We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Keys Vacation Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hammocks at Marathon
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
ocean city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Keys Vacation Ever”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This was the best Florida Keys Vacation ever and it was all because of the staff at the Hammocks. Everyone was extremely friendly. But it was Josey D.in activities that really made our stay. She was helpfull with all sorts of local info and got my husband to actually play "coconut bowling". The 1 bedroom unit was huge and we were lucky to get views of water on 2 sides. Pool area great. And the rental price for kayaks was low and it was per trip or day. We can't wait to go back next year! Thanks again to the entire staff and especially Josey!

Room Tip: You're in the keys......you don't want to stay in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pisces1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    119
    36
    15
    7
See reviews for
95
135
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Nice vacation destination. Room was satisfactory but the place was 'dated'. Many items are located nearby. Numerous restaurants that serve great food. Pool is nice, but hours are limited. Same deal with the hot tob. Key West is only an hour away. 4 night stay for us- first day was gorgeous - we relaxed at the pool and went out for a turkey reuben. Next day was overcast and we went to Key West.Next 2 days rained and we shopped at many interesting shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a kitchenette!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaddyWied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the Hammocks for one night on our way down to Key West with another couple. There was a mixup with our booking, caused by the fact that this is a time share property. We had booked shortly before our arrival, and the front desk had not received our booking, since the time share office had closed. After a half hour or so, the booking was sorted out and we were upgraded to a large suite with a view. The suite was very attractive and comfortable, with a nice kitchen, and would be great for a family who wanted to do some basic meals there. A couple of downsides: The bar only serves beer and wine, so you can't get a real margarita. The servers in the bar were friendly, attentive and cheerful, though. The other downside is that, though there is coffee in the lobby, there is no breakfast available. We went out to a local diner.

Room Tip: Be sure to book ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at the Hammocks for 4 nights in a studio room. The room could probably use an update of the decor, as it was pretty basic. It suited our needs just fine, but if you are looking for someplace fancy you probably will not like it here. Our studio room had a microwave, small fridge, toaster, coffee maker, and a basket with dishes, silverware, and glasses. There are nice BBQ grills on property which we used to grill fresh fish 3 nights of our stay. The staff at the property are very friendly. We enjoyed sitting at the pool and just relaxing each day. We liked that the property was small, we enjoyed talking with some of the other guests.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy_bottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagram, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Located at mile marker 48, The Hammocks in Marathon offers a beautiful setting in the middle of the keys. All that the Keys offer is within reach in every direction. The resort sits Bayside (Gulf side) in a small Marina setting. The beach is just up the road if you need sand in your toes, but with their relaxing pool next to the Tiki Bar, the beach isn't missed. Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the Bay and Marina with a spectacular view! An oversized one bedroom unit fully equipped to sleep 4(with pull out sofa). The bathroom was very spacious. The bedroom featured a very comfortable king sized bed and plenty of great pillows it had a full kitchen with service for six. A quick trip to Publix up the street and we were ready to settle in. We were three couples and the other two couples had studio units which were very comfortable. The studios offered a mini fridge, toaster, and microwave.
We needed housekeeping and maintenance, each once for some minor attention, and they responded quickly and professionally. The Concierge was very helpful and although new, gave us some very helpful hints for venturing out and great little hideout restaurants in the area.
With a very friendly and courteous staff, our stay was certainly pleasurable and enjoyable. Oh, by the way, did I mention the cheese and wine tasting social the have out at the Tiki Bar on Wed evening? For $5 per. it was a lot of fun!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pminyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.2 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
15.7 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
265 reviews
0.7 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hammocks at Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Property: The Hammocks at Marathon
Address: 1688 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price range (per night): $277 - $462
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing