We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveller rating
562
281
80
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
281
80
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast key west adirondack chairs lower keys bahia honda big pine key picnic tables no frills fresh fruit heated pool full kitchen short drive laid back laundry facilities water view each morning winn dixie
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 974 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Three of us stayed in the Lagoon Cottage, which is a two bedroom cottage at the end of the property near the trailer parking. The down side is that it is at the end near the trailer parking, so people and trailers and trucks were coming and going often. The plus side is that this cottage is a private house with a lovely view out the waterside, large and quiet. We liked having the whole house to ourselves with two bedrooms, plenty of light and lots of space. It is an easy walk along the water to the office and breakfast location. Complimentary breakfast is mostly fruit, breads and cereal. I appreciated the hard boiled eggs each morning, to have at least some protein. The staff there and the office are nice and helpful. If you need anything, it is all at the office. We had to walk there for pool towels and ice. I would have appreciated some pool toys for kids, since it is difficult to fly with those. There is a small “beach”, but the water drops off quickly and is filled with grasses and seaweed. It’s not really a swimming beach. The pool is nice though and my kids and I enjoyed it every day. The location on Torch Key was perfect for us as we were visiting family on Cudjoe and Summerland Keys, it's a good 30 - 40 minute drive to Key West, though if you want to sightsee or go out there. Our other input is that when we requested late check-in by phone after arriving in Key West the person who gave us directions over the phone was not very clear in their directions. For someone who was driving on the Keys for the first time late at night to say that the resort was a quarter of a mile down Barry when it is .75 miles down makes it difficult and a bit stressful to find. We drove up and down a few times before driving further down. With small kids in the car, it would have been nice to just have the specific mileage. So many people request late check-in, these directions should just be tested, confirmed, written up and given out easily by now.

Room tip: Lagoon cottage is private with kitchen and water view at the end of the property. Lots of space.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IowaMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

The staff at this resort was amazingly friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and convenient with good air conditioning. We also left our pillows there and the staff was extremely helpful in getting them shipped back to us!! Thank you all so much. We would definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Just enjoy a great time here . Me , Hubby and 2yrs old Stay for a week here. 1st time taking the little one to get lobster's. when we first got there the lady's at the front desk where so nice . gave us a tour of what is around we stayed in a one room family suite . 2 queen in the room with bathroom and shower a nice size TV. living room had 2 couch that are beds and a bath room in there as well I was surprise. good size kitchen for the place and a porch that look out to the waterfront . we also had a boat slip for our boat. hubby love how they had fresh water that can clean off the boat after a ride. the BEACH , YES A PRIVATE BEACH AT THIS PLACE !!! with a kids this was perfect little one enjoy it . I wish they would just clean the shore 2 time a day. morning it was clean but after all the boats coming by got a little bad . A\C in the room stay nice and cold. They also had free breakfast but that didnt start till 7. witch lobster season would maybe start a little early we like to leave when sun coming up. Cookies where all day and they are the best !!! pool was nice and clean and i did do laundry. it was nice as well .
The only thing this place needed was a play ground for the kids.

the last day we stay was alittle diffant then the rest of the week we had new people come into the room over us and it sounded like a horse was up there ( heavy feet ) also alot of talk till 11pm i just put music on for the little one. more new people came and they need Soap in there mouth!!!! alot of yelling and bad words, witch i could not belive bec.. they had alot of kids .

I also left some thing in my room we had to leave super early so little one can sleep on the way home (6hr road trip ) they called us that morning and told us they will mail it . so nice of them .

we will be staying here every year, great place!!!

Room tip: boat slip, beach private , sutie
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaT0143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We booked our room 1 year in advance for the first week of lobster season.
The check in was quick and easy. The service was friendly. The room was more than adequate with a small kitchen. Our boat was right next to the room, which was a great convenience for us.
The breakfast was good. Watermelon was missing from the menu( we hope they bring it back!).
Our one suggestion ; management has decided that giving current customers first opportunity to book the same room for next year, will no longer be offered. It would be a nice courtesy to loyal / repeat guests, if they would restore the courtesy.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendAtParmers, Your Friends at Parmer's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We are so happy you had another great stay with us! It was a great lobster season this year and it seems most people caught their limits early! We hope you had the same experience!

Thank you for the watermelon recommendation. We had added the eggs, yogurt and croissants to the breakfast and ran out of room. It is good to hear what people like more. I am sorry that you thought that our repeat guests do not have the first opportunity to reserve. After many requests from Parmer’s frequent guests to allow bookings more than one year in advance, we opened all of 2019 to our repeat guests in May. We sent out an email to our repeat guests to let them know and followed up with phone calls to those that book the same rooms for the same dates, year after year. We have had a few changes to some of the rooms since the hurricane but have been able to accommodate nearly everyone in advance!

We can not wait to see you again beginning of next lobster season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

The place is quite lovely and they have many different accommodations available. I really wish I knew how big the standard queen room was before i booked. It is tiny. We tend to over pack and this size room does not quite fit us. Next time will definitely book a kitchenette. Other than that, the staff is friendly, it is clean, the pool is great. Little Torch Key is not too far from Key West, so this place is a great stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews