We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch!”
Review of Keys Fisheries

Keys Fisheries
Ranked #2 of 8 Quick Bites in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 20
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Home of the Lobster Reuben! Fresh local seafood and Tiki Raw Bar. Waterfront dining on the bay. Fish market featuring fresh local fish, Key West Pink Shrimp, Lobster, Stone Crabs, House made soups, Key lime pie. A favorite locals seafood restaurant and market. Also check out our charter boat row for great fishing with the best captains in the keys.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Many Florida dockside outdoor eateries are unappealing because they are dark, dingey and just plain dirty. This place seemed clean, bright and hygenic. The food was served in one-time-use paper trays with plastic cutlery. The food quality was very good and had a homemade quality about it. We had the Calamari, Coconut Shrimp, Fish Tacos and a Cheeseburger for the non-seafood eater in the group. I seem to remember that the Fish Tacos were blackened grouper and not fried mahi, either way, they were delicious.

The only complaint was that it was too expensive for lunch and for the physical building. $22 for 7 coconut shrimp, although it is hard to complain, even about $12, for a "cheeseburger in paradise" for lunch.

It is not easy to categorize the restaurant based on the categories listed. It should fall into the Cheap Eats category based on – quick serve or self-service, but it sometimes falls well above the Bahama Breeze price range into expensive. I would expect they would have a competitive advantage purchasing supplies directly from the source and not charge high-street prices.

Overall the place met our expectations and we would return again and try to find better value items on the menu..

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BRSPACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 165 of 2,718 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Awesome food and loved that you didnt have to wait on a server. The bartender was really helpful and we loved watching the boats come in while we ate. The food was great!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Highly recommended by our Hotel, We decided to give them a shot. She got the sampler and I tried 2 of my favorites the Conch fritters and Coconut Shrimp. We were both kinda underwhelmed. It was a beautiful night and we enjoyed sitting right on the water.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank builder23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We are used to outdoor eateries such as Keys fisheries so we were anxious to try. Yes there are hits and misses but worth going back to find your right hits. You stand on line, and order from the (only one) patient order taker/cashier .
The bar/drink area is inside. You get your drinks and wait for your name to be called. We had a table near the water and watched the fish (tarpon and small sharks) fed by one of the employees. We ordered the crab and spinach dip. Presentation was ok at best, but open the small container and taste the cold delicious crab and spinach....was a real wow. Served with saltine type crackers in little plastic packets.
Fish tacos were long crispy fish sticks in a soft tortilla smothered with fresh shredded lettuce tomatoes and shredded cheese. Was not a home run for $13.95. BUT the cole slaw was....
The fiance ordered a cheeseburger (go figure in a fish place) but it was large and looked pretty good and had that delicious cole slaw. Also served with ordinary fries .
Saw someone with a split lobster that was amazing and a whole fried fish was popular. I would go back again and try something else. I have a feeling this place is packed so I would go in off hours. At least go for the view!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Sheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We were in the keys for a week. We went there every day for happy hour. $2 stone crab claws. Amazing view and awesome bartender

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank cpack323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keys Fisheries also viewed

 

Been to Keys Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing