We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inpromptu booking but overall satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingsail Resort Motel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“inpromptu booking but overall satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Booked this,at a whim having decided my sisters place was too small for myself and friend... Walked in and asked if they had any rooms for 4 nights...

Friendly staff and great room....basic but clean with a daily maid service who washed any cups made bed and changed bathrobes.

Our room had a front porch with sitting area, to big double beds and a kitchenette with toilet (shower) more than haopy with the cleaniness....I have stayed in fortieth however it is,dated but the price was great.

Every morning there was coffee available complimentary by the dock and there was communal bbq's and a pool to use.

Overall great only gave a four as its dated but I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura-carlburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    121
    108
    52
    89
See reviews for
149
164
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed in the old part close to the highway. The room was large and clean. The A/C as loud but worked. The best part was the pool and the common patio next to the bay for meeting others. Marathon is central- close to Keywest and Key Largo. Our only negative was the noise from the highway - ask for room in the newer section further from the highway. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k9chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
@ Home
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were planning to stay in kingsail for one night only, but the place was so nice we decided to stay a second night. We went to the front office and asked if they could make us a a good offer for the second night which they did! The second night we bought a few burgers and made them on their BBQ, Great evening! Almost forgot about the heated pool... Was great as well! Dont doubt, just book!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julesburg, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We only stayed here one night. The room was nice and big but the beds were horrible (sorry, guys) - my husband and I slept separately (we NEVER do that) just to try and be comfy! The dock is really nice and quiet, we really enjoyed it. The staff was nothing but polite and friendly as well!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santanaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I had read the reviews here and on other sites, some good, some bad, and decided to take a chance that everything would meet our expectations. Kingsail went far beyond our finest dreams. It is a beautiful, clean, comfortable resort offering many types of accommodations. I am sure the original section, built in the 50s, might offend some, and if you are a 300 lbs'er you might give the bathrooms a bit "small," but, hey, this is retro at its best! Quiet (some will complain about the Cessna 150s landing on the adjacent airport, get over it! You hear FedX's jetprop once a day, but you need something to break the sound of pelicans feeding and seagulls squaking.) As clean as needs to be. WOW! What a wonderful escape from the cookie cutter "perfect" hotels we have today. Get to the Kingsail; bring your sense of community; go on island time, and you'll love it. We liked the Marathon location. 8 miles from Dolphin Research Center; Half-way between Key West, and Key Largo..

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront or waterview room; pay the price; it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick163250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
4.7 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
4.1 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.0 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.1 km away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsail Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsail Resort Motel

Property: Kingsail Resort Motel
Address: 7050 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3140
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price range (per night): $129 - $281
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingsail Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsail Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsail Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing