches and a dinner there during a five day visit to LBK. Nice view of the bayside, wonderful tree covered patio and delicious seafood offerings. Reasonable prices, pleasant servers.

1  Thank Stoddard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

I am glad to see that we did a great job to warrant a few visits during your trip. Thank you for your support and I hope to see you again next trip.
Anthony Cucci, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

As a somewhat frequent visitor to LBK, it was a treat to stumble upon this seafood eatery tucked up into a corner of LBK. With seats under a sheltered patio or under the trees, we enjoyed oysters, crab encrusted scallops and a Florida Steam Pot with an extra Dungeness crab cluster split between two people. Add to it the imposing Malibu Rum bucket drink and a shoreside table, it was a delicious dining experience. The wait staff was perfectly attentive and friendly. They do not take reservations and it is popular, but well worth the wait for a spot under the trees.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest S, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Drew,
It sounds like you had a great visit with us. We are tucked away in the trees but if you find us, it is worth the search. I am glad that our team was able to give you a wonderful experience.
Anthony Cucci, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We stopped for an early dinner and we were seated right by the water. Our group ordered crab crusted scallops, grouper risotto, amberjack (catch of the day), and the baked medley (recommended by our waiter Andy). All four entrees were extremely well prepared and delicious

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you John C for taking your time to share your recent visit. Your feedback is very important to us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals. I will make sure that Andy is recognized for his outstanding service. Please come and see us again soon and ask for me or Chef Erik if there is anything we can do to make your dining experience a better one.
Regards
Anthony Cucci
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Very nice setting. We stopped by to check it out and had a beer and appetizer. The staff was very attentive even though we weren't staying for dinner.

1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Mary M
Thanks for taking your time to share your recent visit to the Mar Vista. Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Anthony Cucci
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing