We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful Eden Valley Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ghyll Foot Cottage

Front of Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Front of Cottage
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Dining Area
Bathroom
Double Bedroom
Garden
Garden
View from Ainstable Church with snow-topped Blencathra in the background
View from Ainstable Church
River Eden at Lacy's Caves
Alston
Carlisle Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ainstable, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Anne M
1 review
“A beautiful Eden Valley Cottage”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed here 4 times and it is always our first choice again and again.
The cottage is superb, spotless and everything you could need for a comfortable
Stay is provided.
The location is great with the Lake District, Scotland , hadrians wall and the amazing Yorkshire dales very easy to get to.
The owners have kindly left a comprehensive list of wonderful pubs and restaurants to visit,
Looking forward to our next visit in the spring!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and peaceful!!!
Liked least: Going home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage. We agree that our local pubs and restaurants are excellent; great to hear you enjoyed them. Also good to hear you were pleased with the cottage and it's wonderful location in Cumbria. We will love to welcome you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeagrif...
Pinner, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location to visit local attractions and family.”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A very well equipped, comfortable cottage. We had a thoroughly enjoyable week and the opportunity to visit the Lake District National Park, Eden Valley, Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. We also took the opportunity to visit family and friends in Cumbria. The cottage allows well behaved pets which was a real bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Allowing well behaved pets
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the cottage well equipped and a perfect base to visit the local attractions. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: de gastvrijheid
Liked least: geen internetverbinding
Travelling group: Tieners
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the cottage well equipped and a perfect base to explore the area.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing