We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place (with or without the kids)”
Review of Kon-Tiki Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon-Tiki Resort
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
hollywood
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place (with or without the kids)”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

property is clean, boat ramp, pool, hammocks, shuffle board, grilling area
great vacation spot whether you want to be alone or bring the whole family

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfish1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    54
    13
    5
    13
See reviews for
42
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Kon Tiki three times in as many years. The place is exactly what you would expect from old FL. The staff, along with the cats, are amazingly friendly. Our room was cleaned spotless each day. The boat dock and tiki hut are wonderful. We can not wait to return, unfortunately that will be a year away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogtown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My family has been coming to the keys for as long as I can remember. When we found the Kon-Tiki, we felt as if we had found paradise! The family -friendly atmosphere is so nice for my two year old. He would not stop "touring" the grounds. He loved to look at the fish off the dock and some day I swear my son is going to be a champion shuffle Board player. He stayed busy on the court for a good half hour at a time. We were able to keep a close eye on him from the picnic tables right there. It is such a safe place. I felt as if I was in the middle of no-where. The peacefulness took us away. My favorite part of the day was laying in the hammocks and looking up at the beautiful palm trees. Ahh, ;o)
We stayed in room # 15. It was so clean! The kitchen was just remodeled and the futon in the living room was SO comfortable. We had my sister and her son with us as well, so the room slept 3 adults and two kids perfect. There was a full kitchen so I was able to cook up the snapper my honey caught that day. Sure does save the aggravation of waiting in line for an hour at a local restaurant!! I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Try 15 or 16. Not right on the water, but close enough and the most up to date we've been in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindalee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We found this little gem en route to Key West and can't wait to return for an extended stay.
The entrance is kind of easy to miss, but that's ok...they're not looking for the big crowds here. This is the old Keys I remember from years ago, nothing fancy but an oasis of peace. The accommodations are adequate and comfortable. Ours was pretty simple, no frills, but it had a small fridge that was actually useable...not a mini bar. The units are privately owned and each decorated differently, so don't expect cookie cutter rooms. They're scattered throughout the grounds and some have waterfront views. The manager (who we thought was very friendly) showed us a few that weren't occupied because it was "off season." The
swimming pool is small but ok for a cool off. For lounging, there's a big natural sea pool with a little sand, chaises, tables and some shade if wanted. But my favorite spot in the whole place was sitting in the tiki hut at the end of the dock. It was utterly peaceful. Just me, the water, the mangroves, and the friendly local herons and goofy pelicans. Maybe my
favorite moments on our whole vacation! To me, the Keys mean getting away from "civilization." You never have to get more dressed up than a clean t-shirt and sandals. We
really liked a nearby restaurant called Lazy Days. Great fish and nice people. Only criticism of the KonTiki was the unit we stayed in had a shared screened porch but no porch furniture. It would have been nice to sit out there. We're hoping to go back this November for a longer stay. It's only about an hour and half from the Miami airport and we don't need to trek all the way out to Key West again. We like
to travel at that time because it's not crowded, kids are in school, the weather is good and the rates are low.

Room Tip: Look at the different rooms on their web site because no two are alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This place is stuck in a time warp in a good way. Just the kind of place I stayed in as a kid on the summer family vacation. We've been here a dozen times over the last several years. Always well maintained. Never any crowds. Great place to take a small boat. The boat ramp is adequate for smaller boats, larger ones might be dependant on tides to launch and retrieve. Don't bother if your looking for room service, up to date furnishings. This place is about being in the Keys with family; fishing, swimming, relaxing. The rooms equipped with kitchens have everything you need to make dinner. Bring your own wine cork opener!

Room Tip: check out the website for description of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
1.8 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,338 reviews
1.6 km away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
5.3 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,350 reviews
5.1 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.1 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon-Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon-Tiki Resort

Property: Kon-Tiki Resort
Address: 81200 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price range (per night): $111 - $441
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever been somewhere and feel there's something very important you have to do? Maybe it's fishing or scuba diving or nothing at all. The subtropical ambiance of the Kon Tiki Resort is that kind of place. You can enjoy swimming, fishing, diving, snorkeling and boating all year round. You'll be in paradise while soaking up the sun next to our heated freshwater pool or on the sandy beach of our private lagoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon-Tiki Hotel Islamorada
Kon-Tiki Resort Islamorada, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing