We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great crew ”
Review of Spirit Snorkeling

Spirit Snorkeling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spirit Snorkeling of Marathon – providing daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef & Pirate’s Cove. Specializing in families and first time snorkelers, our friendly crew will take you on a fun filled adventure to the either the Sombrero Reef Marine Sanctuary and Lighthouse or to our special location on the Florida Bay—Pirate’s Cove. Sombrero Reef is the third largest barrier reef in the world and this beautiful 30 acre coral reef ranges from 2–30 feet deep with thousands of tropical fish. The Sombrero Lighthouse was built before the Civil War and today still helps mariners navigate the Keys with its light. Coral Reefs are among the most biologically diverse ecosystems on earth. They are second only to the tropical rain forests in the number of species they harbor, and indeed are sometimes called “The Rain Forests of the Sea”. You haven’t really seen the Keys until you’ve seen our under water areas. If the weather is too rough to go out to Sombrero Reef our dedicated crew will take you over to Pirate’s Cove, where the water is generally much calmer. Here you will see many species of tropical fish, under water plant life, lobsters and even sea horses. The water is quite shallow, making it a perfect spot to snorkel. Even sightseers enjoy our trips as many species can be seen from the boat. We take no scuba divers, we only go to shallow water snorkeling locations and Back Water Eco tours.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The crew on the boat was super friendly and laid back.

Being early April the waves were still big making snorkeling difficult for my 10 year old. The other three children (12, 15, and 17) all had a ton of fun and loved seeing the sea life. The 10 year old was able to see a lot from the boat.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the review and for choosing Spirit Snorkeling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain ray"
in 125 reviews
"sombrero reef"
in 415 reviews
"snorkeling trip"
in 147 reviews
"dive master"
in 104 reviews
"fish"
in 359 reviews
"pirate's cove"
in 15 reviews
"great trip"
in 97 reviews
"captain pips"
in 17 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 20 reviews
"beautiful reef"
in 32 reviews
"boat ride"
in 48 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 17 reviews
"great snorkeling"
in 17 reviews
"weather conditions"
in 15 reviews
"morning trip"
in 15 reviews
"nice boat"
in 16 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 23 reviews
Filter

199 - 203 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

My husband, 14yo son and I took the afternoon snorkeling trip to Sombrero Reef today. Great experience that I would highly recommend. The boat and equipment were all nice and in good shape. The staff was excellent; both were friendly and offered lots of helpful and interesting information. They both did a good job addressing safety and checking on us during the snorkeling time. Also emphasized having fun and worked to make it interactive and enjoyable. I became nauseous and they quickly offered me a ginger ale which helped; if you are sensitive to motion, take something beforehand because we had a smooth day and the motion still got to me. Overall would definitely do again with this group!

Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Sorry about your sea sicken, Carrie. You are so right about taking something ahead of time. Some suggest also taking the night before to get the medicine into your system. Glad you had a great time. Our staff truly love what they do and it shows. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are lucky to have them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great time with Captain Roger with Spirit Snorkeling. We had a beautiful, sunny day and could easily see brilliantly colored fish by simply floating on top of the water. You will not want to get out of the water as you don’t want to miss any of the beautiful fish and reef. We also saw barracuda and sea turtle. They are very good with first time snorkelers. All you need to bring is your underwater camera and non-spray sunscreen. Be sure and grab a bite at Porky’s restaurant located in the same marina. A must-do in the Florida Keys!

Thank Sonya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Sonya thanks for the review of a "must do in the keys".
Sounds like the sea life was out in abundance during your snorkel.
What great memories is sounds like you have from the Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had never snorkeled and found it awesome to be in such a cristal clear water, so close to a lot of different fishes! The crew was helpful and funny, which made the time spent on boat even better. This trip was our best activity in Florida!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank EstelleBe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Well now you are not fist time snorkelers anymore and sounds like you are hooked.
It is truly amazing to be in the water with the sea life.
Thanks for the five stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We went to Sombrero Reef. It was my boyfriend's first time snorkeling and he was amazed. I have snorkeled before, but the variety of fish and the clarity of the water on this trip was fantastic. On the way back the captain spotted some dolphins and stopped for people to take pictures. We would definitely do this again.

Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Sounds like you got one of those perfect snorkeling days and the sea life was out in full force.
It's amazing to see them.
We appreciate your business, come back and snorkel with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit Snorkeling also viewed

 

Been to Spirit Snorkeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing