We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accomidations....poor customer service at the desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Lakeland
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Your first impression starts at the front desk and the female clerk did'nt seem customer service friendly at all. When I walked in the
lobby she was no where to be found. As I stood and waited an
employee passed by and I asked is there anybody working in the area. He shouted out the womans name. The clerk proceeded to come out of the back area and seemed annoyed that I was there
to bother her.
Next she tried to shock me with the room rate and I said, no problem. After printing off a copy of the room bill with someone
elese's name on it, she finally got it right and I got away from an awkard encounter. Come on Marriott...you can find better help than this. I expect to see employees like this at a Checkers restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SQ-BIRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2008

We stayed here over Memorial day weekend. We have no complaints, the room was clean, well decorated and comfortable.
It had a kitchen with a full size fridge, dishwasher and stove top plus microwave. Kitchen had pots, pans and glasses. Had everything you would need. Check photo's attached. The Hotel has a hot tub, pool and basketball court. They have a store in the hotel with drinks and snacks. The hotel will go grocery shopping for you at no charge. It is located right by the mall and several nice restarunts.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank des43055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Since I have to travel to Lakeland quite often on business, I've seen quite many of the local hotels. I kept switching each trip until I discovered the Marriott Residence Inn.
The key reasons I like this hotel are

- Friendly staff and cozy atmosphere, not too uptight and "fancy" people you see in many upscale hotels
- Excellent services such as grocery shopping
- Nice location next to a big shopping area, still peaceful place
- Rooms are large, noise-free and well kept. Renovation is underway currently, but the only way I've observed it is in that the room has just be refurnished, no interference at all.
- Breakfast buffet (included) has a wide and tasty selection
- Good WiFi in rooms, no hassle internet
- Free dinner most nights with chance to meet other guests
- Good pool area with jacuzzi and lap pool (a bit too short but thats how they are in hotels...)

What could be improved
- Fitness room equipment is a bit out of date, however they were able to allow me to use the gym of the next door Marriott Courtyard hotel
- TVs have wider than normal channel selection, but are not large nor flat. I've heard from one of the managers that they will soon update this

Overall I can't say this is the best hotel in the area, but at least it was good enough to stop searching for a new one each time! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank olli_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2007

We stayed here for a week while my husband was on business in Lakeland. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite since my mother-in-law joined us for the trip. The room was perfect for a family, particularly due to the kitchen facilities. We also enjoyed the daily manager specials, the huge breakfast selection, the grill area outside and the pool. Only negative was that on the first and last night, we could hear some banging on the floor from our upstairs neighbors. The starting rate of $129/night for a 1-bedroom suite is a great deal.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ecpindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

My husband and I recently returned from a 10-night stay at the Residence Inn in Lakeland. Except for the overly soft mattress, everything about the stay was great! (We learned from the desk staff that the entire facility will be renovated next August so I am sure that the mattresses will be replaced at that time.)

We had a studio style suite because that was all that was available when we made our reservation about 6 weeks in advance. All of Lakeland is very busy during March because of the crowds attending Spring Training for the Detroit Tigers. The studio suite is adequate for 2 people but we would have preferred the larger one-bedroom and the price difference is trivial.

Service at the Residence Inn was great, especially the daily hot breakfasts. We also enjoyed the Manager's receptions on week day evenings. We did have one small issue with daily housekeeping service. Much to my surprise, when I mentioned this to to desk staff we were very soon after given a $25 gift card to one of the adjacent restaurants! This was totally unexpected.

We look forward to returning to the Residence Inn for another Spring Training season.

a Maryland Tigers fan

3  Thank MDTravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lakeland-South Polk Parkway
4.8 km away
Hyatt Place Lakeland Center
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lakeland South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland
0.1 km away
Courtyard Lakeland
Courtyard Lakeland
#18 of 33 in Lakeland
99 reviews
11.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lakeland North I-4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Lakeland

Address: 3701 Harden Blvd, Lakeland, FL 33803-5447
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lakeland
#9 Business Hotel in Lakeland
Price Range: $168 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Lakeland 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for comfortable Lakeland, FL hotels, you'll love the Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland. Our all-suite, extended-stay Lakeland, FL hotel combines the comforts of home with a passion for making every guest feel welcome. We're ideally located near The Lakeland Center, Lakeland Airport, Lake Myrtle Sports Complex, Legoland Florida, and Joker Marchant Stadium - the Detroit Tigers' spring training home. We're also close to Publix, Amazon, and Stryker. Midway between Orlando and Tampa, Florida, our hotel in Lakeland is a perfect home base for trips to Busch Gardens, Sea World, Disney, and Hard Rock Casino. Our spacious suites offer free Wi-Fi, fully-equipped kitchens, separate living and sleeping areas, and sofabeds. Start the day with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Unwind at our Manager's Receptions with complimentary light fare or BBQ, as well as beer and wine. And bring your pet - we're pet-friendly. Few Lakeland hotels can match our attention to detail, so book a suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Lakeland Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing